We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property, but not my top choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Ranked #26 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed here recently for a special occasion, and we were generally very happy with the hotel. The king suite with pool view was beautiful. Our dinner at Bull & Bear was the highpoint and one of the best I've had in Orlando (or elsewhere for that matter). Decent pool and great service there. If I had not stayed at the Ritz Grande Lakes I might be tempted to say this was the best hotel in the area.

Unfortunately, in my opinion, Ritz wins in the comparison. It's hard not to compare these properties since they are basically the 2 premier luxury properties in the area. They are also very similar in that they share facilities with entry level lux sister hotels on same property (JW Marriott for Ritz, and Hilton next to Waldorf). Many guests with kids send them next door for the lazy rivers. The Grand Lakes properties taken together are better landscaped and nicer. The JW Marriott pool is far better than the Hilton, which also has a lazy river but the pool scene feels more crowded and parking lot like. Pools at Ritz and Waldorf roughly similar. View at Ritz is better, since the grounds are better landscaped. We had a nice big balcony at Waldorf and were able to watch the Disney fireworks, but the view is compromised by the large convention building roof and noisy HVAC equipment. Very poor design which detracts from overall experience. Beds very nice at Waldorf but also at Ritz. Breakfast in the room was far better at Ritz.

Service was better at Ritz. At Waldorf we had to wait for valet on arrival (even though they weren't busy, and no doorman to greet or open door as at Ritz. Waldorf is nice inside, but Ritz is nicer. I do give the nod to Waldorf for best restaurant, as we were not blown away by Normans, but LOVED Bull & Bear. Probably because we are steak people. And I will never understand failure to have mini bar at luxury property like Waldorf. No excuse for that. Waldorf is in the middle of Disney, Ritz is closer to Universal and Sea World. If given the choice would probably go with Ritz in the future, even though it's a close call.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tmsreise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA_Orlando, Front Office Manager at Waldorf Astoria Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Thank you very much for reviewing our property. We greatly appreciate the detailed feedback you have provided us so that we can constantly improve. We strive on a daily basis to be the premier luxury destination in Orlando and it takes feedback from our guests to do so. Thank you very much once again and we hope to host you as our guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,409)
There are newer reviews for Waldorf Astoria Orlando
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,282 - 3,288 of 4,409 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is a great hotel and far better value for money than any of the Disney hotels.
The staff are helpful and attentive to your needs, the rooms are generous and luxurious and the pool area is great, particularly if you have young children.
The hotel was spotless and very welcoming. There is an air of serenity when you enter, especially after the hecticness of Disney.
The food is generally good but is not cheap by American standards but the Hilton next door has more choice and there is always a doorman or valet able to take you there by golf cart or you can walk there if you feel the need.
The bar/lounge area also exudes an air of relaxation which is very welcome.
The wildlife is exotic with many gekkos and we also saw a 3 foot snake by the side of the pool which the staff quickly tried to remove.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool have a great view of Disney and the fireworks at night.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shelbyville_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA_Orlando, Front Office Manager at Waldorf Astoria Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you very much for reviewing our property. It is wonderful to hear that we were able to offer you a relaxing setting after a day at the theme parks. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

LOVED IT!!!! the pool was absolutely fab as always. When me and my girls wanna have a good time this is the go to place to be! Service was excellent as always, especially reception, food was amazing and golfing. Hands down best hotel in Orlando......Will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rasheeda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA_Orlando, Front Office Manager at Waldorf Astoria Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed all of the amenities we have to offer during your stay! We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My family and I stayed here for 3 nights in the deluxe room facing the golf course. This was only the second Waldorf Astoria that was built from the ground up after the one in NY and when we walked in, our reaction was "wow!". It is truly a beautiful property. They did such a superb job with this hotel from the design to the carpets to the wallpaper to the entire property/golf course, etc. Just gorgeous!

The rooms were nice-just that. The view was beautiful and you can even see bits of the Disney Parks from the room, but the rest of the room was standard, nothing really special. The beds were comfortable, but the shower was small. The thing I was really surprised about is that most 5 star hotels, especially the ones recently built are all tech savvy. This was not. There were no electronic lighting controls, not even a decent sign saying when to clean the room and when not to disturb. I guess I was expecting a little bit more from the room and that's why I gave it a 4 and not a 5.

The spa was very nice and really well laid out. The room service was awesome! Not only did they have a huge selection, but whatever we ordered was great! Definitely worth it! Also, everyone was very nice and accommodating if we asked for anything.

They had shuttle service to all the Disney parks. If you're only planning on going to Disney, don't rent a car. They also have taxis or town car rentals as well.

This was the second Waldorf Astoria we stayed at (Elysian in Chicago being the first). Although this brand (Waldorf Astoria) is not as good as the newer Trump hotels or even any of the newer Fairmonts, overall, it was a great hotel to stay at. Definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor facing the golf course. You can see the Disney fireworks from your room!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beach47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA_Orlando, Front Office Manager at Waldorf Astoria Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Thank you very much for writing such a detailed review of our property! We love to receive feedback from our guests so that we can constantly improve. We hope to host you as our guest again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Decided to try the Waldorf after staying at the Hilton Bonnet Creek next door previously. Both are very nice hotels but the Waldorf is a bit more elegant. Beautiful hotel. Staff was very nice. Room was beautiful and we didn't want to leave. Loved the Nespresso machine in the room. Had breakfast buffet at Oscar's downstairs each morning. Fabulous selection of food and beverages. Everything was clean and well maintained. Waldorf guests are able to use the lazy river pool at the Hilton next door but it was extremely crowded. The pool at the Waldorf was very nice and not as busy. A little bit more privacy there. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Butski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA_Orlando, Front Office Manager at Waldorf Astoria Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us. We loved to hear that you took advantage of so many of our complex amenitites during your stay! Please come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed in a suite room on the 6th floor. The hotel is located adjacent to the Hilton Hotel.

Our suite was beautifully appointed, and the attached balcony had chairs for sitting outside. The bed was comfortable. The desk in the bedroom was crammed into the corner, and should have been situated in the living area. If one is sleeping and the other working it made it difficult to do so in the bedroom.

Everything was great except for the Wi Fi connection. Waldorf offers free Wi Fi in the lobby, but charges guests for WI FI in the rooms. Why they charge for it in the guest rooms is a bit chintzy.

Valet parking was timely and a guest couldn't ask for better service.

The hotel is wonderful, and worth your stay. Attached, are several photos of the property.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tish081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA_Orlando, Front Office Manager at Waldorf Astoria Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We sincerely apprecaite our guests' feedback so we can continue to improve to be the premier destination in Orlando. We hope to host you as our guest in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We are a family of four with two small children and stayed at the Waldorf the last week of August. It was very last minute since our original plan to Key west was cancelled due to hurricane Isaac. We were debating whether we should stay at the hilton next door or the waldorf and eventually decided on the waldorf based on the size of the hotel. We preferred the waldorf because it is smaller, more intimate hotel environment than the hilton.

I booked the room with my hhonors points the night before our arrival and requested a room with Disney View for the kids to watch the Epcot fireworks. We arrived at the hotel by noon and greeted by Ms. Baldwin at the lobby. She was kindly enough to upgrade us to a 1 bedroom with a disney view but we had to wait since the room was not ready. She took our cell number and our belongings and we went straight to tour both the waldorf and hilton facilities and ended up swimming at the lazy river. At 4 PM sharp we had a call that our room was ready and they moved our belongings to the room.

The room was spacious and luxurious. There was minimal wear and tear in the room. Guest Services attended our needs fairly quickly, less than 5 minutes to get things done like extra pillows, towels, turn down service, utensils, etc.

We also loved the gym and the pools! The gym was nice, clean, spacious, with floor to ceiling windows. The lazy river pool by the Hilton side was fun and it opened till midnight when we were there. The waldorf pools were also good for morning laps. Very quiet with most of the kids hanging by the lazy river. two minor complaints - $5 a day to rent a tube for the lazy river and $20 to valet. I thought the tube should be complimentary and the hotel should give their guests option to self park.

I know that many of high end resorts in Orlando provide similar amenities (big pool, lazy river, etc) and services when compared to Waldorf, but one thing stood out from my stay at this hotel - The people. They are top notch, friendly yet professional, and always aim to please and try very hard to accomodate your requests and make your stay memorable.

Note: Disney shuttle runs every 5 and 35 on the hour. But pay attention to the schedule, especially if you want to go to Downtown Disney. It takes ~25-30 minutes to go from the hotel to Magic Kingdom (first stop), and 30-40 minutes from Magic Kingdom to the hotel as the shuttle make stops at different parks.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeruk85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA_Orlando, Front Office Manager at Waldorf Astoria Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us. We loved hearing that our team members made such an impact during your stay! Please come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#28 of 340 in Orlando
5,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Orlando

Address: 14200 Bonnet Creek Resort Lane, Orlando, FL 32821-4024
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Orlando
#7 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#7 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#7 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#8 Business Hotel in Orlando
#26 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $244 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Orlando 5*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary, luxury resort surrounded by the gates of Disney theme parks, Waldorf Astoria® Orlando is nestled in a peaceful 482-acre nature preserve near the Walt Disney World® Resort. The hotel’s elegant setting includes fine resort amenities like the award-winning Waldorf Astoria® Golf Club, the luxe Waldorf Astoria® Spa, a formal swimming pool with private cabanas, and access to more than a dozen dining and lounge experiences, including an outpost of New York City’s famed Bull & Bear. The hotel features 498 deluxe rooms and suites, and nearly 42,000 square feet of exclusive flexible meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Orlando Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing