We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Citron

Citron
Reserve with OpenTable
Citron is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #671 of 3,827 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: John Young Parkway
south florida
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Not sure how a nice hotel can serve such an average club sandwich (my favorite hotel food tradition!) but they sure do. It wasn't bad, it just wasn't good. Add in cold fries and you've lost me. Had a brownie dessert that was served in a shallow, squat mason jar - it wasn't very good, the brownie was just so so (Again, how do you get a brownie sooooo wrong!!!) and I had to dig and dig to get the banana part (which was amazing) ... it was presentation first, food quality second. My food was also missed, so it came out late. And my friend's order was wrong, and the waitress kind of laughed it off and never apologized for anything. Not really what I expect from the JW Marriott brand

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank tortugas2x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    87
    44
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Will not return...”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Our family arrived at our Marriott resort Monday evening tired, hungry and ready for a nice meal. Our concierge recommended the restaurant, Citron at the JW Marriott hotel. Our first server brought ice water as soon as we arrived. He refilled 3 times before our waiter eventually came to the table 20-30 minutes later. I have no idea what took so long as the place was basically empty. He brought menus and we ordered immediately since we were so hungry. We did have some bread and salads thankfully because the food was very slow coming out. Three of us ordered pasta which was nothing to rave about. The pasta was tough, the sauce was nothing special and had 2 shavings if Parmesan cheese...VERY disappointing. The burger was simply ok. It was not worth the price. We left feeling very disappointed that we wasted our money on this place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tlwmkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jazzy_Vazquez, Administrative Assistant, Rooms Division at Citron, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience at our restaurant. Please accept a sincere apology for the wait time you endured. You may rest assure, your feedback has been shared with our team in order to improve our service execution. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“A little on the pricey side but great breakfast”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had three breakfast buffets at Citron and a few late night ice cream cones.

Service for breakfast was excellent. Friendly servers and cooks running the omelet station. Omelets were great and the buffet had a huge selection of options.

Only bummer is the $27 price. We had free breakfast with our room, so we paid a lot less than $27. But the price drops it a star.

Ice cream was excellent.

Can't speak for ordering off the menu or eating lunch/dinner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dave9956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Excellent food... a bit pricey.”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The Breakfast Buffet is wonderful....omelets/ pancakes/ french toast to order. There are lots of other items too inc cold & hot cereal/ breakfast meats/ Charcuterie too.
Pastries made on site - extensive choices.
I thought it was a bit pricey though...$ 27.
Service is great too.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LFMME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Great and Easy Restaurant”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This restaurant is great. It is in the JW Marriott. They have quick service and a great menu. They have also a great kids menu which is 10 dollars and it includes a big portion sized dish, 2 sides, a cookie, and a beverage w/ free refills. Also on the regular menu has great prices. One of our favorites is the wild mushroom flat bread. So I recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Citron also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Citron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing