We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waste of your time and money”

The Grill at Grande Vista
Reserve with OpenTable
The Grill at Grande Vista is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #318 of 3,777 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: S. International Drive
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Waste of your time and money”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My wife and I ate at Nick’s grill on 1/11/13. It had been a long day and we didn’t want to go out and find a restaurant. We were staying at the Marriott and decided to walk over to Nick’s for dinner. It was a Friday night and the place was ¾ full. We were told it would be a 5 minute wait, which ended up being a 15 minute wait – no biggie. We had both decided on their “catch of the day”. The name implies that the fish is already caught; because it took over 45 minutes for us to be served our dinners. This fish was grilled with some mashed potatoes and veggies. The food was ok and the service wasn’t anything to write home about. If you’re staying at the Marriott Grande Vista don’t waste your time and money at Nick’s. In ten minutes in all directions are much better restaurants for the same or less $$.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tomdaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourBrandVoice, Manager at The Grill at Grande Vista, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. I would like to apologize for the experience you had at Nick’s Grill. I can assure you I will share this feedback with our team so that we can understand how this occurred and correct it to avoid future instances. I also want to thank you for choosing to dine at Nick’s, we realize that you and your wife had many other choices. As you said, within a few minutes time there are other options and we can’t afford losing you and others to our competition. That said, I would like the opportunity to win back your business. Should you find yourself back in this area please reach out to me so I can show you and your wife the hospitality, service and quality that Marriott’s Grande Vista and Nick’s Grill is known for and proud of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice Place, but.............”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

we went there for dinner during our last trip to Grande Vista (see our GV review) on their Prime Rib special night. I haven't had prime rib in some time, so I was really looking forward to a juicy, crisp end cut, that crunched and crackled thru a peppery coating and almost flaked off in layers of succelence, accompanied by a flavorful au jus and vegetable accompaniments. To be kind, let's just say they were having an off night. Our waiter Gus was doing double duty as bartender and waiter.
Buss staff could not have been any better. They were superior on every count. Gus was multi-focused so it appeared that all his tables and bar patrons suffered a bit. Our Shrimp cocktail was not what we are used to. They didn't appear to be freshly caught, nor freshly prepared. Rather defrost P&D and served. The greens under the five shrimp were very good as was their garnish of sprouts. Accompanying dipping sauces were fine. We planned on having desert but the timing seemed off. You can only wait so long to have your desert oder taken.
To be fair, we'll try this Grill again in March and will write another review. I always like to be fair and we call 'em as we see 'em. I read that the breakfasts here are good, but...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Funfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Worth staying onsite”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great for quick bite before or after golf. Also nice for quiet dinners. Good wine list. Walkable from anywhere on the resort. Liked the friendly service and the "lean" menu for carb-conscious travellers.

Visited October 2012
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast and Dinner”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Upscale but kid friendly! Food was great! I would reccomend the Banana Foster french toast for breakfast.

Visited December 2012
Thank cnk30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Breaksfasts”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

There are 3 eateries on this resort. The other 2 are awful but this is worth a visit for a relatively pricey breakfast but the quality is good.

Visited December 2012
Thank AKM293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grill at Grande Vista also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida

Been to The Grill at Grande Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing