We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience. Top Notch Service.”
Review of Norman's

Norman's
Reserve with OpenTable
Norman's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #82 of 3,792 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $40 - $80
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: John Young Parkway
Description: NORMAN'S showcases the menu of legendary Chef, Norman Van Aken. Chef Norman is known internationally as "the founding father of New World Cuisine". His cuisine is a celebration of Latin, Caribbean, Asian, African and American flavors. Chef Norman is the only Floridian to be inducted into the prestigious "James Beard list of 'Who's Who". Located at The Ritz-Carlton, Orlando Grande Lakes, NORMAN'S offers picturesque views of the Greg Norman Signature Golf Course, lake and gardens. Enjoy dinner in our Main Dining Room, on our Terrace, or book your next get together in our Private Dining Room. The team at NORMAN'S is ready to create a memorable evening for you and your guests. Whether a small family gathering or a large corporate function we will take care of your every need.
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
255 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience. Top Notch Service.”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We recently dined at the Bull & Bear at the Waldorf Astoria, and I rated them highly. I know regret that. The service here at Normans was twice as good and the food was superior. The Ritz Carlton is way more fancy, as is Normans decor. If looking for an elegant dining experience. I would choose Normans again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    91
    24
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
208 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Expected greatness, but average at best ... and slow ....”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Had heard great things about this restaurant. Went with a business group. The menu items were interesting (e.g., conch chowder), but the preparation and tastes didn't match. Ordered the snapper, but pretty sure I got the halibut ... no waiter around to complain to. The service was friendly, but extremely slow.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RootBeerFloat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellence for group”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Overall excellence in all aspects with service, meal and wine. Salad was average. The spiced rubbed ribeye looked and tasted more like a filet, however it was perfect. The seasoning, for those who enjoy spice and some heat is a top choice. Fish and chicken dishes were above average. A selection of desserts were plated for each guest at our table, all delicious. The only negative would be a set menu with less choice offered for groups rather than full menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A place for a special occasion!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We celebrated our anniversary and made a great choice with Norman's. We were made to feel special from the moment we walked in. The hostess wished us a Happy Anniversary, and once seated, our server greeted us with glasses of champagne. The service here is top notch - very professional, and appropriately attentive - exactly what you would expect in a top tier restaurant. Loved the atmosphere in the restaurant too - marble flooring, wood plank ceiling, and nice views throught the numerous windows out onto the grounds. There was a hint of a Latin influence to the restaurant in the background music and the menu items; it was very nice.

The food was very, very good. A must have starter is the shrimp ceviche. It is prepared table side, and was absolutely delicious. For the main entree, I had the yellowtail snapper, which was fresh and flavorful (and I could only finish half of it). My husband had the bone in rib-eye, which was very good. Loved the bread service, which came with individual olive oil dipping plates made table side with your choice of seasonings.

Overall we had a wonderful experience, and would definitely go back to celebrate a special event.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mgiac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great meal & Service”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The tasting menu was great and reasonable. The regular menu is expensive, but food was very good. Atmosphere average.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank gassdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norman's also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Norman's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing