We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence for group”
Review of Norman's

Norman's
Reserve with OpenTable
Norman's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #94 of 3,808 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $40 - $80
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: John Young Parkway
Description: NORMAN'S showcases the menu of legendary Chef, Norman Van Aken. Chef Norman is known internationally as "the founding father of New World Cuisine". His cuisine is a celebration of Latin, Caribbean, Asian, African and American flavors. Chef Norman is the only Floridian to be inducted into the prestigious "James Beard list of 'Who's Who". Located at The Ritz-Carlton, Orlando Grande Lakes, NORMAN'S offers picturesque views of the Greg Norman Signature Golf Course, lake and gardens. Enjoy dinner in our Main Dining Room, on our Terrace, or book your next get together in our Private Dining Room. The team at NORMAN'S is ready to create a memorable evening for you and your guests. Whether a small family gathering or a large corporate function we will take care of your every need.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellence for group”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Overall excellence in all aspects with service, meal and wine. Salad was average. The spiced rubbed ribeye looked and tasted more like a filet, however it was perfect. The seasoning, for those who enjoy spice and some heat is a top choice. Fish and chicken dishes were above average. A selection of desserts were plated for each guest at our table, all delicious. The only negative would be a set menu with less choice offered for groups rather than full menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    477
    92
    25
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A place for a special occasion!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We celebrated our anniversary and made a great choice with Norman's. We were made to feel special from the moment we walked in. The hostess wished us a Happy Anniversary, and once seated, our server greeted us with glasses of champagne. The service here is top notch - very professional, and appropriately attentive - exactly what you would expect in a top tier restaurant. Loved the atmosphere in the restaurant too - marble flooring, wood plank ceiling, and nice views throught the numerous windows out onto the grounds. There was a hint of a Latin influence to the restaurant in the background music and the menu items; it was very nice.

The food was very, very good. A must have starter is the shrimp ceviche. It is prepared table side, and was absolutely delicious. For the main entree, I had the yellowtail snapper, which was fresh and flavorful (and I could only finish half of it). My husband had the bone in rib-eye, which was very good. Loved the bread service, which came with individual olive oil dipping plates made table side with your choice of seasonings.

Overall we had a wonderful experience, and would definitely go back to celebrate a special event.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mgiac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great meal & Service”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The tasting menu was great and reasonable. The regular menu is expensive, but food was very good. Atmosphere average.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank gassdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Service, atmosphere and food--all great”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary here, the fourth time we have eaten at Norman's. We had the tasting menu and the wine pairing. The service was superb. Our waiter knew the food, the ingredients, and the wine. The menu was customized with our names on it. The tasting menu was wonderful. Each course brought surprise flavors and ingredients and the wine pairing was spot on. We were in the restaurant for three hours. It was a great experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bikehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boca raton, fl
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Chef Norman made a name for himself with his restaurant that was in Coral Gables Fl for many years. I ate there several times and always enjoyed it. His restaurant in the Ritz has evolved, but his style of mixing Latin American and American food is what makes him different than most chefs. The restaurant is very elegant. You sit next to windows that stretch out like a semi-circle. The center of the room has a high rotunda, with one large table in the middle of the room. You don't have that congested feel like most restaurants. The food is unique and well prepared. Portions are mostly small, so not for those who like quantity. We started out with a beet salad and a shrimp dish. The shrimp were 2 large tiger shrimp, lightly breaded, fried with a Costa Rican slaw. Our main course was a Yellow-Tail snapper fan sauteed and then placed under the broiler to slightly grill. The vegetables that came with it were steamed perfectly. Our other dish was Havana Pork. A perfectly prepared piece of pork served beautifully with 3 different types of sauces. Our Waiter Christian was a delight. You could sense his excitement as he explained every dish to you. His professionalism far exceeded his years. A very nice overall experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank throne5448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norman's also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Norman's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing