We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Funky Monkey Wine Company

Funky Monkey Wine Company
Ranked #2,126 of 3,749 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Colonial and Mills
Description: Restaurant Description: The Funky Monkey Wine Company is a relaxed neighborhood wine bar and eatery near downtown Orlando in the Mills50 District. This restaurant and wine bar is beautifully decorated with hard wood floors, tablecloths, and warm candlelight where earth tones, a stylish wine themed decor and beautiful bar set the mood. This "stylish yet unconventional" wine bar serves 130-wines by the bottle; 40-wines by the glass all served in beautiful Diva Glassware and offers diners an Asian-American influence. An extensive menu offering delectable salads, unique appetizers, entrees ranging from Steak to Sushi and wine and cheese pairings are just a sample of what this hot spot offers locals and tourists alike. Monthly Wine Dinners featuring guest speakers from around the world and nightly specials keep the Monkey exciting and new; everything about this place is fun and pleasantly Funky Monkey. Visit us online at www.funkymonkeywine.com.
Brandywine, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

It was so dark that we had to use a phone to read the menu. The prices were a little high, but the food was good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Etcdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    18
    13
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tiny local restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I love this little place. It's small but the decor inside really makes it feel like a nice restaurant. I think it's the lighting and the stem wear that makes it. I've never had anything I didn't like here and Mondays are half off sushi which is quite good for a non Japanese sushi house. You can valet in the parking lot by bananas for this place because it's owned by the same company but make sure you don't park in the cajun place spaces next door cuz they will tow it. Thankfully that is clearly marked and the valet makes it a non issue. Love the place. It's also very LGBT friendly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank drsknight86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Family of five looking for a lovely meal. Upon arrival seat quickly and efficiently. Waitress couldn't really give a monkey, no children's menu. Ordered food - nothing special and waited a LNG time for food. Salmon was dry and over cooked. Kids food too cheesy. Sushi not fresh enough.

Helpful?
Thank TheAskews5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
163 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Redemption”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

First attempt at dining with Funky Monkey back during magical dining month was an absolute shame (sushi rice was not cooked thoroughly so it was inedible) but this time we gave their sushi another try and it was fantastic! Service and atmosphere were great too. Glad we gave it a second chance. Anoop was a good server; can't wait to come back for some more sushi!

Our party also enjoyed the tequila shrimp dish and burger.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scrapbookfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening meeting new people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Went to Funky Monkey on the recommendation of a friend. When we got there we were told that it was their monthly wine dinner. The host was very gracious and invited us to join the wine dinner. The place is quaint and cute. There were several large tables set up for community dining for the wine dinner. I was introduced to our table mates and then we were guided through the wines and the cheese pairing with every course. The food was delicious and the wine pairing spot on! We left absolutely stuffed and very happy. We even made new Facebook friends while we dined!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CaliCube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Funky Monkey Wine Company also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Funky Monkey Wine Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing