We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A funky fun yet quirky place”

Funky Monkey Wine Company
Ranked #2,206 of 3,808 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $40 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Colonial and Mills
Description: Restaurant Description: The Funky Monkey Wine Company is a relaxed neighborhood wine bar and eatery near downtown Orlando in the Mills50 District. This restaurant and wine bar is beautifully decorated with hard wood floors, tablecloths, and warm candlelight where earth tones, a stylish wine themed decor and beautiful bar set the mood. This "stylish yet unconventional" wine bar serves 130-wines by the bottle; 40-wines by the glass all served in beautiful Diva Glassware and offers diners an Asian-American influence. An extensive menu offering delectable salads, unique appetizers, entrees ranging from Steak to Sushi and wine and cheese pairings are just a sample of what this hot spot offers locals and tourists alike. Monthly Wine Dinners featuring guest speakers from around the world and nightly specials keep the Monkey exciting and new; everything about this place is fun and pleasantly Funky Monkey. Visit us online at www.funkymonkeywine.com.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A funky fun yet quirky place”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great place for a fun time with an ecclectic menu. Prices are fair as is the food but something about this place puts you in a pleasant mood. Staff is friendly and helpful.
Worth a try.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    18
    13
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I just love this place”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Creative dishes, inviting staff, good wines, great atmosphere. I have been there many times in the past couple of years and never was disappointed. You can go alone and sit at the bar or go with friends/partner and get a nice table.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Sushi”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Although you can't tell by the name, this place has great sushi. Had sushi as an appetizer and scallops as the main. Al in all great food and good value.
It's called a wine bar but I found the wine list lacking.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa canada
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Funny name, but worth a try”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Not sure how they got the name, but I really expected a bar experience. Was very surprised to see that this was a pretty up class nice restaurant. The combination of Sushi and regular food for appetizers or meals was nice actually. Had a great wine selection. The service was excellent and food was good. Good place for larger groups, not a problem with noise. I would suggest it if you are looking for a nice meal, but don't want it too private. Probably not a date night....

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I visited here " we had driven by it dozens of times and did not know exactly where it was. It has a good local reputation, though, so we decided to go on a recent Friday evening. The place was not crowded at 7:00 on a Friday evening, which tells you something. Frankly, we found the food a bit on the greasy side (for our tastes, anyway) and disappointing. They went overboard with butter and seemed to drench the dishes with it. Portions were on the small side, but heavy. Service was good and the waitress was quite pleasant and patient. There was no real ambience. The place seemed like a converted drugstore or something. Tables were tight. I can't really recommend it. I think there are better choices, even in "Little Saigon". Try Lac Viet or Pho 88, for example. Both are nearby, have good food, and the meal will cost half (or less) as much.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank O-town-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Funky Monkey Wine Company also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Funky Monkey Wine Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing