We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ho-Hum Museum of Art”

Orlando Museum of Art
Ranked #135 of 421 things to do in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This recently renovated museum displays a fine rotating collection of American, pre-Colombian and African art.
Orlando, Florida USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ho-Hum Museum of Art”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I am not impressed by either this museum's permanent nor visiting collections. The museum is very disappointing to me. It still looks and acts like a small town art museum. I would like to see some improvement.

Helpful?
1 Thank katzenmami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    48
    29
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
882 reviews
456 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
“How could you not love this place?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

"Good things come in small packages." This is a smallish museum, but still somewhere you could profitably spend 2-3 hours, as most of the art is well explained on the adjacent labels. Right now (January, 2013), there is a fabulous exhibition of art glass. Dale Chihuly, natch, but also many others. The permanent collection, with some great African and Latin American art, is well worth a careful viewing.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Professional-Pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Where Sharie and I had our Wedding and Reception”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We had all the Exhibits open all night for our guests and we left on a horse drawn coach down the lovely cobblestone streets t our hotel on Lake Eola

Helpful?
2 Thank TheAcostaJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Private gallery feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Tiny compared to most art museums we've been to but a nice little gem. A little bit of everything, not too much of anything -- felt like a gallery. The glass exhibit (temporary) was amazing!! We got to see everything in just over an hour.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lindais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Fl
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Having no museum would be an improvement”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

The main feature was a display of license plates. Orlando wouldn't be on a map if Disney didn't buy out this mosquito infested swamp land for $3 an acre. You can build cookie cutter homes, put a Publix and five chain restaurants on every corner but you cannot fake culture. I

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Kinglouix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orlando Museum of Art also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Orlando Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing