We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic museum for preschoolers to adults”

Orlando Science Center
Ranked #47 of 425 things to do in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: For more than 60 years, Orlando Science Center has been a place that inspires curiosity and exploration. Truly one of the great activities for Orlando families, the Science Center encourages learning in a fun way. There's no better place that combines fun and knowledge all under one roof! For visitors from out of town, Orlando Science Center is a must for your "things to do in Orlando" list. With four floors of exciting exhibits, amazing giant screen and 3-D films as well as engaging live programming, the Science Center is the perfect family destination. We're also the ideal rainy day escape!
Melbourne, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fantastic museum for preschoolers to adults”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We've taken our 3 yr old here several times and haven't been disappointed. The price could be lower, but if you are planning on visiting more than once they have a reasonable family membership. There are so many exhibits that you can easily spend 3-4 hrs doing everything. They also have a 3D theatre which is included with admission, you choose what to see. I reccommend going in the afternoon on a weekday to avoid the crowds.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank FloridaMomEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    198
    59
    19
    21
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Went with the Girl Scout Troop”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Troop and all the Girls and Moms had a great time. It was a SLEEP OVER and there were tons of girls and actually on the other side there were Boy Scouts too. The girls got to Sleep in Dino Digs so that was exciting for them. Somehow we slept as well. They learned a little about everything with their "tour guide". The overnight program includes; exploration of the Orlando Science Center, an a themed workshop, a large-format film in the planetarium show (some of the girls like it and some were bored) Crosby Observatory access, an Overnight Camp-In Participation Patch, dinner, breakfast and the biggest hit was sleeping under the Dinosaurs.... who would want a cool place to sleep in the exhibit halls. The next day you can stay and there are Interactive Games and other Experiences, the Orange Grove, Live Animals, Arcade Games, Robots, Science demonstrations, 3D Movies, Exhibits such as Blue Men Group or Star Wars (just depending on the time of year). It's a FUN museum to bring you kids.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emwinfrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had the fantastic luck to be in during the Star Wars exhibit. My husband is a huge Star Wars fan and geeked out for roughly two hours at the various touch-and-play stops, costumes, and info centers. I was lucky to make it out of the gift shop with my wallet intact.

Then on to my favorite: turtles! The bottom level had turtles and (tiny) alligators in a pond as well as a small snake and frog exhibit.

Upper levels had some weather, dinosaur, and general science exhibits.

Overall, very worth the price.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun and hands on for the kids!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a very nice half day museum particularly friendly to children. Exhibits are easy to view and most are interactive to some degree. One great thing is the attached parking facility with walkway to and from the center, definitely a good thing to have your car in a covered location in the Central Florida sun!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Corey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, FLorida, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A nice mix, a little pricey, but not with the Orlando Magicard!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Between the Blue Man Exhibit, the Florida Orange exhibit, and the Car Racing Track, my 2 year old had a blast! There are lots of buttons to push, lots of moving things to be observed and played with, and even a few critters! Compared to other Science museums we've been to, this is a solid 4. Everything is in pretty good working condition. The Clifford exhibit (temporary) was only 3 months old when we visited, but it looked about 3 years old. Given that a bunch of toddlers are running around it all day, I suppose that's to be expected. I was VERY glad to have some hand sanitizer after this one!

My only negatives would be that the 4th floor dino/fossil exhibit is pretty bland, but it's hard to make geology/archaeology cutting edge. I would also comment that the concession stand at the movie theater charges prices that are higher than Disney World, for something that's half the quality and a 1/3rd the quantity (I'm looking at you, popcorn...).

On the flip side movies are included! This is a nice change over similar type locations we've been to. You have your choice of 3D and the "dome". Choose the dome!

The staff was very friendly, the facilities were pretty clean, and the exhibits seems pretty safe overall.

In conclusion, get yourself an Orlando Magicard, and have at it! It's a nice way to spend some family time together, and learn about SCIENCE!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orlando Science Center also viewed

 

Been to Orlando Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing