We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with convenient location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
Ranked #90 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel with convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

This is a great resort for couples and for families. We stayed in the Alligator Bayou Building 37 which was very close to the North Depot for the Disney Transportation bus service. The room was clean and had a very cute rustic theme. Housekeeping did a good job and were very friendly. The food court at the resort was very good, breakfast was delicious and cheap....for two people around $14 per day and better quality food than Denny's. The grounds at the resort are lovely and full of wildlife. Check- in and check-out is very convenient with no hassles. We didn't use the pool, when we walked by the chlorine smell was so strong it burned our eyes just standing near it, but the kids swimming seemed to be having fun and it was a large pool area with lifeguards on duty. When taking the bus service to other resorts Epcot is the closest park to Port Orleans Riverside, so its the best point for catching a bus to other resorts. Overall it was a great place for a quiet, romantic vacation with convenient access to the parks.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank northstar223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,792
    2,920
    968
    352
    184
See reviews for
5,447
1,273
78
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2011

Nice looking resort for less than the cost of the deluxe resorts at Disney. It's on the bus route to everything except you can also take a boat to downtown Disney. Decent rooms, though it said waterview and I guess that meant if you look out the corner of the window you could see a pool nearby, not the riverview I expected. The hottub wasn't hot while we were there, though the temp outside was down to 28 degrees one evening, so the pools were out of the question. The pools could also have been heated better in winter months to like 85 degrees, then people might be able to swim, otherwise what's the pool good for? A very long wait to check in also--over an hour (that may have been a fluke).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skibran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

We stayed at the POR in December just before Christmas. The exterior of the resort is nice but the room inside are in desperate needs of a rehab. Nothing is dirty just in bad shape. The furniture is badly scuffed, paint is chipped on the radiators- overall the room looks dated. For the same price the Coronado Springs is better. (We stayed there in Feb. 2009). Other issues with POR is that the resort is so big that the bus lines are 4x longer than for every other resort. The line moved quickly and the buses kept coming but it still took awhile to get back to the resort.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

the place of the hotel was perfect river plants trees everything was wondreful
but the breakfast was extra every morning we have to walk till the restaurant and pay eveything we get extra per thing eg other price for kids omelete more expencieve an adults omelete
how many thihgs you get you pay for everyone of them seperete
i have never seen something like this all the hotels i have been have the breakfast included in the price or you pay an amout per person and you get what you want from a buffet but not in there
you have to wait long in lines waiting the bus to take to the theme parks
the front desk was perfekt
no caracters in hotel area just 30 minutes in 25/12
the room was small and not so clean
i was surprised with the laundry
normaly they get the things you have to wash or you bring them to the front desk
not there
you wash them by your serf
it was so .......mass the food and the entertainement

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreeceDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

I have been to Disney World several times and stayed in 3 other Disney Resorts. This one ranks as "just okay" to me and I probably wound NOT stay there again. I booked this through a travel agent, who told me that if I wanted a specific area of the resort, that I should call the resort direct 2-3 days in advance of my arrival date. I did that and requested a top floor in the Alligator Bayou section. Upon my arrival, we were given a first floor room in the Magnolia Bend area right in front of the main walkway by the main pool. I went back to the check-in area and told them I had called in advance and what my request had been. They said that they could not change my room that night and that it was doubtful that I would be able to get a room change at all. We took the Disney Magical Express and we were supposed to receive our luggage within 3 hours of our arrival. It took 5 hours before we finally got our luggage. Apparently, it had been sitting at the resort and they just hadn't gotten it to us. It was finally delivered at 11:00 that night. The next day, I called the manager at the front desk and he was able to move our room to our requested area. The rooms are not real clean. The first room we were in reminded me of a room at Motel 6. It was just old and the floors looked like they hadn't been scrubbed in a long time. When I'm paying extra for a Disney themed resort, I expect the room to reflect that. The theme of the outside of the resort is apparent and the grounds are nice. The resort is very spread out, so expect to do a lot of walking. Also, I was not aware that the Pop Warner Football/National Cheerleading Championships were the same week we went (Dec 4-11) and Pt. Orleans Riverside is the host resort. The food court was an absolute madhouse with no place to sit every time we went. I do not recommend going to Disney World at that time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joym126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2011

When we arrived at the hotel our first impression was that it was quite nice. This is our 4th Disney hotel stay and as other reviews state the rooms are dated and we had some nice stains on the carpet. My daughter is 10 but still gets excited to see what towel animals we have been left, the only one we got in the nine days we stayed was a snake which obviously didn't take much effort to make. Other than that breakfast was a complete nightmare so busy, queues for food, queues to pay and nowhere to sit. After the first day we had to split up and stand in different queues just to get our breakfast over and done with in about an hour. After returning from breakfast one day we found a maintenance worker in our room, I tried to get in to the room with my card but after three attempts I shoulted to my husband who was a few steps behind me to get his card out as mine had stopped working, at this point my door was opened from the inside by the female maintenance worker, who told us she was fixing our door! We had been in the room for five days at this point and had not reported a problem but thought nothing more of it and got on with our day.
The following day I went to the safe to get out some money and found my wallet all open and I knew I had not left it like that so I checked our passports and money and found both us dollars and English money missing.
I immediately went to the reception and was told a security guard would be sent out to me to take details of what had happened, the security guard was at least 70 and I had to repeat everything three times for it to sink in. I left it at that and tried not to let it ruin my holiday but the day before I left I went back to reception to see if they had an update as no one had been in contact we us since the incident which I thought was not very good customer service. A manager was bought out from the back to see me who informed me that they had no record of the incident so I had to waste yet more of my time going over everything again. I described the worker and she contacted the maintenance department to confirm that that was one of their employees, then she checked the computer and found that there was no work order so she shouldn't have been in the room. Then the manager called the sheriff so I had to go over the story again. The only two people who had access to my room were the cleaner and the maintenance worker and since the safe was locked and the key hidden the money didn't sprout legs and run away. I will not stay at this hotel again And I think they need to improve customer service dramatically and take a long hard look at the staff they employ!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FionaBarnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

Stayed one week at the Riverside and we absolutely loved it!
Beautiful, light, airy and spacious room, with a great view.
Loved the surroundings and the river where you can take the boat to Downtown Disney.
Recommended! Going back in Feb and can' wait!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chorini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
1.1 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
1.5 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
4.5 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
2.3 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Property: Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
Address: 1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8514 (Formerly Dixie Landings)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#49 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#72 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2048
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where simple pleasures flourish and Southern hospitality abounds. From the stately white-column mansions of Magnolia Bend to the quaint backwoods cottages of Alligator Bayou, delight in this picturesque Resort hotel that evokes the romance and tranquility of the rural Louisiana Bayou. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Disney Resort
Orlando Port Orleans Resort
Riverside Disney
Disney Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Hotel Disney
Port Orleans Resort Riverside
Port Orleans Resort Disney
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing