We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel-only worth it if you get free Disney dining”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
Ranked #90 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice hotel-only worth it if you get free Disney dining”
Reviewed October 17, 2010

This hotel was very clean and had a few extra nice touches such as a curtain diving the sinks from the sleeping portion allowing for privacy and a place to turn on lights without waking everyone else. We were in a building (24) that was about a 15 minute walk from the main pool and restaurants. There was a perfectly good, normal hotel pool right behind our building and it was only a 2 minute walk to catch the shuttles which was nice. We got the free Disney Dining plan which was fantastic-we had plenty of food. I have mixed feeling about the free shuttles-we never waited less than twenty minutes for a shuttle to a park and we could have easily driven there faster. However, at the end of the day, we usually waited ten minutes or less (even on crowded days) to ride the shuttle home. Many times we were standing though since they were so crowded (and this is NOT the busy season). Bottom line-nice hotel but not worth the extra expense unless you get the dining plan for free.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jandy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,981
    3,050
    1,023
    372
    194
See reviews for
5,750
1,336
79
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hollywood birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We were allocated a room in aligator bayou which was very close to the reception, food court and the pool.
When we arrived it was quite dark so we did have trouble allocating our room. The room was clean and comfortable and didnt have any problems with it, however we did find the safe was very small and struggled to put everthing in.
The food court got very busy around 9am and again around 7pm, The pool was lovely, however you had to get there early, we found if we went in the afternoon we couldnt get a sunbed, and we did find the area as it was surrounded by trees a little claustraphobic, we much prefered the french quarter pool which was more open (took us around 10 mins walk down) and we had no trouble finding a sunbed.
The boat to downtown disney was good, however dont use in the evening -took us an hour and half to get to downtown disney.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, I would definately stay here again, but would probably opt for the french quarter.
I found the resort very central and the drive to the parks was short, i used the buses once but much preferred to drive as it was quicker

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bargainchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Essex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

We chose this hotel after reading many favourable reviews and were not disappointed. We stayed in the Magnolia Bend area of the resort in the Parterre Place building. We felt we were ideally situated as we were only a short stroll across the bridge to the main food court, restaurant and shop etc but the building still had a lovely tranquil feel. The room was plenty large enough and the beds comfy. The theming here is beautiful - we had the Sassagoola River passing outside our building and beautiful fountains nearby. We had a quiet pool nearby which was clean and handy to grab some peace and quiet after a busy day at the parks.
We had the Disney Quick Service Dining Plan as a freebie for staying in this resort but upgraded to the Disney Dining Plan so that we got a Quick Service and Table Service meal each day as well as a snack. We thought the Dining Plan was great and made good use of it in various restaurants during our stay - inlcuding hopping over to other Disney resorts to try out their restaurants!
Have to agree that the bus service can be a bit erratic and we often had to wait ages for a bus only to find it was either full or 2/3 would turn up together! On the whole, we really liked this resort and felt it was much better than others in the same category such as Caribean Beach where we've stayed in the past. The resort was clean and tidy and we found all of the staff to be polite and helpful. The water taxis to Downtown Disney were great and made a nice alternative to the buses - in fact during the evenings they were more regular! Would definately stay at this resort again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sloanrangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2010

Disney Port Orleans Riverside was one of my favorite parts of our vacation. It was very clean and had a great location. The whole place makes it easy to relax after playing. The food court has amazing food with so many choices. The only issue we had was with the front desk staff. They are not helpful, and almost rude. We had a hard time finding our room at first since the front desk does not give directions and we took the wrong exit off the bus the first night as it was not explained that there are several different bus depots. But other than that our stay here was wonderfull. If we return to Disney I would stay there again!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macymichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

WE LOVE RIVERSIDE!

The layout and beauty of this Resort is simply stunning. Yes it's big - but that's the point. It is like staying in a small town with winding paths, rivers, trees, gardens etc. It manages to feel cosy and intimate as the buildings are set amongst the trees and each area has it's own pool (Six pools inc. Old Man Island - good fun to try them all and find your favourite).
This was our fourth visit - first time without children and to be honest we came back more for POR than to visit the Parks. We have always stayed in Alligator Bayou before - which was fine -(although I think the Hickory bed frames are a theme too far) so requested a room in Magnolia Terrace this time. Lovely location, Oak Manor 2nd floor corner room overlooking river. The rooms are similar but furnishings seemed more luxurious and grown up. Beds were very comfy too.

A few things we've learnt that may be useful:

Buses - Coming back from Magic Kingdom after fireworks bus queue to Riverside was huge! Would have taken at least an hour in line to get on bus - checked out queue to French Quarter and hardly any wait so we took that bus. Driver was kind enough to drop us (and quite a few others - we all cheered and clapped him) off at Riverside but you can either catch the boat up to POR which goes every 10 minuites between 4p.m. and 11 p.m. or walk along the River path - not as long as we expected - takes about 10 minuites stroll to main building.

Meal Plan - We had the free meal plan and often used snack option for breakfast e.g. Bagel or Cinnamon Roll and had with a coffee in our room as we got ready for the day. We found the best place to eat counter service was Wolfgang Puck Express at Downtown Disney - thoroughly recommend it - good quality well prepared food. We did have the full service option but quite frankly we wouldn't bother again - lots of restuarants were disappointing - even Californian Grill and Brown Derby the food and service left much to be desired. I think if we went again we would pop into themed restaurants out of peak time and just have a starter or dessert and enjoy the atmosphere.

Boardwalk - If you are spending a day at Epcot and the crowds all get too much - take a break - catch the boat at the International Gateway between England and France and hop over to The Boardwalk for a stroll along the Prom and a cool glass of something outside Big River Grill and watch the world go by.

Swim/Jacuzzi - We found the best time to go was pre 10 a.m. we were the only ones there.

Suprisingly, a Disney moderate, family friendly hotel can be romantic
( : Hope you enjoy it.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank jinx1_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2010

great disney place to stay. good points staff pools games room for kids and boat to downtown disney. for nice just to walk round as its very quite and well kept grounds.
only down point i would say is buses. you can wait for a while then when one turns up people worry that they have just got there they will just push in. i would say a line system should be used like they do at all stars.
other slight thing, not that its bad is the food. if you are staying for two weeks it can be very same old thing by the time the first week has past. i think more things on offer at food court would be nice. but saying that never had a bad meal. i would say even after what ive just said is make sure you have dinning plan its great.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wood1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

The hotel was beautiful and the staff was helpful. I recommend that you take a horse and carriage ride around the property. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 12hourpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
1.1 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
1.6 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
4.6 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
2.4 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Property: Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
Address: 1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8514 (Formerly Dixie Landings)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#49 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#72 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2048
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where simple pleasures flourish and Southern hospitality abounds. From the stately white-column mansions of Magnolia Bend to the quaint backwoods cottages of Alligator Bayou, delight in this picturesque Resort hotel that evokes the romance and tranquility of the rural Louisiana Bayou. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Disney Resort
Orlando Port Orleans Resort
Riverside Disney
Disney Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Hotel Disney
Port Orleans Resort Riverside
Port Orleans Resort Disney
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing