We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mid priced Disney Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
Ranked #94 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Have stayed here 4 times over the last few years and haven't been disappointed yet. The pool is great and the rooms are clean. The bus ride to Magic Kingdom is about 10 minutes. The only caveat here is that this is a big hotel so if you are coming back at night from a park with magic hours, you may find yourself in a long bus line. Otherwise no complaints.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BillDH87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,848)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,305 - 4,311 of 8,848 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

This was our first time staying at the Disney Port Orleans Riverside. The resort is divided into the Magnolia Bend and Alligator Bayou. If you are wanting the Princess-themed rooms, you will need to stay at Magnolia Bend; however, the maximum occupancy is four. We stayed in Alligator Bayou at Riverside as those rooms can accommodate a family of five with a pull-down murphy bed. The rooms were spacious with two queen-size beds (with "log" posts), a small table with chairs, and the pull-down bed. The room was equipped with a fridge and coffee-maker as well a small bookshelf that worked well to hold our snack bags. There was a double bowl sink that had additional space underneath for storage as well as a hanging rod. There is a curtain that you can pull that gives privacy in the sink area. Great for changing when someone else is in the bathroom. The shower had a "wood" surround that made the place feel very rustic and cabin-like. When folded into the wall, the bed had a bench underneath with three pull-out drawers. This was the only drawer space, so we did have to store some items in our suitcase by the door. Rooms were always cleaned although our housekeeper never did anything "fun" like make Mickey ears with our towel. Guess it's just who you get.

The property itself is beautiful. Luscious green gardens everywhere and a river that runs through the resort. We didn't pay extra for the "preferred location" so we had a garden view in cabin 38. It was fairly close to the north depot bus stop and the parking lot (we had our vehicle) but a jog to the main building. Alligator Bayou has three "quiet" pools in addition to the large pool on Old Man Island. My kids preferred this pool as it had a water slide. They offer pool-side activities throughout the day as well. There are laundry facilities next to each quiet pool. You can rent fishing poles or boats at the marina on-site and they also have a ferry that takes you to Downtown Disney, although we didn't take advantage of any of these amenities during this trip.

We stopped by the food court once for breakfast and once for dinner. They have a "create your own pasta bar" where you choose your toppings, sauce, and noodles and a chef will make it for you while you wait. Similar to a food court, they have different windows that serve different items. Good for variety but also a pain as my kids all wanted something at different windows (go figure). There is a hilarious guy that plays the piano at the restaurant/bar that had the crowd rolling. Check the schedule as he is not there every night.

The bus service runs about every 20 minutes and they said that the trip to and/or from each park is expected to take about 20 minutes. There are four bus stops on or around the resorts and we never had an issue waiting too long for a bus. This hotel is closest to Epcot, so it is a bit quicker to get to this park versus the other three.

Overall, we LOVED our stay at the POR and will definitely be using this resort for our next trip to Disney.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank worknschoolmom23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Beautiful moderate Disney hotel. Grounds are gorgeous and peaceful, staff extremely nice and accommodating, food very good. Rooms definitely small and hotel like but we had a "Royal" room which was perfect for my 6 year old, mother, and me. Very clean, no moldy smell or trace of it in bathroom. Breakfast place a bit busy but we could always find a table and get our meals quickly. Boatwrights, their sit down restaurant, had the best meal we found in Disney. Might be nice to stay at hotel in monorail, but busses were always timely to the parks and the hotel was so quiet and pretty with the river running along, it was worth the choice. We had a room close to the main building with food and concierge, and I might not have been so happy if we were farther away.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Levmur L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My family and I stayed at this resort for a Disney vacation. Our room was a double queen with a trundle. This was our third time staying at a Disney resort and our first time at Port Orleans Riverside. We had gotten a decent rate since it was the off season which made this resort much more appealing. Out of the two others we stayed out (Art of Animation and Coronado Springs), I would rate this as our second favorite (Art of Animation was the best).

PROS
- Overall room quality I thought was very good. It was clean and well maintained. The decorations were nice.
- Nice television and very accessible ports to plug in an AV connection or HDMI.
- WiFi was excellent throughout the stay (not so much in the park but the room it always worked good)
- Beds were firmer than I like but somehow were still comfortable. I'm not sure if I was just exhausted from being in the parks or this was some kind of Disney Magic but I never sleep well in a firm bed. These I had no problem sleeping in.
- Trundle bed was an awesome feature (not available in all rooms). It was only big enough for a child though. And if you have a kid that rolls out of bed a lot you may want to prop a towel roll under the sheet on the edge.
- Staff were friendly and helpful. We needed some extra blankets and had no problem getting them.
- Room temperature was easy to control and maintain. We used both air conditioning and heat on our trip so we tested both ends. It worked good and kept the room comfortable. Very quiet system also.
- Bathroom had a double sink separate from the shower and toilet. There was a curtain that could be drawn for privacy between the room and the sinks.
- Resort grounds were beautiful and there was a lot to do on the premises.
- Boat transportation to Downtown Disney was nice. The boat comes about every 20 minutes during the day and every 10 during the evening.
- The pool, arcade and gift shop were very nice and typical Disney
- The cafeteria food was excellent and the environment was great. It was a nice place to sit and relax.

CONS
- Not many electrical outlets and the ones available were inaccessible or didn't work. Bring a power strip if you have a lot of electronics!

Overall I was very happy at this resort and would stay there again!

Room Tip: - Only certain rooms have a trundle. Make sure to ask for them. - In addition to the main resort po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

It was very nice and clean. I loved the way it looked. My little girl (3) kept on singing "going down the bayou".
TIPS: Always ask for a room upgrade.
Try to get first floor, doing the steeps with luggage and kids. yuck!
Try the food at the French Quarter, it is just a short drive.
The rooms closet to the lobby save you time.
Do not waste money on a garden view.
Watch how much money you spend on your MAGIC BAND!
You have to ask for clean sheets
We did not get to spend much time at Riverside because of the amount of time spent at the parks. The pull down bed was about 5 foot long and cozy. All rooms have refrigerators. Do not believe the old reviews, some of them say there were no refrigerators.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed here for a few nights during our trip to Disney. Thought the hotel was very average and the beds were really uncomfortable. A/c was really loud!! The bathrooms were also very small. Would probably consider it a little less than a moderate hotel

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JODIFELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

First room we checked in to had
1. Crumbs on the beds and floors
2. Used soap in the room
3. Used coffee cups in room
4. The building was being refurbished so the grounds were covered in tarps and fencing. A lot of workers were in the area, and hammering was occurring early in the morning.
So we contacted the front desk, and they moved us to another room.
We checked into the new room around 6pm.... And were surprised to find someone's luggage already in our suite.

I once again contacted the front desk and this time I asked for a manager. I was met with someone who insisted she would take care of this, and she was not a manager....which was evident since her demeanor was anything but disney-like. She first asked if I was sure it wasn't my luggage...then she said a bellman would come to the room to remove the luggage. I expressed my unhappiness over this confusion, and she gave me a flat 'sorry for that' answer. This just doesn't seem very disney... And I won't make another reservation at this resort.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
11  Thank poppingupdaisies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
0.3 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
1.2 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
2.4 mi away
Disney's Pop Century Resort
2.3 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Address: 1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8514 (Formerly Dixie Landings)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#49 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#72 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $228 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2048
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where simple pleasures flourish and Southern hospitality abounds. From the stately white-column mansions of Magnolia Bend to the quaint backwoods cottages of Alligator Bayou, delight in this picturesque Resort hotel that evokes the romance and tranquility of the rural Louisiana Bayou. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Walt Disney Parks & Resorts, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Disney Resort
Orlando Port Orleans Resort
Riverside Disney
Disney Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Hotel Disney
Port Orleans Resort Riverside
Port Orleans Resort Disney
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing