We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for kids and grandkids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
Ranked #90 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We took our children and grandchildren to Disney and stayed at this resort and were very happy with the resort. We got the Royal Rooms which the kids loved as they are decorated with a Disney theme. The kids had adjoining rooms which was fun for them and convenient for their parents. The closet pool is a quiet pool and great for relaxing after a day at the parks, the island pool with the waterslide is a must see and great spot for the kids to unwind.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view corner room for a good view. We stayed in Building 95, Parterre Place which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveling-gramps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,341 - 4,347 of 8,750 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed here from 11/16 to 11/23 at Port Orleans-Riverside for the first time. We are from the New Orleans area, so we did appreciate the little touches and such that made it feel like home for us. We were housed in the Alligator Bayou region--lodge number 28. We were also given a corner room on the ground floor.

First off, this property is HUGE. I had heard about how big the property was, but not until you actually get in there and exploring do you realize just how big it is. That being said, there is a great deal of walking to be done. If you stay where we did, the walk to the dining/store/arcade/lobby area is a decent distance. However, our building was relatively close to the West Bus Depot and made morning excursions to the bus nice. There are 4 bus depots on property, but if you board at West, you are normally first on and first off of each bus.

The hotel dining area is nice, big, and clean. The food options are vast and good, as most of the Disney properties offer. The check-in/concierge area is also nice and big. They were relatively quick with our check-in process (but we checked in online---which I do recommend you do!)

We frequently used the riverboat system to get to and from the Downtown Disney area on our trip. That's a little extra laginappe that the kids really enjoyed doing and beats taking the bus. You can also rent bikes, boats, or take carriage rides around the property.

Our room was very clean and maid service did do a great job keeping up. The beds were not fantastic, and that is probably my biggest and only complaint about our stay. Our room had a little bed that pulled out from some storage and my son really enjoyed sleeping on it.

If you use the resort airline check-in, it can get a little hectic, but it is nice!
Overall, this is a great stay and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Excellent Walt Disney World Resort Hotel, with a variety of rooms, all set in a lovely picturesque resort. Lots of different choices of food in the Quick Service restairant, and very friendly and welcoming staff

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We have stayed at Port Orleans Riverside twice. The kids love the fact that we can utilize the main pools at both Riverside and French Quarter. Very clean rooms. Extremely friendly staff. We had a room by a quiet pool. Had just a quick walk to the main pool and restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SchantzFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The beds were very uncomfortable. Way too firm. Everything else was great. Decor. Lush surroundings. Good size mini fridge. It was quite a walk to parking, though.

The shuttle service to the parks needs work. There isn't a schedule so you just show up and hope you didn't just miss one. It took over an hour to get a shuttle to Magic Kingdom one day because every time a shuttle would come, it was already full. It took Disney that long to get their act together and send out more shuttles.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thousandays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed 4 days together at riverside. We had just spent 4 days at yacht club and we loved our stay at riverside.
Location: central, bus transportation was great, always plenty of buses. We asked for a room near lobby and got perfect room. My only suggestion is ask for first floor room as no elevators.
Room: we were on bayou and my daughter loved theme as reminded her of her favorite princess, lots of room and it was quiet
Food: only ate at food court, lots of seating and Disney has it down to a science with lines. We had one rainy night and place was mobbed but lines moved quick.
Pool: was fun, central to everything
Would recommend and return !

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mecrla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We arrived at 9/11/2013 , check in was slow and we were given a room in a block 35 which was a good walk from lobby which I was not happy about as I was promised a room near the main building, due to having ms. However they did move us after the 1st night to a room nearer the main building, but this is not what u need after a 9hr flight. After the drama of the first night we did have a great holiday, staff friendly, pool,food gd,never waited more than 10 mins for a bus, nice resort would recommend, great family holiday and would return

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suz96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
1.1 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
1.4 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
2.4 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
4.6 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Address: 1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8514 (Formerly Dixie Landings)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#49 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#72 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $221 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2048
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where simple pleasures flourish and Southern hospitality abounds. From the stately white-column mansions of Magnolia Bend to the quaint backwoods cottages of Alligator Bayou, delight in this picturesque Resort hotel that evokes the romance and tranquility of the rural Louisiana Bayou. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Disney Resort
Orlando Port Orleans Resort
Riverside Disney
Disney Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Hotel Disney
Port Orleans Resort Riverside
Port Orleans Resort Disney
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing