We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel - Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
Ranked #98 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed four nights at the Disney Port Orleans resort - Riverside for spring break. This was our first time staying here and we loved it. We thought the room was spacious and nicely decorated. There was enough room for a family of four. We found the beds comfortable but we don't understand why they have these small pillows. Whatever happened to supplying full size pillows. The grounds were beautiful and the staff was very helpful and courteous. We ate several meals at the hotel's food court and thought the food was very good and there was a good selection. We would definetly recommend this resort to a friend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Familyoffourplustwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9,003)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,256 - 5,262 of 9,003 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

An ok hotel for the price but
very small and far from a magical resort
The front desk service very mediocre
and food around the resort very expensive and
cafeteria style. The hotel grounds are
far appart and after an tiring day at the
Park walking long distance is not what you have on your mind
Could use some better and better priced
restaurants

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The grounds are beautiful and the river provides a lovely feel. There is a marina with boats to take you to downtown Disney. The main pool is great, but very busy. There are quieter pools near the rooms. The rooms are clean and updated. Walking around the mansions and through the gardens to your room is wonderful! Regarding the Food Court; While it has the usual Disney fare and prices, Riverside happens to have the only food court where you can get bowls of fruit and berries. And the beer at the pool bar is great! Make your reservations for Boatwrights before you go. It has good food (we liked the prime rib, fish and cornbread). The bus service is good, but not great because of the many stops. Overall it is a lovely place and the staff are wonderful. My one complaint it that the jacuzzi is not supervised (although there are several lifeguards and Kid's Activity directors a few feet away)and there are always young kids jumping in and out (although there is a sign clearly stating they cannot be in the jacuzzi without an adult). I understand parents on vacation may not be noticing their kids doing this, so I think at least one of the staff could walk by occasionally and remind kids to get out. It is not at all relaxing for the adults to use the jacuzzi. That aside, it is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are just as nice and conveniently located as the "water view" rooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SueM722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here in March 2013 for five nights. The hotel is very large but in lovely grounds so we didn't mind the walk to the breakfast area / bus depot in the mornings. We stayed in Arcadian House and had two queen sized beds. The room was nicely furnished with a flat screen TV but the bath was very small and low down compared to most hotels. There was some damage to the curtain fixing. The food court was very large and busy but there was ample choice of food. There were 6 swimming pools in total which was more than enough for the size of the resort. Transportation to the theme parks was excellent and very regular. We also took the boat to Downtown Disney which made a nice break from the theme parks. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Matty17r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here in March 2013. Beautiful property with lots of lush plantings. It is a large resort with many walkways. We enjoyed meandering around in the evening. The main buildings are nicely themed. We thought the food court was good. They had a make-your-own pasta station for dinner that was a large portion - easily shared. They also have a make-your-own salad station that was equally as good. We stayed in the mansion section and the room was nicely themed and had plenty of storage. The bathroom area has a nice curtain that separates it from the bedroom area. We did not use the Disney buses as we had our own car. We did take a boat to Downtown Disney, but we felt it was actually easier to drive. The boat engine was really loud and made the trip a bit unpleasant. The main pool was nice, but unfortunately we were only able to swim one day. We had cold weather during our stay. There are about 4-5 quiet pools around the resort.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank droycro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

The rooms at Port Orleans Riverside are a bit bigger than just your standard room & many have pull out twin trundle beds below one of the beds making it ideal for larger families..But, the rooms are still very small & the beds are small (Full sz) so there's not a lot of room to spread out! The hotel is spread out over some pretty extensive grounds & unfortunately, our section was quite far from where the park busses dropped off which made for some pretty miserable walks back to our room after a long day at the parks.
Food court was decent, sit down restaurant not worth the money. Overall rating: average.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Busymamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I will reitterate a few other reviewer's comments in that boy, did we pick the wrong week! Do not go the weeks before or after Easter! In Canada, these are not big travel weeks, not near Spring Break, so we foolishly didn't check when most of the Eastern US had holidays! yeah, it was busy! I can't say this is Riverside's fault but it didn't help that there are actually 4 separate bus stops at this resort as it's so sprawling so even in non-peak hours, the drive to/ from the Magic Kingdom was 45min-1hr. One morning it took us over an hour to get to Animal Kingdom and we left the resort at 7:30am! With two little kids in tow (ages 3 and 6) and temperatures requiring 4 layers in the morning, this really was a disappointment.
Good stuff about the resort: scenic grounds, well laid out pool/ main house area, convenient bike/ boat rental.
Bad stuff about the resort: long bus commutes to theme parks, dated rooms (we had a princess room) that are small, musty and had some ants in our room too!, restaurant selection and cleanliness were poor, front lobby staff were slow and check-in process seemed unduly complicated given we had actually used the e-Check in in advance.
What I am doing differently next time (if there is a next time): staying on the monorail resorts, going on one of the least busy weeks (apparently there are 4 weeks/ year that are ideal and not too hot), only going for 2-3 days.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torontoana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
1.2 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
1.2 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
4.5 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
2.4 mi away
Disney's Pop Century Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Address: 1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8514 (Formerly Dixie Landings)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#49 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#72 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $232 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2048
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where simple pleasures flourish and Southern hospitality abounds. From the stately white-column mansions of Magnolia Bend to the quaint backwoods cottages of Alligator Bayou, delight in this picturesque Resort hotel that evokes the romance and tranquility of the rural Louisiana Bayou. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Walt Disney Parks & Resorts, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Disney Resort
Orlando Port Orleans Resort
Riverside Disney
Disney Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Hotel Disney
Port Orleans Resort Riverside
Port Orleans Resort Disney
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing