We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (9,126)
Filter reviews
9,128 results
Traveler rating
4,184
3,231
1,082
412
219
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,184
3,231
1,082
412
219
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalligator bayoufrench quarterroyal roommagnolia bendfood courtmain pooloak manordowntown disneytrundle bedthe busmagnolia terracesouth depotacadian housemain buildingquiet pooldixie landingsdisney world
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,483 - 5,488 of 9,128 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was our sixth trip to Disney, but our very first staying on Disney property. We were told that bring immersed in the Disney experience would be incredible and it truly was. We enjoyed every minute from when we decked in until the last minute that we reluctantly had to leave the Disney magic. The property is extremely large, but beautiful, quiet and relaxing. We were assigned to Oak Manor, Building 90, so were just a bridge away from the main building. It was a nice walk to refill our drink mugs several times a day. We also enjoyed the main restaurant, Boatswright, three times. We thought the food was great - especially the corn bread - and our server, JoAnn, made us feel like family. We also tried to enjoy some amenities, such as the arcade, the campfire and the pools. We started in the main pool, but with it being in shade, we enjoyed the quiet pool beside our room better. The laundry facilities were close to our room, which was a plus. We decided to rent a car because we were traveling over a busy season - Thanksgiving. Enjoyed free parking by being a Disney resort guest. Would we return to PO-R? Yes, Yes, Yes!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank Lynnette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Riverside, which used to be known as Dixie Landings, offers many of the typical on-site Disney attractions, but can also be a quiet place to unwind after a busy day in the parks. We first stayed in the 1990's when our children were pre-teens, and have stayed several times since those years. The resort continues to appeal to our desire for a space-within-a-space at Disney World.

The Food Court works very well for families, especially those with young children. The variety of food offerings should meet the needs of all palates. There is also a more formal restaurant that we did not visit as we had reservations at other Disney restaurants as well as off-site restaurants.

The greatest appeal at Riverside is the water. Sprite boats can be rented (we did) and used to travel along the river. This was especially appealing for the youngsters.

The location makes visiting Downtown Disney by water transportation very easy.

Accommodations can support families of five due to the available trundle beds.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cedar58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I was in Disney for a family wedding, and this was the hotel the bride and groom chose for their guests. It was disappointing from beginning to end. The hotel is supposed to mimic a plantation from what I could gather - buildings were spread out. We happened to arrive late evening we got lost on property - twice. The paths are dimly lit and signage is almost non existent. When we inquired about getting a ride in one of the golf carts or having a "cast member" guide us, we were told that wasn't possible. The room was small and needed serious updates. The garbage can in the bathroom appeared to be an old hazardous waste basket, there were stains on the beadspreads, all the fixtures were old, half of the lighbulbs were burned out, the towels were threadbare, and the top lock on the door was broken off. Overall, we made due because we were with family, but I would NEVER stay there again, nor would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone. There are far better places to stay on Disney property for around the same price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Zanne07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Disney's Port Orleans Hotel in Orlando is an appropriately priced, middle class compromise to what could be an enormously expensive experience. The fact that most individuals spend little time in their hotel rooms and most of their time at the theme parks makes it painful to spend hundreds of dollars to stay in a hotel room. However, staying in a Disney resort does provide one with the ability to get to the theme parks earlier than those not staying on site and that permits much easier access to the ordinarily high volume attractions in the parks. Along with Disney's Fast Pass system, this allows one to maximize their experiences.
Rooms are clean, appropriately appointed to theme and have a refrigerator and coffee maker. I believe that Disney has attempted to provide a means for guests with limited incomes to stay in the park in comfort. If they could find a way to discount family tickets for the theme parks, that could bring a visit to Disney within the reach of significantly more middle class families.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the ends tend to have less traffic.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PAAbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Port Orleans Riverside during February 2013 for several nights.

First, the good things. The property is attractive, with a small river that winds around a small island, where the pool is located. The lobby area is nice, with a gift shop (which are everywhere on the Disney property), a small bar, and a nice restaurant. The landscaping was well maintained and provided a nice feel to the resort. There's also the family style cafeteria. The grounds are nice to walk around. For the most part, the transportation works well, with buses that travel most places on the Disney property and back and forth to MCO. Our room was pretty small, but adequate for the two of us, and it was clean and in good condition. The housekeeping responded to one small request we had. We didn't buy that many souvenirs, but the ones we did buy were sent from the shops to the resort for us to pick up so that we didn't have to carry them with us all day.

Now for the not-so-good things. This was our first trip to Disney, so we did not know all the tricks. Whenever we asked a question, we would get odd, and often, rude answers. I realize that there are a lot of Disney pros that know all the tricks of the trade, but we are not one of them. The woman who checked us in was rude, and did not seem interested in explaining things to us. We also got this from one of the guys working in the baggage area. This happened several more times. What ever happened to the friendly, helpful Disney attitude? The internet on our room also did not work. It worked fine in the lobby (which was a different network), but it would not work in our room on a laptop, an iPad, a phone, or a kindle. It finally did work the last night we were there. I did call several times on this. The responses I got were silence (yes - silence), to a promise to fix it (this was the first time I called, and it certainly didn't get done for a couple of days). I got the feeling that they really didn't care too much. So I took my laptop over to the bar and sat there each night. Some of the transportation was confusing, and frankly, wrong. One set of directions said that we could not take a boat from our resort to Downtown Disney, when in fact this was indeed possible. And other stories like this.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank va_trailrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews