We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
Nearby Hotels
$261
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Orlando(Orlando)(Great Value!)
$338
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$148
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Caribe Royale Orlando(Orlando)(Great Value!)
$158
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$172
$134
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$278
$212
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$388
$303
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Disney's Pop Century Resort(Orlando)(Great Value!)
$204
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (9,199)
Filter reviews
9,199 results
Traveler rating
4,217
3,253
1,092
418
219
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,217
3,253
1,092
418
219
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalligator bayoufrench quarterroyal roommagnolia bendfood courtmain pooloak manordowntown disneytrundle bedthe busmagnolia terracesouth depotacadian housemain buildingquiet pooldixie landingsdisney world
Filter
Updating list...
5,585 - 5,590 of 9,199 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2013

If you want a quiet property with alot of pools and a nice variety at the food court go here !

My Dad was from Louisiana so I enjoyed the plantation style decor and just the feel of the old south. Keep in mind this property is HUGE. I requested, (Disney does try to accomodate requestes on reservations) and got the buldings closer to the main pool and dining hall. That is a must because this place is massive. The shuttle buses have 3 stops so getting from the park to your room isn't bad however if you want to walk from the room to the dining hall and back to your room get ready, it is a hike.

I have a 7 year old son, the main pool was awesome for him. Great little water slide and fun pool. The Disney staff put on fun pool games as well. If you want down time by the pool and don't want so much noise there are several "private" type of pools that are quiet and relaxing. Really large pools as well. Laundry rooms are all over as well.

The dining hall is a cafeteria style restaurant making it easier for quick meals. We also ate at the restaurant - it was fine.

Our room was beautiful and housekeeping was fantastic. Any requestes or questions we had during the trip were taken care of by the staff.

The only reason I would not stay here again is because Disney has so many properties to choose from I would want to check out another.

Room Tip: Request a building as close to the dining hall as possible. This is a HUGE property !
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Disney's Port Orleans Riverside is a great hotel for couples or a family. Modestly priced. If you do not like a long walk to the food court pay the extra for a closer room. The resort grounds are huge and if you are far from the food court then your coffee may be cold by the time you return to the room. There are four bus stops to the parks which is good, unless your the last stop, in which case add ten minutes to your bus ride. The rooms are spacious and alsways clean. The cast members are very knowledgable and always helpful. The food court is very clean and the food is good. GET THE MEAL PLAN! It pays for itself and thensome. The pools are very nice and some are secludeded. The main pool is GREAT for the kids and there is a bar right there, which is great for the parents. Overall a great and nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the rooms closest to the food court.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Port Orleans Riverside is an absolutely beautiful resort - the grounds are very impressive, and buildings look great from the outside. Rooms are very small (as are almost all non-suite Disney hotels) - we chose Riverside because they have queen-sized beds in all rooms (most Disney Moderate and lower hotels have double-size), but the room was very cramped, with very little room for luggage. The beds themselves were cheap -- not terribly comfortable. If you are used to sleeping on a high-quality mattress, you may have a little difficulty getting used to these -- I did.

If someone in your party uses the bathroom at night, you should expect that everyone will be awoken when they flush -- extremely loud. Very little space in the actual bathroom area, but adequate room in the sink area (not great, but adequate).

If you don't like walking, you may want to choose a different resort or request rooms nearest the lobby. Our room was about a 7-minute walk (I am a fast walker) from the lobby/dining area. We were not the furthest away -- I would guess you can easily have a 10-minute walk. If you use the Magical Express from the airport, it is great to have your luggage show up in your room, but be aware, you get to haul it all back to the lobby when you leave -- trust me, a half-mile walk towing large suitcases can be tough -- nothing like getting on a plane after a nice sweaty suticase haul... While you may have to pay for the service, I would recommend having Bell Service pick your bags up unless you travel much lighter than my family did.

Dining area was very inefficiently set up. With the Disney Dining Plan being so popular, it seems odd that they have their stations set up the way they are -- you backtrack and cross around multiple times to get the components to your meal plan. Way overcroweded/under served at peak times (and peak times seem to go on very late into the evening). Also, and this is common to all Disney properties, do we really need INSTANT COFFEE???? Is a cup of brewed coffee, even inexpensive stuff, really too much to ask for?

The Disney Transportation system is okay, but the lines, regardless of which park we were at, were always longest for Riverside. On our first night, we waited almost an hour at the Downtown Disney stop (they had stopped boat service due to weather). It was quite frustrating to see multiple half-full busses come by for other resorts while 3 bus-loads of passengers waited at the stop for Riverside. I would have expected much better management of passenger demand by Disney.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We spent 5 nights here at the end of january which was a great time to visit. The weather was in the mid 70's during the day but a jacket was needed when the sun went down. The weekdays at the resort were much less crowded especially in the food court area. The "food court" was much nicer than what i had imagined when thinking about that term. They had everything that you would need for being on the go. The restaurant on site was nice and the food was excellent, but definately take advantage of the dining plan when you plan to attend. The accomodations were average but when you think of attending Disney, consider how much time you'll be spending in your room, which will most likely not be very much. We did not take time to explore the property and I regret that. There was a boat that would take you from the resort to downtown disney, which again, I did not do but wish that i had. Friendly staff and very accomodating...they brought us a toothbrush after midnight because we misplaced one of ours. Would sleep 5 with the fold down bed which most of the resorts can't do. All in all a great place to stay. Try to get close to the dining area to cut down on some of the walking and the shuttles run very frequently so waits were no longer than 10 minutes or so and I would guess that travel time to the parks was about the same time. Enjoy.:)

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the food court to cut down on walking.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at the coranado springs last time and thought we would never stay on Disney again. A number of people talked about how much they liked Port Orleans Riverside and French Quarter. So we gave it a try and loved it. The room was very Disneyified! It was a princess room with a firework display in the head board! The beds and pillows were soft and the maid kept our room well kept and clean for our weeks stay. We got cups to get free soft drinks all week including coffee. The pool with the bar was fun and well manned. When we went it was colder so they pumped in war water. The landscaping was beautiful. Getting around disney was pretty easy. At the hotel you can rent bikes boats and horse ride or take a boat ride to downtown Disney. We found all the staff to be courteous and helpful. Boy do we miss it!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a courtyard or river view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WGRITravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews