We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Comfortable Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
Ranked #90 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Port Orleans Riverside was a comfortable resort at a great rate for Disney. We stayed in the Alligator Bayou, and enjoyed the landscaping and lodging. In my opinion, the size of the rooms were adequate. The shower room was a little cramped, but that was the case at the Animal Kingdom Lodge as well. There is a curtain between the sinks and sleeping area, which was helpful for those waking up before the rest of the family. The room was very clean. There is no elevator to the 2nd floor. It is a huge property, but there is parking around the perimeter, so the walk to our room was much shorter than other, more expensive Disney resorts. The lobby, restaurant, and pool area were enjoyable. You can ride a boat to Downtown Disney, also. The service throughout Port Orleans was very good. The quick-service restaurant had good food with some healthy choices. We went during the Christmas holidays, and the restaurant was packed. I never felt that the rest of the resort was overcrowded though. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,792
    2,920
    968
    352
    184
See reviews for
5,447
1,273
78
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schererville, IN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We returned from another wonderful stay at Disney World last week. We really enjoyed Port Orleans - Riverside (or as I still like to call it, Dixie Landings). While the rooms are modest, this property is one of our favorites of all of Disney's resorts. Bus rides are frequent and convenient and the boat ride to Downtown Disney is a favorite for our kids. Good selection of treats and eats in both the food court and the restaurant. It's a great deal for families.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SRV518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, Idaho
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great Disney property. Nothing exceptional; you are paying for location, location, location! Given the sheer size of WDW, it is worth every penny. You feel you are a very pampered guest; you also feel privileged because you are staying on-site. We would not stay anywhere else but an on-site Disney property. With other hotels, if you need a break, you walk to your car, drive out of the park, arrive at your hotel 20-30 minutes later. With a Disney property, your hotel is inside the park. Tremendous perk!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda8849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo,NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

On our last trip to Disney World we stayed at Disneys Port Orleans Riversie Resort. We were in Alligator Alley. We had requested 3 rooms on the first floor all next to one another. When we arrived, we were given 3 rooms on the second door with 2 clone ting and the third room separated by a strangers room. The rooms were decorated very rustic and dark. Since the rooms have a pull down bed, there are only 2 drawers for your clothes. The room works well for a family of 5 if one is a smaller child. As a senior couple, the room was too dark and rustic looking forums. The grounds were attractive in a bayou appearance. Main pool was not very conveniately located. Crowded dining room, but nice boat service to Downtown Disney.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paweibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleroi, PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I and our two boys stayed in POR the last week of Sept 2012. What an awesome resort. I was hoping we would be placed in the Magnolia Bend section but after we checked in, I was glad we were in the Alligator Bayou. We had a garden view which to be honest, was not that great. Basically just trees and bushes. We were close to the main pool, just over a bridge, close to a private pool, and close to the parking lot and bus depot. Our room had two queen beds and the murphy bed, which my 5 yr old just adored. Our room had a small fridge, a coffee pot, and a small table w/ two chairs. The room was okay size for the 4 of us, but I think it would be cramped w/ 4 adults. We had stayed at the Fairfield Inn prior to our checking in here and the room and bathroom were actually larger.
In the room was a curtain to separate the sink and sleeping area which made it nice since I would be the one to get up first to get ready in the morning. The toilet and tub/shower area was very small. You almost had to turn sideways to close the door.
Our housekeeping staff did not make anything special w/ our towels as others have spoken of, but my boys did not miss it. The room was always clean w/ Mickey shampoo and soap stocked everyday. (A nice souvenir for home.)
The restuarant at the hotel was a food court which had a bakery, a deli, a grill which served burgers, chicken and fish,and a pizza area which also had a made to order pasta bar. I was impressed with the overall taste especially since it came from a food court. My older son and I loved the pasta bar. The one night I ordered shrimp pesto. Awesome. The order is actually large enough to share. I was never able to eat it all and I love pasta.
We never ate at the sit down restaurant. My children weren't too fond of the menu. Very Louisana stye foods.
We took the boat one night to downtown, which was a very enjoyable ride. We missed it coming back and used the bus to return. This was our only time we used the bus service since we had a rental car. I did notice that other resorts seemed to have their buses come on a more frequent cycle, but once the bus did arrive, it was a very smooth ride and met some lovely people on the bus from Wisconsin.
Our last time at Disney we rented a condo off property and because of this resort, we will never stay off property again. All the special benefits you receive from staying on property are well worth it. We did have the free dining package w/ this stay and it was so nice not to have to worry about carrying the extra cash to pay for meals. But w/ the dining plan, you do have to make reservations for all your meals. Some days you don't want to be on a schedule but w/ the dining plan you need to be.
We cannot wait for our next return to Disney and we would probably stay at this resort again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dmmaglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
153 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

A very nice atmosphere... it is as if you were in old times... ubeatable... at night there is a bar and also a restaurant as alternatives for the food court... and the price is moderate... If you are looking for something cozier and less crowded than the economy hotels, this is the place to stay... the difference in price is worth while

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreekBrazilianfem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This resort is beautiful! At first my pessimism started in when we walked and walked to find our room late in the evening. By dawn, we realized we had been walked to furthest way to our room. We chose "water" view only to find out it was no where near water. It turned out we were given the upgrade given their computer systems were down. Our "gift" didn't arrive until a couple of hours later. I advise to review the maps of the bridge locations before arrival.

The buses were punctual, once we got to the stop to find out our bus had just left. We only waited for about 10-15 min for the next one.

The food court was convenient, but pricey. Next time, we will get a food plan for half of our group and share. The food plan comes with desert, the brownies were larger than the cheeseburgers, be careful not to overindulge. It still took an hour with the lines and to eat our meal. The kids meals come with a free drink, food plan or not, we took the extra orange juices to our rooms. The kids never asked for fountain drinks.

I wish we would have had more time. By the time we came home from the parks, we were too exhausted and cold to venture out. Before we boarded the airplane, we had an hour to explore. The pool is awesome, there were several hammocks, and an adorable recreational fire area for marshmallows. It's a very nice resort for walking and running, the kids enjoyed burning off the energy.

Advice: Take time to map out the resort ahead of time for bridge locations, explore the area early in the visit. Don't waste time for breakfast, eat at the parks after completing the major rides before the crowds arrive. We ate at the parks between 10 and 11 am, no lines. The kids weren't hungry before 3pm.

One more thing: Make a reservation for the Magical Express by calling before you arrive. There is a desk at the airport but save yourself the time there may be a long line, Bradley is by far the best driver, I've read about him, he's well worth waiting for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CortneyIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
1.1 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
1.5 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
4.5 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
2.3 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Property: Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
Address: 1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8514 (Formerly Dixie Landings)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#49 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#72 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2048
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where simple pleasures flourish and Southern hospitality abounds. From the stately white-column mansions of Magnolia Bend to the quaint backwoods cottages of Alligator Bayou, delight in this picturesque Resort hotel that evokes the romance and tranquility of the rural Louisiana Bayou. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Disney Resort
Orlando Port Orleans Resort
Riverside Disney
Disney Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Hotel Disney
Port Orleans Resort Riverside
Port Orleans Resort Disney
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing