We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
Ranked #93 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our family stayed at Port Orleans Riverside in December 2012 for 10 nights. We loved this hotel with it's fantastic food court and pool area. The only problem with this hotel is the grounds are very large and it was a 10 walk to the main entrance/food court. The hotel does have 4 bus stops so you can catch the bus to the Disney world parks and don't you don't have to walk back to the main lobby. There is a sit down restaurant but we never tried it.
The bar has entertainment nightly and on select nights Yee Hae Bob plays.He is very entertaining and really worth seeing.
The resort also has many pools. We had a small heated pool just outside our garden view room. My kids 17 and 15 really enjoyed this resort and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,810)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,357 - 5,363 of 8,810 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great location. Food court was good. Staff were fun and friendly. LOVED the relaxing boat ride to downtown Disney in the evenings! Bus service was great as well. Room was well decorated in Magnolia Bend and the housekeeping was excellent. Very romantic to walk around the beautiful trails in the evening. I would highly recommend this resort to adult couples!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We've been to Disney several times and have always stayed at deluxe Disney properties. This time after speaking to a travel agent we decided to save some money and stay at Port Orleans Riverside and so glad we did. This was our favorite property so far! It was everything we were promised. New renovated rooms and our room was close to the main lobby area. Our only request was to have connecting rooms and even though they couldn't guarantee that we got what we had requested. Our family of six was very comfortable with the 2 rooms.

The quick service dining hall was okay. The resort was at full capacity so I can't complain, but it was very crowded for breakfast. We didn't go till 10 am each day, so I can only imagine how busy it must have been earlier. The breakfast meals were mediocre at best.

The table service restaurant was awesome! My son and I both had the beef medallions and it was cooked perfectly and delicious!

The resort is beautiful, well maintained, and there is lots to do. I wish we would have spent a day at our resort just relaxing by the pool, but you know when you are in Disney there is just so much to do!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at POR Jan 2-7, 2013. We have stayed here prior to the renovation with the trundle bed near the floor which we never used. We LOVE the new murphy bed and my 8yr old niece actually slept by herself (well, for a couple of nights)! There are less storage space as others have mentioned but we did ok living out of our suite cases for 5 nights.

I do prefer the French Quarter as it is a smaller resort (less walking) and we like the food choices in the food court better.

Port Orleans is our favourite moderate resort!

Room Tip: Request a specific building # (near foodcourt, bus stop, etc). Call 3-5 days prior to arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank minnie55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Disney World can be a very overwhelming place. It's huge, the theme parks require a lot of energy and planning to get the best out of them, and it can be a little, (how shall I phrase this?), 'in your face' perhaps. However my wife and I may have discovered the perfect resort to enable you to enjoy a vacation at Disney World and yet feel that you have escaped somewhere else.

Port Orleans Riverside is the larger cousin to the French Quarter resort and at 2000 rooms it's a whopper. However the layout and construction means it never feels overwhelming. The main buildings contain the lobby, (much more elegant than you might expect), a general store, a cocktail bar and lounge and two eating places - a food court and a table-service restaurant, and are arranged around a riverside wharf. The theming takes you back to the Mississippi, here called the 'Sassagoula River' and the whole ambiance is laid back and relaxed. The accommodation is spread across a huge area and divided into two styles of block - Mansions and more rustic lodges. The rooms are of the same specification in each - it's just the decor that varies, both inside and out.
My wife and I had elected to stay in one of the lodges of Alligator Bayou and we loved it. The lodges are spread across a large area, but the landscaping is such that you never really see more than one or two at once and so it feels far more intimate than it is. The general landscaping is lush, green and amazingly beautiful - it's one of the most physically attractive resorts we have ever stayed at, anywhere. One tip would be to pay the modest up-charge to book a 'preferred location' lodge, (one of 4 closest to the main buildings). This meant we had a 2 minute walk to the food court whereas the lodges at the furthest extremes of the site would face a walk of 10 minutes. Great when you are not in a hurry and the weather is good - not so great if it rains....
The rooms were of a decent size and reasonably equipped and were kept clean by 'mouse-keeping' but honestly this resort is not about the rooms - it's all about the landscaping. If you are familiar with the UK the closest I can liken it to is a CentreParcs resort. It has that same traffic-free, wooded, green, quiet feel to it. Just walking around the grounds one morning with the autumn sunlight reflecting in the waters was sensational. It really is an escape from the maelstrom of the parks and it is a genuinely relaxing environment.
Transportation links were good and regular and there were a good number of nice swimming pools amongst the lodges, as well as the big resort pool.
We would happily stay again and thoroughly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Pay for a preferred location room. It will save you a lot of walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank brynmelyndavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Visited this resort as a party of five adults, sharing two rooms, with payment for a third rollaway bed in one of the rooms. When we arrived following a long international flight, we were told they don't have rollaways despite having paid for this! Told hotel full, no other room available and nothing they could do! They suggested third adult slept on a fold down child's Murphy bed, or take the small mattress of this and put on floor!!!

We ended up sleeping on the Murphy taking shots each at this, not the best way for a Disney Resort hotel to treat ladies all in their sixties! I was so disappointed in a Disney hotel, had pre insult stayed out with Disney with much superior accommodation. The dining area could only be described as similar to a works canteen, but more chaotic and overpriced.

I would have reservations about booking this hotel again

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank glamerousgran08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The grounds of the hotel are vast and very beautiful. Being Disney, there are details everywhere. The main pool and side pools are very well kept as well. Unfortunatly, the rooms were not as well appointed. I did not like the curtain for the bathroom area. Plus the bed boards were very uncomfortable. Also, be aware that this property is HUGE. It can take a good 15 minutes to get to your room from the lobby depending on where you are. Lots of walking.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dkoenig101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
1.2 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
1.2 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
2.4 mi away
Disney's Pop Century Resort
4.5 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Address: 1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8514 (Formerly Dixie Landings)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#49 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#72 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $225 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2048
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where simple pleasures flourish and Southern hospitality abounds. From the stately white-column mansions of Magnolia Bend to the quaint backwoods cottages of Alligator Bayou, delight in this picturesque Resort hotel that evokes the romance and tranquility of the rural Louisiana Bayou. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone and TripOnline SA so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Disney Resort
Orlando Port Orleans Resort
Riverside Disney
Disney Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Hotel Disney
Port Orleans Resort Riverside
Port Orleans Resort Disney
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing