We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time stay, was not dissapointed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
Ranked #90 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First time stay, was not dissapointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was our fist time stay at Port Orleans Riverside and our 3rd Disney resort stay. The rooms were recently upgraded so it was nice and clean. We utilized the pull down bed which is a great feature. The pool/dining can be a walk, but I enjoyed it. Ask for building 14 if you want to be a little closer. The dining can be crowded in the morning for breakfast. The "quick service" meals are very good here. We liked the overall theme and the quick access to our car/parking. The large pool is nice with a slide and "waterfalls". There are also "quiet" pools in between the buildings, they are nice as well. The housekeeping did a great job and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Alligator Bayou building 14 is the closest to large pool and quick service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,792
    2,920
    968
    352
    184
See reviews for
5,447
1,273
78
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobe Sound
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

What a nice vacation. All the Disney Magic incuded in our hotel. Not a top of the line resort but very nice and gets the Disney stamp of approval.

4 Stars due to the quality of the food -- Food was typical cafeteria-like and way too expensive. We brought our own food, so that wasn't much of a problem--save money folks, run to the supermarket for better and more tasty food!

Pool was great, they had a nice water slide appropriate for my 4 year old. Also, movies on the lawn, a playground, and a bonfire where they provide marshmallows... Enough to keep my daughter occupied whie I was able to relax an feel safe.

We took the boat to Downtown Disney which was great, even though it took a long time. Enjoyed the trip without once getting in the car.

Room Tip: Preferred Room really help cut down the walking time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SH_Hobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Princess rooms are wonderful. Our daughters loved them. Very well decorated. I would go back to them in a heartbeat. Port Orleans is a great resort. I have always liked staying there, think I will go for the princess rooms here everytime. Food court is good too. One of the better resorts on property and we have stayed in all but 2 of Disney resorts. Beds and showers were better than beach club.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank everm2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waller, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

My family of four and I spent 10 days at the Port Orleans Riverside and I have to say that it has become one of our favorites. The tree covered walkways kept any walk cool and relaxing, The rooms in Alligator Bayou are about the size of most rooms at Disney and though we spend very little awake time in a room it was adequate for our needs. On any vacation you can find faults and run into situations that make you wonder if you made the right choice of hotels or destinations. We enjoyed our stay, the food was good and the amenities such as the boat rides to Downtown Disney were a pleasant respite from the normal transportation. Our room was near a Bus Depot and I have to say we never waited more than fifteen minutes for a bus so that in itself was stress free. The staff was very friendly and helpful as we checked in early and they offered accommodations that were available so we could get on with our vacation. I would recommend Port Orleans to anyone who wants to have a nice relaxing place to go back to after a long day at the parks. With the gift shop available nearby you can get anything you may have missed earlier right there at your resort. We'll be back in 2013 and I think we've found a resort we can come back to and be happy.

Room Tip: Rooms with a water view can be poolside, riverside or near the ponds. Try to get a poolside room, Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jujee1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Let me preface this review by saying that we has previously only stayed at Disney deluxe hotels (Contemporary and Wilderness Lodge). First, check in was fast, pleasant and easy. The lobby was clean and very nice. We paid for a preferred water view room. That is not what we got by my definition. A room overlooking half the parking lot and half the pool does not cut it. We quickly called the front desk and were told there were no other rooms available but they would compensate us for the difference. The rooms are tiny and there were only three in our party. There is no real closet just a "rack" in the sink area. We were towards the back of the property so it was quiet. We did not mind the walk to the dining room. Our first day, they did not replenish the shampoo, soap,etc. A quick call to the front desk remedied this, but not what I expect at a Disney hotel. We loved the fireworks above the bed. We had no trouble with the busses at the resort but a different story at the parks. The food was good and we were on the dining plan (which I think was worth every penny). Overall not a bad place, but we will not be staying there on future visits.

Room Tip: Confirm room location before leaving front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank crofton2vegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple, Ontario
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I did quite a bit of research on hotels in disney and after reading alot of reviews i decided to book this hotel for our first disney vacation. Travelled with my husband and 5 yr old and 8 month old and we stayed in the Mangolia Bend section. Our room was close to the bus stop and close to the main pool and main lobby area, in all i think our room was in a great location. The room itself was ok, would have been nice to have some "disney" character theme but i knew that this would be the case as i was researching this hotel. The grounds are beautiful and the staff are really friendly. I have to say that the food court was one of the best places for a meal as it gave a large selection of foods to choose from. The boat ride to downtown disney was awesome, definitely something to go on at least once while staying at the resort. If you are looking for a decent place and not looking to spend a huge fortune, i would suggest staying at this hotel. (if you can take advantage of the free meal plan promo its a bonus).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank passion4travelling78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglasville, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were pleasently surprised with the updated Alligator Bayou rooms! The room was not huge, but had just enough room for our family of 5. They were clean and refreshing at the end of a long, hot day at the parks. The drop down bed was super comfortable, as were the spacious queen size beds! Our room was located near a bus stop and a leisure pool, which the kids enjoyed!

The quick service restaurant had great food, especially the make your own pasta bar!

The kids had a blast at the arcade, which is resonably priced(considering it is Disney).

The ferry boat to Downtown Disney was convenient and pleasant.

The main pool was super fun, especially the slide!

I would highly recommend this resot to a family of 5, especially if you are on a tight budget and want to stay on Disney Property.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hjstearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
1.1 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
1.5 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
4.5 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
2.3 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Property: Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
Address: 1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8514 (Formerly Dixie Landings)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#49 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#72 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2048
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where simple pleasures flourish and Southern hospitality abounds. From the stately white-column mansions of Magnolia Bend to the quaint backwoods cottages of Alligator Bayou, delight in this picturesque Resort hotel that evokes the romance and tranquility of the rural Louisiana Bayou. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Disney Resort
Orlando Port Orleans Resort
Riverside Disney
Disney Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Hotel Disney
Port Orleans Resort Riverside
Port Orleans Resort Disney
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing