We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and excelent staff at front desk!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando
Ranked #153 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Good hotel and excelent staff at front desk!”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

very well located, front desk Dores very very gentle and friendly, clean hotel, breakfast very good!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogerio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
I will pass your comments to Doris - thanks for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    393
    135
    36
    31
See reviews for
401
231
39
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Powell OH USA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Front desk check in very nice and quick. Tickets for park available in lobby. Rooms are big for our family of five. Two doubles and sofa bed. Comfy beds but small. Clean. Close to park but still need to drive.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nessa_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you for the quick review. Our lobby desk is operated by Universal Studios and you can also purchase tickets to Sea World, Aquatica and Wet 'n Wild.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

It was clean and pretty quiet which is always good. If your going to Universal it is only a few min. down the street from it and they have a shuttle bus that does have scheduled times but if you miss the return bus it is only 6.00 for the cab ride back which is still cheaper than parking in Universal and less of a pain in the butt. Nice breakfast with a good variety of food for the whole family which is a plus.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 654sandras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you for the review. Glad to hear you were able to take advantage of the free shuttle to Universal and that the whole family enjoyed the breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

let me start with the amenities, they were fine, clean, comfortable, nice view, fridge in the room,
very nice. Everytime I called the front desk for something I was treated rudely and like an idiot!
There was a very sarcastic, rude woman I kept getting. I think her name was Leah. When I was on the wrong shuttle coming back from the parks, exhausted with 2 kids, I called the hotel for help because the guy was taking us right back to where we got on, the front desk lady said, "What do you want from me, Universal provides the shuttle!", When I called the next morning for a luggage cart, I told her I would need it within the next hour, She said"call when you need it",
I hung up, then called right back to say OK, I need it, the phone rang at least 100 times, when she picked it up, I told here I needed the cart, she said "come down and get it"
I'll never stay there again, I may never even go to Universal again, they kind of ruined the whole thing for me.

Room Tip: I would not stay there again, even if they gave me a free room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
This is not the guest service we strive to deliver. I apologize that you were treated in this manner. I would be very intersted in getting a little more information from you so I can address this issue with the correct agent. Please feel free to give me a call at 407 363 1333.
Again I do apologize and I look forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for four days to visit our daughter who lives in Orlando. We have stayed at many HI Express properties and this is not one of our favorites.

The property is convenient to Universal and not far from Disney, but our sheets were old, the sink and bathroom were very small, and many rooms lack microwaves and refrigerators. An exercise room is available next door at the Comfort Suites (which actually seems like a nicer building).

Breakfast is the typical HIE set of offerings, but the crowd (granted, it was between Christmas and New Years, an extremely busy period), made it impossible to enjoy the meal.

Staff was friendly.

All in all...good location, fair price, nothing inspiring.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garagestudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runaway Bay, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed for 3 days had fabulous time, room was unbelievable, the resturant attached to the hotel was fab, the breakfast was good but the evening meals were great.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a suite, truelly worth it if you are staying for an extended period
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seiira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houlton, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Stayed 2 nights at the Holiday Inn Express in Dec. Location was good as we didn't go to Disney. The rooms were clean, but didn't have a tub, only a shower. The only issue was our TV didn't work when we got there. Tried plugging it into a couple different outlets before it would work. It was an old TV, but they were replacing it when we checked out with a new flat screen. Breakfast was large. The pancakes are a good feature, but stay away from the premade omelets...not good. But there were plenty of other offerings to make up for it. Pool and pool area is very small.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Webster_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Florida Center
Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn
#55 of 338 in Orlando
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando
Address: 5605 Major Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-7960 (Formerly Sleep Inn & Suites @ Univ Studios)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Business Hotel in Orlando
#155 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando 2.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Closest Holiday Inn Express Hotel to Universal Orlando Just steps away from Universal Studios and 10 minutes from the Orlando Convention Center, our central Orlando hotel offers both comfort and convenience. If you are looking for lodging near Orlando theme parks, look no further than our charming Orlando hotel, conveniently located at the intersection of Florida s Turnpike and I-4. Easy access to popular Orlando attractions like Walt Disney World Resort and SeaWorld Orlando and Aquatica. Cruise International Drive, also known as I-Drive , for the best shopping, restaurants and entertainment in Orlando. Prime Outlets, Festival Bay, and Mall at Millenia are all five minutes away. Also, we are only 15 minutes away from downtown Orlando. During your Orlando business trip, you will be impressed with the accommodations our Orlando hotel provides. Our Universal hotel is conveniently located near the Orlando/Orange County Convention Center and is the perfect place to stay during your visit to Orlando, FL. While vacationing in Orlando, enjoy several hotel amenities including free high-speed Internet access, pool heated (seasonally) and hot breakfast buffet. Book your reservation today and enjoy our great Orlando hotel deals and rates. Must be 21 years of age with valid credit card at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Universal Studios Orlando
Holiday Inn Express Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing