We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it! Clean, great pool. I always stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Ranked #45 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
US
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Love it! Clean, great pool. I always stay here!”
Reviewed August 19, 2009

I have stayed here many times and will continue to do so! Very comfortable.

Pros:
- Clean!
- Large room, comfy beds
- PERFECT location
- Fabulous pool area with slide

Cons:
- a little noisy. The family next to us was crazy! They would play CD's so loud and yell at the kids all night. Oh well =) Hasn't happened before.

You can walk to Universal, City Walk, and Islands of Adventure all within 5-7 minutes. Amazing pool area. If you want a poolside snack, I suggest ordering a kids meal off the menu. It's big enough and only $5.00. Great little bar inside the hotel with a balcony. Good shop with some trendy things (L.a.m.b., Edun, ect...) I tried the room service late one night and it was a huge amount of food and they got my special requests right. =) Great service.

It's fun to go down to CityWalk at night as you can just walk (or stumble) back safely. There is a kareoke place with a stage and back-up singers and everything. It was really fun after a few drinks. Also Bob Marley's is nice and of course Margaritaville. There is also a Starbucks.

Wait for a bargain then book right away! (FL residents get really great deals...)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chihuahua_lover23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,056
    2,157
    752
    344
    201
See reviews for
5,578
1,272
62
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

A few tips:

If you are going to either Universal park, be sure to get room keys for each member of your group...up to five. These keys allow you to use the Express Pass lane on many of the rides and attractions.

If you are disabled, you might want to rent an electric scooter (ECV) from the hotel, this way you can use it to get back and forth to the parks as well as around the City Walk area. You can enter rides and attractions through the Express Pass lane in the parks.

When you eat in "The Kitchen" restaurant, be sure to get a Parking Pass to save yourself the cost of the daily parking fee! The wait staff is very friendly and helpful!

The swimming pool is wonderful!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tchrmom93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2009

I travel to Orlando Florida most years with my family for the theme parks, this has got to be the best hotel. Close to the parks, you get a free express pass with your room card, there is a fun atmostphere and the staff are so friendly and helpful! definately worth the price you pay i would recommend to anyone going for a fun family holiday.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

We took a family trip to Universal Orlando/Buena Vista for 4th of July weekend. I believe we checked into Hard Rock on the 5th, As we were at the Orlando Marriott World Center Resort July 3rd & 4th (Also did review for World Center)

anyway, I found the hard rock to be awesome, the music décor was rockin, haha.
The lobby has a museum type feel to it.
Bad [--] ice cream shop on site.
Could see fire works from pool.
It is literally a 1 min walk down a privet path to City Walk/Parks.

Recommended Food:
-Hard Rock Café
-NASCAR Café
-Wimpy’s Hamburgers (Located In IOA - Popeye Theme)
-Mythos Restaurant (Located In IOA - Full Service - Amazing Building)

This Hotel is more for Families with teens & Young Adults, Deff not for Grandma & Gramps.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We just got back from a seven night stay and were quite pleased. Yeah, there's a few things that could have been better, but all in all, a great experience. Our biggest positive experience was staying on the 7th floor and having access to the Club. We traveled with three children, two of whom are teenagers, and found it totally worth our money. We all had breakfast each morning (a huge selection of a continental breakfast). Every day, all day the club was open for sodas and waters (a huge savings for us). We grabbed a few waters each morning before going out to the parks. From noontime on there were granola bars and small bags of salty snacks. The evening hors douvres were the best...very heary appetizers and a nice seleciton of beer and wine for two hours. Late night dessert was good too. I would be remiss if I didn't mention the wonderrful staff in the Club Level lounge....they go out of their way to please. Totally a money saver if you have kids who like to eat!! Our biggest complaint was housekeeping. We had to get demanding an yell a little bit to get them to come at a decent time. The first two nights housekeeping didn't get there til 7pm. We were waiting for towels to take a second shower, and had to go get them ourselves...very frustrating. The other complaint was the price of the drinks. Mixed drinks at the pool START AT $11...just crazy. I do have to say that management was fantastic when approched with a problem, though. We had the unfortuate situation of being next door to a group of young men in a band, and when they came in at 2:30 am, and decided to talk and play music until 4:45 security was great, and acted immediately the two times I called them. And when we let hotel mgmt know how unsatisfied we were with housekeeping, we were given complimentary breakfast tickets to breakfast in the kitchen (Fantastic restaraunt). Also, we did feel that $9.95/day for internet access was steep (although it is free from the lobby) Don't hesitate to stay here!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonCin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2009

I stayed here with my 13 yr old daughter as a trendy place for her to experience. I found the reception staff not very welcoming, certainly not compared to other hotels I have stayed in in USA. Our room was ok but nothing special, not very 5* but not bad either. The main problems I had with it were it seemed "agadoo-ish" (think cheap holiday in Spain with stupid pool games and a bit club 18-30) The pool was very crowded and they had "singers" which I have to say were absolutely terrible. I'm all for loud music when it's good but when it sounds like a cat being strangled I'd rather pass!! We also had problems with our room which was noisy for other reasons, dogs in nearby rooms barking, "funny" people knocking on our door for a "joke" @ 1am etc. All in all I found it awful. That said when I complained to the tour operator and asked to move the hotel manager was very accommodating and offered us a room change but by that time we'd had eneough. We moved to the Portofino which was fantasic and much much better, we had a room upgrade for our inconvenience (they are both part of the Lowes group) and a lovely stay there. Top food, lovely room and generally a relaxed feel after a day at the parks. Potofino is in a different league to the hard rock and so say both of us!!!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lola21London_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

If you plan to go to Universal Studios or Islands of Adventure, stay at one of the 3 onsite hotels. Park and Citywalk access is amazing. You can walk to Universal in 5 minutes from the Hard Rock.

The resort is big but easy to navigate. Check in is great -- my kids each got an inflatable guitar.

The room was average-sized but nicely furnished, clean and had a good vibe to it.

We only ate at the grab and go place in the hotel pool level. That worked for breakfast ice cream.

The pool and its slide are great. It's not deep anywhere, but it's warm, big and relaxing, with one side covered in sand, the other near the outside bar/restaurant.

I wish self-parking was free but that's my only complaint.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markrotoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#24 of 337 in Orlando
4,200 reviews
Floridays Resort Orlando
#21 of 337 in Orlando
7,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Property: Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Address: 5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-7834
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#30 Family Hotel in Orlando
#34 Green Hotel in Orlando
#39 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#40 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a rock star and savor the perks of rock 'n' roll royalty with impeccable accommodations, laid-back luxurious style and show-stopping service. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Hard Rock Hotel is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Orlando
Hotel Hard Rock
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Orlando
Hard Rock Cafe Hotel Orlando
Universal Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing