We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Stay at Hard Rock Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Ranked #37 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 4, 2009

My family and I stayed at this hotel in January 2009. The staff was friendly, the ice cream place was yummy, and the restaurant was good. It was fully booked when we were there so we could not get a room with the best view possible, but our room was pretty nice. The hotel is right by Universal Studios so that was great..we only had to walk 5 minutes to get there. The fast passes given by the hotel is GREAT-we were able to skip so many lines and without that fast pass, our trip would have been terrible. The fast pass really was AMAZING. The only problem was that the hard rock advertises that you get priority seating in some of the restaurants in city walk, but the restauraunts told us that this is not true. The pool was nice too.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ttenil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9,292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,786 - 7,792 of 9,292 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2009

I stayed at the Hard Rock Jan 2nd and 3rd. If you have stayed at Disney Deluxe resorts dont even bother staying here. The hotel is not worth the money per night and the staff is not trained properly.
It was great being close to the parks but compared to Disney there is no comparison.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank floridadisneyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2009

Stayed 12/29/08 - 12/31/08. Club Level ! Traveled with young children - with 5 in the room total, it was tight but doable.
Concierge staff were fabulous, entertained the kids, movies by the pool, The Kitchen Restaurant - Awesome food & staff. Express Pass to avoid the lines at the parks - major draw and worth every penny! Enjoyed the continental breakfast, snacks, drinks, lite dinner, drinks in the Club Level. Check-In was slow, room not ready upon check in. Staff were friendly. Gift shop sells exclusive limited ed. t-shirts of classic rockers starting at $70 each. Recession? Poor Economy? Let me tell you, it was packed, the hotel and the parks - and even the cabanas were rented out. We had a blast - great pool, also BeachClub Restaurant is excellent too. Our request for "early" housekeeping service was not granted. Rooms were cleaned in late afternoon (like between 3-5pm) ...during my little kids naps. They give tours of the hotel and all its "displays". Overall it is still a family favorite!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank kjlicht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2009

2 night stay had a great time. We arrived and were lucky the room was ready at 12:00pm. Poolview only because when we booked nothing else available. Pool view not needed. We were only in the room to sleep and change as we were out and about the rest of the time. Had the best sleep at this hotel as the heating system was very quiet which means a lot to a light sleeper. Room was nice with 2 Queens and outside sink. The best part is the fron of the line to all the rides which was worth every penny. The buffet breakfast was also great with 1/2 price for 12 and under. The pool area very nice but expensive drinks. Nice place to stay. Also nice to go back to the parks at night.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lynz001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2008

We stayed at the Hard Rock for the first time. We've always stayed on Disney Property at the Boardwalk or Contemporary. We've always had an ok time, but as of late felt like the staff was just going through the motions. Well... they'll never see us again over there!! The Hard Rock hotel is a blast! Besides the fact that you get to skip the lines at the parks and hear cool music everywhere you go in the hotel (including under the water in the pool!!). You're also surrounded by a bunch of awesome music memorabilla and taken care of by a staff that actually seems to enjoy their jobs! Everyone treats you like you're a guest staying at their house! "The kitchen" restaurant in the hotel is great and has amazing meatloaf and callamari! We also had a blast just hanging around and talking to the staff!! The bellhops are awesome and are really down to earth, they treated us like family! The bell captain nick even went as far as to help us plan out our trip to maximize the time we spent there!

Kudos Hard Rock!!! Maybe Disney should start letting their staff grow mohawks and have piercings, then maybe they'd enjoy their jobs a little more!

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NYYankeeGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2008

This is our 4-5th time at the Hard Rock and we've never been disappointed! Sure it's pricey, but the service has been great each time. It's our favorite hotel in Orlando, especially when we stay with our friends, the Doc and his family.

Ate at the Kitchen every morning and the food was excellent. The service was outstanding, every time.

The express pass feature with your room key is fantastic. It wasn't very crowded when we went, but we did not wait for longer than a minute on the rides that were crowded.

All in all, a great stay. Recession-Shmession, stimulate the economy! Stay at the Hard Rock!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheDoorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2008

I left my original hotel due to lack of customer service and called the Hard Rock Hotel directly seeking a 1 night stay on Dec 28. The reservation specialist was very helpful and understanding and she gave me specific details as to what was available in such short notice. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are nicely decorated. With the quality service I received the price was worth it. I've learned my lesson -- I will never sacrifice service for price anymore. My family enjoyed our 1 night stay at Hard Rock more than the 6 other nights at another resort.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nevisisforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,530 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#27 of 340 in Orlando
4,679 reviews
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Address: 5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-7834
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#30 Family Hotel in Orlando
#32 Green Hotel in Orlando
#39 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#40 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $293 - $637 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a rock star and savor the perks of rock 'n' roll royalty with impeccable accommodations, laid-back luxurious style and show-stopping service. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Hard Rock Hotel is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Orlando
Hotel Hard Rock
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Orlando
Hard Rock Cafe Hotel Orlando
Universal Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing