We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good but Slipping?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Ranked #39 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersBronze level
monroeville,nj
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good but Slipping?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Stayed here from August 28th to Sept 2nd 2014 on Club level. Staff very friendly and attentive.
It's still very convenient having food and drink available but the variety but was as good as in the past. Every morning it was oatmeal,hard boiled eggs,pastries, and fruit. We used to get waffles,scrambled eggs with some protein and a nicer variety of breakfast items. Maybe I'm just nit-picking because overall the place is great. Rooms always cleaned and nicely made. Rooms very quiet at night; comfortable beds. They do have however some sort of motion sensor that turns off the A/C if the room is unoccupied for a length of time. We would come back at night and the room would not be cool. Again nit-picking. Pool area nice and maintained. We would come back to Hard Rock.

Room Tip: club level
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxbald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Great to see you are looking forward to coming back to Hard Rock soon! Thank you for the suggestions on the items you would like to see in our Rock Royalty lounge. I have shared your feedback with our Concerige team, as we are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,289
    1,925
    653
    287
    155
See reviews for
4,757
1,047
53
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We stayed at the Hard Rock Hotel in a King Room on the 7th Floor Club Level without the theme park included. We were going to meet our son & his family at the hotel but unfortunately they were sick with the flu. The staff was wonderful assisting with anything we needed. The rooms were large, quiet & very comfortable. We stayed one night after our cruise & after check out we stayed by the pool until the late afternoon when we departed.

Room Tip: We have stayed at this hotel previously so we have pool & park facing rooms & this last visi...
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel is environmentally friendly packages. We would hang our towels on the racks if we didn't want them washed & the sheets are changed every 2 to 3 days if a person tells them. The poolside bar & eating restaurant has everything a person needs. I highly recommend.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SOCal71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
When you stay on our exclusive Rock Royalty level you have a dedicated team of seasoned concierges to handle your every need. True rock star luxury,. Thank you for the perfect five-star review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

You cannot beat the location of this hotel. Right in the middle of everything at Universal Studios. We arrived to find that our room was ready instantly, and was very clean and comfortable. Front of the line passes were amazing, we didn't queue longer than an hour. Pool area is unbeatable, better than any at Disney. Would completely recommend

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinead S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Stayed for seven nights excellent location good water taxis never waited no more than five minutes very clean rooms and hotel food good but a little expensive drinks very expensive watch out for the hidden car park charges which you are not told about and just added to your room account without your knowledge

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Mike - Great to see that you loved our location to Universal Orlando Resort. There is a nominal parking fee should you choose to take advantage of that service and park on property. We are looking forward to having you with us again soon. Rock on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We stayed here for one night of a two week holiday to take advantage of the free Express Pass and the proximity to the Universal Parks. I'm so glad we did.
The hotel is themed well and will particularly appeal to teens. My 15 year old music-obsessed daughter loved the memorabilia and, although she loves Disney, found it a breath of fresh air in the middle of a 2 week Disney holiday.
We stayed in a Deluxe room which offered more space. Comfy beds, dark and quiet, lots of space, everything we needed for a good night's sleep.
We drank cocktails by the pool at the end of the day and then ate in The Kitchen, which I'd highly recommend. Great food and good service in a relaxed setting. Perfect after a hectic day in a hot park.
Checked out by phone next morning and enjoyed a rickshaw ride to the park through the beautiful hotel grounds.
If you're planning on visiting Universal with teens/tweens, I'd highly recommend it. It's worth it for the Express Pass and the proximity alone. We really enjoyed our stay and were sorry to check out.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FatMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
It was our pleasure to have your family with us. We are the place to be for anyone who is "music-obsessed.". Looking forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We were only in town for a long weekend and this place is in the heart of it all! The rooms were recently updates, very spacious and comfortable. The pool was amazing and the staff at the pool bar / restaurant were so nice and fun, they really helped make our days my the pool super enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Kathy - Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. Great to see you had an amazing long weekend here at the Hard Rock!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We stayed at the Hard Rock for only one night. The room decor was cool and the hotel in general very attractive. We walked to Umiversal once and also used the water taxi - both fun and convenient. The pool was terrific and there was an entertainer (Mitch) who was talented and engaging and added to the fun. As others have noted there was a wait for the room. Getting free express passes couldn't be beat! We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Robin - Mitch is a great addition to our already amazing pool and lounge area. Great to see you really enjoyed yourself. Rock on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 338 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 stars 1,255 reviews
Florida Center
Hilton Garden Inn Orlando International Drive North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Property: Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Address: 5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-7834
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#29 Green Hotel in Orlando
#30 Family Hotel in Orlando
#39 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#40 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a rock star and savor the perks of rock 'n' roll royalty with impeccable accommodations, laid-back luxurious style and show-stopping service. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Hard Rock Hotel is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Orlando
Hotel Hard Rock
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Orlando
Hard Rock Cafe Hotel Orlando
Universal Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing