We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time guest, loved the music throughout”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Ranked #40 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The hotel is a fun place if you love rock n roll. The music is everywhere, the employees love it and if you don't love rock n roll, stay somewhere else. The vibe is cool and the hotel is modern yet has an old grand look.

The rooms are comfortable with a nice size flat screen, cd player and iPhone charger/player/radio. We had a double queen room and one of the beds was so close to the wall, it was difficult getting in and out of it. The windows are large and we had a view of the garden area. Beds have comfortable mattresses and pillows.

The staff is very pleasant, probably because they hear great music all day long.

The food at the Kitchen for breakfast is average. They have an omelet station for the buffet and the choices were nothing special. The a la carte menu was ok as well. The typical items you would find at this category type hotel. The coffee place was ok, they serve Starbucks, but the staff does need to be trained for organization on how to take orders from people.

The location is excellent if you're visiting the Universal Parks. The parks are within less than 7-10 slow pace walk and the perk of getting to the front of the line for the rides is an excellent gimmick. I would stay at a Hard Rock again if only for the great music throughout the hotel and great staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos
Thank denitrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9,110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,411 - 5,417 of 9,110 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

My family and one extra (6 total) spent one night at the Hard Rock over the Christmas holiday and we loved it. We picked the Hard Rock because we were planning on spending two days at the Universal parks and the Hard Rock is the closest resort available. We were booked for a standard hotel room on one of the standard floors but during check in, we upgraded at a discounted rate to a 2 bathroom, 2 room suite on the 7th floor concierge level....WOW! The extra room in the suite and complimentary food for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, as well as evening cocktails, more than made up for the additional cost. The room was beautiful and comfortable, the resort grounds were in great shape and well maintained, the parks were a short walk from the resort, and the entire staff was friendly and accommodating. And the five free front of the line passes to the parks for the two days is an added perk more than worth the price of the room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J-T-J-R-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Although the weather didn't cooperate, the hotel was outstanding, from the minute we arrived we felt welcomed. Staff bent over backwards to accommodate our needs. The food was excellent, and there was a lot to do. In fact we didn't do as much as we could have, not enough time! The pool and jacuzzi area were fantastic. The Kitchen had the best all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet ever (wish we could have eaten more!!).
The only downside was our room was so far from the main entrance area that we felt like we had to walk a mile and the floor plan is like a maze. We did find that our room was close to an exit that took us to our main destination -- Universal Studios -- so we ended up using that exit most of the time. It meant we had to walk up-down a cement-floored stairway (we were on the 5th floor) but that was our exercise haha. If you have mobility issues you might want to check out where your room is, or make a request to be closer to the elevators.

Room Tip: As I said, we were very far from the main entrance to the hotel but we were able to use a back exit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando! It is great to hear that you had such an outstanding stay! We too like to think of the Kitchen's breakfast buffet as being the best ever, so we are very happy to hear that you agree! With a busy day ahead of you at the theme parks it is important to make sure you have a good hearty meal to start on the right foot! Thank you again, and we hope to see you back soon! Rock On!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Hotel was dirty under the surface, concierge was young and unprofessional. To many options in the Orlando area for the price. They also charge you $18 a day for parking even if you stay on their club level.


  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

This was our second time staying at the Hard Rock hotel in Orlando. We stayed on the Club Level - 7th floor this time around and would totally recommend it. Your close to the parks either the boat shuttle (5 mins) or walk the path (5 mins).
The kids love the pool and water slide. The extra amenities you get on the Club Level are totally awesome. Continental breakfast, coffee and pops and snacks in the afternoon, beer/wine/pop and hot snacks from 5 - 7 pm and then the sweets hour from 8:30-9:30 pm every night. Loved it!!
All included in your room price.
Everybody very nice and friendly. Looking forward to next year!!'

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PoorFarmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Every one was great, but the foundation of a great hotel is the housekeeping. Peanuts on the floor at check in and a dirty fridge didn't sit well. They tried all week to fix that, but not getting your room cleaned until 7:00 and having to call multiple times was something I had a hard time with.

Other than that, the restaurants were great,

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos
2  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

we arrived at check in during a velvet session performance which made hearing anything the check in guy said impossible, I think we manage it though! We had a nice room with a nice view of the gardens but on 3 occasions during our 3 night stay we were greeted each morning with a hallway which absolutely STANK of Cannabis. I know it's a 'party' hotel but we thought this was a bit much.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Hannikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 342 in Orlando
1,503 reviews
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#31 of 342 in Orlando
4,557 reviews
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Address: 5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-7834
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#30 Family Hotel in Orlando
#32 Green Hotel in Orlando
#39 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#40 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $278 - $610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a rock star and savor the perks of rock 'n' roll royalty with impeccable accommodations, laid-back luxurious style and show-stopping service. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Hard Rock Hotel is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Orlando
Hotel Hard Rock
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Orlando
Hard Rock Cafe Hotel Orlando
Universal Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing