We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Ranked #45 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed at the Hard Rock for two nights during our two week vacation at Disneyworld. First impressions were "fantastic". The rooms were nice and the beds very comfortable.

The pool area was brilliant with plenty of sunbeds to be had. Pool service excellent and the pool bar was a great friendly way to chill in the evenings. Easy access with a walkway to Universal Studios and had a lovely two night break. Would definitely love to go back, but very expensive as we had the Disney Dining Plan we stay at the Saragota Springs for the rest of our holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SomersetSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando. Happy to know you enjoyed our facilities, specifically our pool bar. We look forward to your return! Rock On!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,841
    2,084
    725
    327
    189
See reviews for
5,314
1,225
61
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had an amazing time at the Hard Rock Hotel. We stayed one night Aug 1st. We received FREE express passes for Universal Studios Theme Parks, this free benefit basically paid for our hotel stay! On top of this we were upgraded for free to the Club Level, which meant lots of perks, our favourite was the free drinks and snacks at designated times during the day / evening. In addition to all of this the staff were absolutely amazing - all of them, from front desk, housekeeping and even the guys doing maintenance. Everyone was very friendly and seemed genuinely concerned that we have a great stay. On our last day we went to the Parks very erly, returned to check out & spent the afternoon at the amazing pool, had delicious lunch at the pool side restaurant and enjoyed live entertainment. This hotel surpassed our expectations and we will definitely return the next time we visit Universal Studios !!

Room Tip: You receive free express passes to Universal Studios Theme Parks for each day of your stay for every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

First the good stuff:..............

As others have said the Express Passes are worth their weight in gold at busy periods. We checked in at 10:00am on Sunday, got to Universal Studios by 10:30am and we did all the main rides plus a show by mid-afternoon with very little queuing. Similar situation on Monday at Islands of Adventure then on Tuesday we redid both parks redoing our favourites. It was great to be able to wander round and really enjoy the parks without rushing around to try and beat the queues.Plus, I don't know whether we were just lucky but we went to IoA at 8:30pm on Sunday night and managed to get on the Harry Potter Forbidden Journey twice before it closed at 9:00pm. So we didn't need to get up early to take advantage of the early opening for hotel guests.

It was great to be able to walk to CityWalk at night and we ate at both Hard Rock cafe and Margaritaville. Citywalk is a great place to wander round and people watch and was full of families (although we tended to be back at the hotel by 10:30pm so I can't comment on what it was like later on).

The hotel itself was fine, We splashed out on a King SuIte plus adjoining double queen and both rooms were spotlessly clean and well appointed. Beds were really comfy and there were 3 free Keurig coffee capsules per day which was nice coffee. Housekeeping was excellent, both rooms were cleaned while we out during the day and there was a plentiful supply of towels and toiletries, We didn't eat at the hotel but we did drink at both the pool bar and the Velvet bar. Although the drinks are a bit more expensive than some of the local eateries, the spirits at the Velvet bar were generous measures (at least doubles) so we didn't feel ripped off. We did grab pastries and savoury croissants from the ice cream parlour on a couple of mornings for breakfast and these were tasty and not particularly expensive.

Pool area was very busy and it was difficult to get beds by mid-afternoon but it was really too hot for us to sunbathe and the water is so shallow that you can just lie at the pool edge.

And now the not so good.....................

We got free wifi because I am a member of the Hard Rock Rewards (which is free to join) but it was so slow during the main part of the day that it was unusable. If we'd paid for it we would have been pretty annoyed.

The main reason for 4 stars rather than 5 is that the shower room of the neighbouring room was obviously right behind our bedhead, On our second night our neighbours came back just before midnight and took showers on the most powerful setting. We couldn't believe how loud the shower was against our wall. On our third night neighbours got up at 6:00am so same problem. So effectively we only got one really good night sleep out of 3 nights which is unacceptable for the money we paid. I guess there is nothing that the hotel can do about this but more thought should have gone into the room design.

So in summary, if you want to do the parks without queuing and aren't too bothered about wifi and getting a guaranteed 8 hours sleep then this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: We had connecting rooms 1100 and 1116 which were very well located for both pool and water taxi and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJones885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando. We're happy to know that you enjoyed your time at the parks, our outlets and service. We do however apologize for the inconveniences that you mentioned within your response. Please contact us at hardrockcustomerservice@loewshotels.com to discuss these concerns. Thank you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Having just stayed within the Disney resort for five nights, the Hard Rock Hotel was a breath of fresh air. It's very cool, but not at all cheesy. Great room, pool area, smooth check in. The Express passes for Universal and the Islands of Adventure which are included in the room rate were fantastic, we whizzed past the queues and onto the rides in super quick time. The food was great and, unlike Disney, you don't have to book 6 months in advance! We just turned up and walked in. We also liked the in room coffee machine. The Hard Rock is within walking distance of Universal, which was really convenient; there is also a free boat to the parks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlorenceOfArabia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westland, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

we had a great stay and the staff was top notch. the hotel was on the property of universal studios and islands of adventure. great pool with music under water, the kids loved it. i know it seem expensive to stay there, but being right on the property of universal the kids could go to the parks while we layed by the pool. lots of resturants on the boardwalk outside of parks.

Room Tip: all rooms great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weezie620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burley in Wharfedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We drove over from Sarasota for one night to stay so we could get up nice and fresh for the theme park the following day. I wouldnt want to stay for two weeks but for night or two this place is really good. Interesting memorabilia, nice bar & large swimming pool. What really sold it was that the room we stayed in came with unlimited ride fast passes & this was cheaper than buying the actual fast passes in the park on the day.
The staff here are really helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian-Dilenardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Gorgeous hotel in a perfect location. Yes, it's a bit pricey - but the free Express Pass for Universal and Islands of Adventure more than made up for this. Never waited more than 15 mins for a ride and often only 5! We stayed in an inappropriately named "Kids Suite". It should be called a "Family Suite". We were concerned as we were travelling with our exceedingly tall (6 ft 5in) teenage son. It was fabulous. An enormous master bedroom with a huge bed and walk in wardrobe and also a full size twin bedroom connected by a Jack and Jill bathroom. Perfect for us. Universal is a very pleasant 10 min stroll or 5 min boat ride - so the location couldn't be better. Staff - especially at the pool bar - are really friendly. I would definitely stay at a Hard Rock again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendiH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#29 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,997 reviews
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 335 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Property: Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Address: 5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-7834
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#30 Family Hotel in Orlando
#33 Green Hotel in Orlando
#39 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#40 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a rock star and savor the perks of rock 'n' roll royalty with impeccable accommodations, laid-back luxurious style and show-stopping service. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Hard Rock Hotel is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Orlando
Hotel Hard Rock
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Orlando
Hard Rock Cafe Hotel Orlando
Universal Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing