We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Ranked #39 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was the first time we stayed here. We normally stay on the Disney properties but decided to try something different. Even though this place was a bit pricy...it was very nice, clean, and the staff was very helpful & friendly. Also, it's very convenient to Universal and Islands of adventure. You can walk or take the shuttle (boat) ride to the parks. The outdoor pool area is a great place to cool yourself off and they show a movie outdoor in this pool area every night around 8pm.

Room Tip: The executive level (floor 7) is nice. when you stay on this level you get continental breakfast, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paradise079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando! We are happy to have had you choose us as your alternative destination and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! Hope to see you again when you are in the Orlando area! Rock On!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9,200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,988 - 5,994 of 9,200 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Lobby is nice. Guys at the front desk were a big help when we checked in and needed a pharmacy right away. Rooms are just ok. High priced but paying for location. Carpeted areas through out the hotel need to be vacuumed and shampooed. Beds are comfy. Pool area is very nice. Room service food was good.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubbles197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Having read all the reviews before we booked I was pleasantly surprised with the room. Decent size for 3 adults and a teen, nice size bathroom, super comfy beds and extra pillows in the closet. Doors could do with some sound proofing as you hear every noise in the hallways. Wifi was no problem as there was great coverage by the pool area and in the lobby, so why pay extra. Breakfast was very expensive, $67.00 for 4 people and it took quite a while to arrive since we ordered off the menu and didn't choose the buffet. Pool amenities were great, we had lunch by the pool and it was a really great experience mainly due to an awesome server, thanks Eddie!
Having stayed at the Portofino I would suggest this hotel to those traveling with a teen. My only suggestion to the hotel would be to include free parking, hate to feel nickel and dimed!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Very nice hotel. Clean rooms, very comfortable beds and pillows. The pool area was very nice. The kids loved the slide and activities by the pool . Sandy area with lounge chairs was a great touch. Short ride on water taxi to the parks, or you could walk. Shortest travel time to the parks of any of the three Universal hotels. My favorite is still Portofino though. Hard Rock was an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brooklyndreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at Hard Rock had great service and people were great. We enjoyed early access and express pass. My kids are older but enjoyed the motel and atmospheres of the Hard rock as well as universal Orlando. We had been to Universal before but always stayed with relatives close by, this time decided to try motel on sight. The only thing I was disappointed in was room service. We ordered breakfast one day and it wasnt very good, and paid 100 for it for 4 of us, but everything else was perfect and the delivery of food was right on time and very polite people. We would go back again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leah11x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at the Hard Rock Hotel so we could gain early access to the Universal Studios Theme park. It was worth it for the Harry Potter ride alone, which saved us at least an hour in the line-up. Be sure to try the "Butter Beer", it's refreshing and very tasty. The location is perfect! It's an easy walk to the theme park, no more than 5 minutes, or you can take the boat ride over. We had a great time here and we would definately come back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bouloukoelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Recently on a business trip to O-town, and this seemed like the best place to stay near the attractions. It has the advantage of being walking distance to Universal and Harry Potter. The super hyper check-in guy neglected to tell us that you get FREE universal access upgrades to the park which is a must given the long lines. Would have been helpful, dude. Rooms are large, but carpets are dirty and cleaning staff are suspect. Use the safe in the rooms. Pool has spotty service and is really too shallow for swimming. Weather is generally atrocious in Orlando, so pool was closed half the time. Honestly, Orlando is a really dumb place to visit when you can easily fly to Boston or the Outer Banks of NC for a better vacation. If you HAVE to come to this glorified strip mall of a city, stay at the Ritz Carlton. Avoid the Hard Rock, the Portofino (under construction) and the woefully outdated Disney hotels. Better yet, just don't travel here. You aren't missing anything. And BTW, Hard Rock -- carry some recent wines in your "kitchen", BOKAY?

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Four_Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#28 of 341 in Orlando
4,632 reviews
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 341 in Orlando
1,518 reviews
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Address: 5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-7834
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#30 Family Hotel in Orlando
#32 Green Hotel in Orlando
#39 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#40 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $272 - $605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a rock star and savor the perks of rock 'n' roll royalty with impeccable accommodations, laid-back luxurious style and show-stopping service. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Hard Rock Hotel is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Orlando
Hotel Hard Rock
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Orlando
Hard Rock Cafe Hotel Orlando
Universal Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing