We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Busy Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Ranked #46 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Let me start of by saying that I have stayed at many Hard Rock Hotels over the years. I had never been to this one. Very busy place. Lots of kids around as it is in Universal. The water taxis are great! We never had to wait long for one. We even used the bike taxi service, and he dropped us off right in front of the Café. Rooms were clean and comfy. We had closed down City Walk the night before, and took back the last water taxi at 2AM, so we were looking forward to sleeping in. Strangely enough, it wasn't the hotel guests that woke us up at 9AM, but the maids in the hallway talking extremely loud, and slamming doors. One male worker talked for hours in the hallway to the others. We were NOT happy about that. All employees we met were very friendly and polite, but this really was a nuisance. We were on the 3rd floor, and lots of foot traffic constantly. Yes, overall a fun place to stay if you're going to the park.

Room Tip: Stay on a higher floor. 3rd floor is lobby level and busy!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BaliHai70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. As far as your experience with the noise is concerned, we would like to invite you to speak with us more about this as it is our goal to make every guest stay flawless. Please contact us at HardRockCustomerService@LoewsHotels.com should you choose to do so. Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon! Rock On!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,842)
There are newer reviews for Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,832 - 5,838 of 8,844 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

Our 3-night stay was extraordinary. My husband and I are both in the hotel industry. Every single employee with whom we came in contact had a smile and a greeting. The perks and amenities are second to none. Worth every penny and more. In reading through some of the negative comments about this hotel, I'd just like to go on record and tell all you haters to go buy a block of cheese to go with your whine!! Have you ever worked a minute in customer service? I'm doubtful. Good lord, things happen. And most of the time it's your fault! There, I said it. The customer is not always right. And anyone who's ever worked in customer service, particularly the hotel industry, knows it. Keep up the outstanding work, Hard Rock!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando. Wow! It is nice to hear such kind words from someone in the industry! We are happy to have made your 3-night stay with us so enjoyable and would love to have you stay with us again!! See you again soon! Rock On!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Just came back from a two week stay at the Hard Rock Hotel Orlando. Hotel was in a great location with regular water taxis to the Universal parks. Express passes to Universal passes were very useful and given complimentary. Overall we had a wonderful time and would definitely stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norwich1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This hotel never disappoints. If you're planning a Universal Orlando trip, this is the place to be. Plan ahead and book when there's a discount and you can afford to upgrade to the club level. It's the best experience ever. You'll have breakfast, snacks, a light dinner, and a dessert before bed time. The convenience of this resort cannot be beat. It took us literally five minutes to walk to Universal and only another five minutes to arrive at Islands. The best perk: no waiting in lines at the parks. Your resort key allows you to have an almost zero wait time for attractions. Also the pool and the pool and food are top notch. I especially love the fact that I can park my car and not use it again until departure time. Everything you need is within reach. This is the way to go, anytime and everytime. I can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoveTenn4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando! We are thrilled to have made you feel like true rock stars! It sounds like you had an amazing time with us on our club floor and that you took advantage of our convenient location next to all of the wonderful attractions that Universal has to offer! See you again soon!! Rock On!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Overall the hotel itself is fun, friendly, well presented and clean. The service is generally quite good, however, we felt this could be improved in certain areas such as The Kitchen restaurant and the general lobby area (with the exception of the concierge which was very good). We stayed club level which we thought was handy for the breakfasts (continental) but we did not get to take much advantage of afternoon/ evening drinks, snacks and desserts as we were out and about at the various parks so this is something to bear in mind if you are thinking about staying here club level as we feel we did not get our money's worth, but it would certainly be worth it if you are planning on spending a lot of time at the hotel. Be aware that this hotel charges extra for the following: daily parking ($18 plus tax per day), for the privilege of having a refrigerator in your room and for wifi in your room which is extortionate when you consider what you are paying to stay here in the first place (especially when you add on the price for club level!). The really good points about this hotel is the close proximity to Universal Studio's, Islands of Adventure and City Walk - and of course, the express pass and early entry to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter. We felt that the express pass and early entry to Harry Potter really makes up for the other bad points about this hotel. For guests staying at one of the three Universal hotels there is early entry into Islands of Adventure for Harry Potter which is an excellent advantage and the express passes for all other rides at the two Universal parks which is also very good. The longest we had to queue for a ride using our express pass was approx 10 minutes but most rides we walked straight on. It is for these reasons that we would consider this hotel again in the future. We would have to disagree with some previous reviews about the loud music at this hotel. Although there is music being played it is not overly loud and did not keep us awake - and our room overlooked the pool so please do not let those reviews put you off going here. And anyway, it is The Hard Rock Hotel after all!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herechoccychoccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Good location and advantages for the Universal Parks (the complimentary fast-passes are really great). But very uncomfortable beds, freezing lobby and rooms, quite loud ventilation in the bathrooms and totally overpriced take-away food (4 USD for a plain, dry croissant!!!) and parking (18 USD per night!!!), but very good and friendly service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mushu2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hard Rock. The location within Universal was great, as are the perks that come with staying on the Universal property (such as being able to have items purchased in the park sent directly to your room, fast passes at some lines in the park, and early admittance to parts of the park)! Everything was very clean and comfortable. The room had some nice touches (which are becoming increasingly standard in hotels) such as an iPhone dock and a Keurig. We stayed in a club level room, and the room and bathroom were a very good size. Plus, we had access to the club level bar/restaurant. This was especially convenient for grabbing a quick breakfast in the morning.

The rest of our family on the trip was staying at a hotel on the Disney property, and, though Disney is great, we were glad to be somewhere more adult friendly (and with fewer screaming children -- or at least they were less obvious than at Disney). Being in Orlando with family made the trip very busy (though fun!), so we did not get to experience everything the hotel had to offer, but I heard from other guests that it was all great!

Room Tip: Club level rooms are very nice and access to a separate and convenient food and bar area.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skidea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#26 of 340 in Orlando
4,409 reviews
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Address: 5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-7834
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#30 Family Hotel in Orlando
#33 Green Hotel in Orlando
#39 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#40 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $279 - $589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a rock star and savor the perks of rock 'n' roll royalty with impeccable accommodations, laid-back luxurious style and show-stopping service. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Hard Rock Hotel is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Orlando
Hotel Hard Rock
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Orlando
Hard Rock Cafe Hotel Orlando
Universal Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing