We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Ranked #40 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 2, 2013

we had a great time here and are heading back in just over a month... nice spacious rooms, helpful and fun staff.. have seen a lot of negative reviews and i was stumped.
The pool is a little shallow but always something going on, whether films for kids and parties. Not the cheapest of hotels but we more than happy with it.
Great access to universal.. less than 5 mins walk, plus your given an express pass which we found was very useful

Room Tip: dont take pool view room, can be a little noisy in the evenings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moshpit_zombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9,055)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,111 - 6,117 of 9,055 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

For $400 a night I expected more. The rooms were just average. You don't even get a complimentary cup of coffee! They stock your fridge and then bill you triple the amount if you use it. Pool was nice but overly crowded. Pool waiters are eager to get your order/money but could care less about clean up. I guess you pay for location. I felt scammed. We won't be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripjunkie53449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at The Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando. Our goal is to provide our guests with supreme service and amenities and I am truly sorry to hear you were less than completely satisfied. We would like the opportunity to discuss the issues you mentioned above with you further and we can be easily reached at HardRockCustomerService@LoewsHotels.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

with only a 5 min walk to Universal and 10 to Islands of adventure, this hotel is very convenient. there are also free water taxis. we were able to get into Harry Potter one and a half hours before the park opened to the public, which meant only a short wait for Forbidden journey (as opposed to a 2-3 hr wait later!). Also, the line-jumping pass is good for the moment you check in,until the parks close the day of check-out.
It would be nice to have complimentary coffee/tea and water in the rooms and/lobby; $4.50 for a small bottle of water!!
Be careful of the bellhops and concierge trying to get you to take their hotel cab to the airport and places; Hard rock charges $55 to the airport and a metered cab only costs $25!!
Overall, an expensive hotel to stay,especially with kids, but worth it for a couple of nights.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank familyoffivemadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at The Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando. Our goal is to provide our guests with supreme service and amenities and I am truly sorry to hear you were less than completely satisfied. We would like the opportunity to discuss the issues you mentioned above with you further and we can be easily reached at HardRockCustomerService@LoewsHotels.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed at HRH March 24-29. Property is top notch. Very well maintained. As advertised, feels like you are staying in the hotel pictured on Hotel Calif by the Eagles.

Check in was quick and easy. Concierge desk and desk to purchase Universal Orlando tix are conveniently located in the lobby. Hard Rock shop also in the lobby. Plenty of places to sit and relax. Palm restaurant just off the lobby was great (more later). Six elevators that all moved quickly. This is a pet peeve of mine with large hotels that have bad elevators.

Room was clean and staff maintained it well. Comfortable beds. Internet service was pretty good. Only complaint is that they still charge you for the internet. Please, just raise my rate and include it!! $7.00 bottle of water in the room was pointed out by the bell hop. Thank you. Mini bar that we did not venture into. TV, lighting, appliances all worked great. Keuring coffee maker in the room. Safes that worked as expected. Clean bathroom with good water pressure. Usual array of soaps and shampoo.

Pool is one of the stars of the location. A great setting with palm trees, good chairs, good separation from your neighbors. Cabanas available. Good food and drinks delivered to your chair. Pricey yes, but they were quality products. No complaints. And of course, great music being played over the speaker system. Towels were plentiful. Water quality was very good. Heated pool as it was still a little chilly.

Water taxi, bike taxi or walk to the Universal Parks. Very close. Very easy. I must remind folks that if you buy your tickets at the hotel, you get an Express Pass for the parks. This gets you into the park 1 hour early. Plus, gets you to the front of the line on rides via a separate line. This is NOT like the Disney system of fast passes. While I am a Disney fan, the system at Universal was far superior. (more on the mouse in a moment) Even at this busy time of the year, we rode all rides with ease with the exception of the Harry Potter experience. And yes, Universal has great rides.

Work out center appeared nice. We followed a running route provided by the concierge. With some imagination, we were able to run through the Portofino property across the street and around the Universal campus for a 4 mile route.

We did NOT rent a car. Instead we used Tiffany transit from the airport. They met us at the baggage pickup. (Total of 6 in our party). We decided to visit Disney for one day. There is a rental desk in the lobby for vehicles, but it was pricey. ($150 for a 1 day 4 door Hyundai). The better option was a limo/van service that are always available. As soon as one van or limo left, another pulled up to take its place. They were able to drop us off a the door for Disney AND pick us up after. $100 r/t or $50/family. We liked this service. (FYI, we should have stayed at Universal the whole time. The mouse was CHAOS. All fast passes for the major rides were gone for the day by 10AM! The only option remaining was 2-3 hr waits for the major rides.)

We spent M,Tu at Universal. Wed at Disney. Thur at the Hard Rock pool, then to Universal for some last rides that evening. They gave us a "buy 2 day, get a 3rd free" deal. Therefore, no pressure to us it all day to get your monies worth. Also, must mention the "City Walk" area across from the parks. An easy walk or boat ride just like the parks. Lots of places to eat at every level. Fun place to spend the evening with lots of activity.

Overall, a good experience. This is a great place for fun and an active getaway with the family and/or another couple/family. We would return.

Room Tip: The halls for the rooms can be a bit of a hike from the elevators. Just be prepared. It can be a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank x2bate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Hard Rock is a hotel for people who like a lot of noise and activity. The pool is great and the atmosphere is definitely high energy. My only caveat would be that it is hard to get away from that if you do want some quiet down time. We paid extra for a pool view but regretted it the first night when the music was booming through the windows until midnight. While I love music, trying to get two kids to sleep with a deep bass in the background is difficult. And due to spring break this was going on every night until midnight!
Otherwise, the hotel is VERY convenient to Universal - a short 5 minute walk. And the express pass makes the room cost worthwile. We would go in the morning for the extra hour and come back for lunch to avoid the crowds and then return after 5 when the lines died down for the roller coasters.
About the hotel: the beds were very comfortable and the rooms were more spacious than a regular hotel, the food at the beach club is quite good and they have service staff that come to your beach chair, also the nightly dive in movie is fun. There is a restaurant "the Kitchen" on site but i cant recommend it - there are much better places in the Universal Citywalk area, they do have an ice cream/sandwich shop which is very good and suffices for snacks and breakfast.

Room Tip: if you are noise sensitive DO NOT stay pool side!! Also 2nd floor is the best as it is easy to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank McLeangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We were checked in at 1:45am by DeAndre. I think DeAndre gave my daughter and I the worse room available. Room 4139 smelled like the worse case of athlete's feet, the safe was broken, the privacy lock on the door was broken and the bed comforter and pillow shams were filthy!! This room was gross!! I called the next morning for a room change, and after speaking with a couple of front desk managers, we were given a room on the 6th floor. This room was in better condition! I spoke with three different front desk managers; I don't remember all of their names, but, would llike to say thank you to all of them, especially Andrew! Overall, I expected the Hardrock Hotel rooms to more Luxurious (3 something a night) than they actually are! Nice Lobby, though! Don't think I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 4139/odor of smelly feet, dirty comforter and bed shams Rooms on higher floor s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelgurl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando. Exceptional customer service and exquisite amenities are what we pride ourselves on providing to our guests and it sounds like your stay did not meet these standards. Please feel free to contact us at HardRockCustomerService@LoewsHotels.com to discuss the details of any issues that transpired.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We went down and stayed at the Hard Rock so we could go to Universal Harry Potter world for a bachlorette party. They staff at check in was ok. Our room was good. If you are planning on staying here I would recommend upgrading to the club level. For us it was great, we would eat a light breakfast every morning (provided) and then have drinks and appitizers prior to dinner. It was a lot of fun. This is where the staff shined!! They did a great job of creating memorable expierences for us. Adding personal touches, reccomending places to eat etc. There is also has a boat that will take you to Universal or it's a really quick walk. Music was VERY loud though out, but let's be honest, it's not called soft rock hotel.

We rented a cabana one day and sat by the pool. That was a lot of fun. We upgraded to the one closest to the bar, by the sand but this wasn't needed they have waiters who come around some what frequently.

Room Tip: As I said, upgrade to club level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flakenbake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#29 of 342 in Orlando
4,519 reviews
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 342 in Orlando
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Address: 5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-7834
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#30 Family Hotel in Orlando
#32 Green Hotel in Orlando
#39 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#40 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $272 - $609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a rock star and savor the perks of rock 'n' roll royalty with impeccable accommodations, laid-back luxurious style and show-stopping service. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Hard Rock Hotel is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Orlando
Hotel Hard Rock
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Orlando
Hard Rock Cafe Hotel Orlando
Universal Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing