We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have had better service in 3rd world countries”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Ranked #40 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
Miami, FL
15
Reviewed January 21, 2004

Was the worse hotel stay I have ever had. Room was unclean. Staff was slow and rude. Was charged for vallet parking when I did not use it.
There was mold growing on the pool chairs. Waited forever for room service and bar service.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9,055)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,078 - 8,084 of 9,055 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed January 16, 2004

absolutely fabulous, the best hotel in the world! food is fantastic, friendly and affiant staff I can't wait to go back.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Menlo Park, CA
13
Reviewed January 12, 2004

We went to the Hard Rock during off season in mid September. There are 2 reasons why we choose the Hard Rock, the perk to jump to the front of lines at Universal with your room key and because someone recommended it to us. It turmed out Universal was not crowded in Sept even on a weekend. Lines were short and after a week at Disney, a 20 min wait did not seem long. Maybe during peak season you do need your key for the lines. Someone with small kids did recommend the hotel to us. This is NOT a place for people without kids. There are kids running up and down the halls at all times of the day. We upgraded to the concierge level which was a little better but still lots of noisy kids and it cost us almost $100 a day more! (They also did not have any rooms available with a king bed in the regular part of the hotel). The people who worked at the concierge lounge were very young and only seemed to be interested in talking to each other about when their shift ended rather then helping any guests. They did not clean any of the tables in the lounge until someone complained. The coffee shop was also closed for renovation and the only choice to eat was at the bar by the very crowded pool. The food was very overpriced and not good. This is a fun place for families but there are much better places to stay for the money if you don't have kids.

  • Stayed: September 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
england, uk
1
Reviewed January 6, 2004

had a great time here with my husband daughter and sister. The food was great and the staff very friendly .we only stayed for 2 nights and were sad to leave.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2004

After reading the many mixed reviews on this site, I still decided on this hotel becasue it was where my boyfriend really wanted to stay so i surprised him with a visit. The entrance and everything on the way to check in is awesome, including the water guitars int he front entrance.
The front desk staff was extremely nice and fast. On the second day we enjoyed the pool, its not too deep which is kinda fun for just hanging out and they have a really kool slide. I did not however, hear any music underwater like the claims i had read about. The great thing about staying at the hotel is the front of the line access and IOA and US. The hotel is wonderfully decorated and there is music playing all the time 24/7 in the lobby and elevators area. The only slightly dissapointing thing was that (as i had read here) they take FOREVER to make up your room. It was nearly 4:00pm when we saw the maid get to ours and it would have been past four the day we checked in if i had not kept calling in to check about our room, however, they were very nice and gave me a room that was already made up so that we can get back to the hotel. And food is kind of expensive but well worth it.
Overall great!

1  Thank frogster14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
219
Reviewed January 5, 2004

I just found this site so I am a little late in posting ... My husband and I stayed at the Hard Rock Hotel for a week while on vacation in August we just loved it, it is without a doubt one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in ,very clean , lovely decor throughout the hotel and in the rooms they were just beautiful and spacious , we loved the 5 minute scenic little boat ride out back of the hotel to City Walk which is at the front entrance of Universal Studios it was non stop fun the whole time we were there so many things to see and do , great restraunts and entertainment at night at City Walk, and if you show your room key at both Universal Studios and Universal's Islands of Adventure for most rides and attractions you can skip the regular lines with UNIVERSAL EXPRESSSM ride access all day , every day it was like we were VIP's .

We look forward to our next trip there ! Amber in Las Vegas , NV

  • Stayed: September 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2004

Love this Hard Rock Hotel. The place is very clean,relaxing&fun. The service is great from the time you check in to the pool staff to the wait staff at the " Kitchen " restaurant. The is awsome. The dive in movies are a great way to enjoy an evening athe the H. R. Beach Club/ pool. Stayed here about 9 or 10 times , great time.

Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#29 of 342 in Orlando
4,519 reviews
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 342 in Orlando
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Address: 5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-7834
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#30 Family Hotel in Orlando
#32 Green Hotel in Orlando
#39 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#40 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $272 - $609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a rock star and savor the perks of rock 'n' roll royalty with impeccable accommodations, laid-back luxurious style and show-stopping service. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Hard Rock Hotel is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Orlando
Hotel Hard Rock
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Orlando
Hard Rock Cafe Hotel Orlando
Universal Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing