We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“One of the best options if you are going to Universal Parks...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Ranked #42 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of the best options if you are going to Universal Parks...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

What can I say that hasn't been said in previous reviews? The Hard Rock is extremely convenient if you are vising the Universal theme parks. The buildings are very nice, the rooms are a decent size and are a bit nicer than the Royal Pacific. The pool is massive and heated, there are two standard sized hot tubs of which one is reserved for adults only. There is also a water slide.

The biggest benefit is that you can walk to the parks (or take the water taxi) and that your room key give you unlimited express access to most rides. This is amazing! One thing that I found to be frustrating is that if you are walking back after 10pm, they close the walking path by pool and make you walk twice as far. Not fun after a long day at the parks or if it is raining.

Food and drink are a bit on the pricey side, but the quality is good and it is convenient. You have a ton of options at CityWalk as well.

Note, look into buying an annual pass to get the annual passholder rate. I saved about $80 per night. This can pay for itself in a few days!

I always stay at one of the onsite Loews hotels when visiting Universal, the benefits are definitely worth the extra expense.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ezajac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,574
    2,013
    691
    315
    173
See reviews for
5,039
1,156
59
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed here for one night to take advantage of the early opening of Harry Potter and our love of the Hard Rock brand. The place is very nice and the rooms are spacious. We stayed on the concierge level so we had access to breakfast and a nice commom room. A nice lit walkway to the parks or a boat is available. The pool is a good size with a very nice slide. Expensive but well worth it. With front of the line access to all the rides as well it was great fun. No more than 3hrs are needed to complete either park due to your minimal wait time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Franchise74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about the Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando. We love loyal Hard Rockers and we are happy that you enjoyed yourselves when you were here with us. Glad to hear that the Express Passes that come with the room worked out so well for you all also! We look forward to having you stay with us again soon! ROCK ON!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brook Park, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

My son and I enjoyed a marvelous father-son vacation at the Universal Studios complex in Orlando in early February 2013. We stayed on the grounds at the Hard Rock Hotel. From the moment of our arrival to our departure five days later I experienced possibly the most friendly and helpful hotel service in my lifetime.

The hotel building itself is a pleasure to look at. The huge lobby is magnificent and welcoming with rock and roll memorabilia adorning same. The room was comfortable and exceptionally clean. The view from the room was an overlook of the huge pool with partial sand beach with
scenic palm trees on the fringes.

The breakfast buffet served in the hotel's The Kitchen restaurant offered a great variety of breakfast foods along with several varieties of fruit juices. Hotel guests use free shuttle boat rides
from the hotel dock along a scenic canal to the parks entrances. A magnificent perk of staying at
the hotel is the express pass you receive which puts you at the head of the line for various choice rides . You also go to the head of the line at most of the restaurants on CityWalk. It,s wonderful to walk onto a ride without a wait. Everyting you buy anywhere at the Universal complex can be charged to your room by just showing your magnetic room key. Every souvenir you purchase dous not have to be lugged around but can be delivered to your room the next day.

Well, I'm sure I haven't covered everting I liked about the wonderful hotel; but I am sure if you decide to stay here you'll love it.

Room Tip: Choose a swing pool view or garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We made a reservation 6 months ahead for a kind bed and a room with two beds. We were told by a CSR and a front desk manager that no king beds were available. A 30 minute discussion ensued with 5 people in our party listening to an explanation that "there was nothing they could do". We asked to be upgraded since the hotel was not honoring our original king bed request...the answer was no. After requesting to speak with the front desk's manager's supervisor we waited another 10 minutes...the front desk manager appeared and stated the supervisor was not available but he somehow "found" a king bed/room for us to use. An hour after the inital front desk discussion we were on way to the correct room.

The Hard Rock is a clean hotel. All other hotel services were as expected. It is adjacent to the Universal Parks and allows one hour early entrance to them along with free express passes to most rides. The food and drink prices at the hotel are exceptionally high. They claim they treat you like rock stars...expected to pay rock star prices.

Room Tip: do more than "request" a room type....confirm the room type the day before arriving and be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SPETERS5900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel was very convenient for visiting Universal Studios. We were able to walk to the park in less than 5 minutes. Also if you stay on ground you can go to certain rides in Islands of Adventure an hour early and you get Express Passes which allow you shorter lines. The hotel does have loud music playing late at night and early in the morning so bring ear plugs. Also, the walls are thin so you can often hear people in the halls. The hotel alarm went off around 7am one morning which was unfortunate. The pool area was gorgeous and the pool is heated.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tbenton24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Room was nice and clean, pool was great, nice restaurant, and service was helpful. We went to the park and with express passes there was no wait and the location was perfect. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aj092010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

we stayed at the hard rock hotel for a few nights over christmas. this is the perfect place to spend christmas:) there is loads to do and you will never get bored. we were in the parks all day everyday, even christmas eve and christmas day! there are lots of things to see and do in the hotel and it is ideal for teenagers! the pool is excellent! the rooms are very clean, the service is amazing and there is overall a very friendly atmosphere. i would definately recommend visiting here for christmas and i would definately visit here again myself! :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank courtneyglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Hilton Garden Inn Orlando International Drive North
Florida Center
Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Property: Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Address: 5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-7834
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#30 Family Hotel in Orlando
#32 Green Hotel in Orlando
#39 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#40 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a rock star and savor the perks of rock 'n' roll royalty with impeccable accommodations, laid-back luxurious style and show-stopping service. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Hard Rock Hotel is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Orlando
Hotel Hard Rock
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Orlando
Hard Rock Cafe Hotel Orlando
Universal Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing