We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just as cool as we hoped it old be...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Ranked #45 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chester
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just as cool as we hoped it old be...”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Having been to Orlando twice before, I've always wanted to stay here - but it seemed pricey - but having seen a deal for the nearby Royal Pacific Resort, this was only a bit more expensive, so we went for it and stayed 5 nights! (Cheapest deal was by booking direct with hotel)

The convenience for Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure is soooo worth it. You can walk through the gardens along the waterside in about 5 minutes which is a lovely walk or else catch the water taxi.

There is also a pleasant walk/jogging route up to the Portofino Bay hotel - looks gorgeous and almost takes your breath away it looks just like you are in Italy! Worth going to see it!

The pool area is cool! Especially at weekends and I presume at peak times, there's a DJ and really great music (not just "young stuff" either!) fresh water was a treat too.

Rooms were lovely and comfortable and surprisingly quiet.

My only criticism was that drinks (& I suppose food!) was expensive - we had one drink around the pool and after the expense didn't have another ;)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rollonfriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,005
    2,138
    746
    338
    197
See reviews for
5,505
1,261
63
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here at the Hard Rock Orlando for a multi-day visit to Universal. Nice interior and exterior - the usual Hard Rock rock n' roll memorabilia. GREAT pool area with a slide, it's shallow so good for the kiddos. Could use some more hot tubs, but at least one of them is adult only which is nice.

One shortcoming: this place is badly in need of a more casual lobby bar. The place they have is nice, but too stuffy . . . I would think a pub-style place with casual food would do well here and also be a comfy place to have that one last cocktail.

Rooms were clean, decent bathrooms, hospitality suite was worth the extra $$ (great for breakfast if you are planning on hitting Universal . . . just grab some muffins and go!).

One complaint has little to do with Hard Rock and much to do with Universal: When they designed Universal and Islands of Adventure, they didn't put enough thought into "people moving" . . . i.e. how will people get from hotels to park? There is a boat from Hard Rock that leaves you on the OTHER SIDE of the lake from Universal, or you can catch a pedi-cab (tip the driver), or you can walk. These parks are HUGE, and stuff like Harry Potter and Jurassic Park are the farthest away, so if you are with kids I would strongly recommend pedi-cabs so that little legs don't get too tired. What Universal REALLY needs is a monorail like Disney!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichaelScottBertrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

If you like rock music and fancy a different hotel experience, then the Hard Rock Hotel is for you. This one is ideally situated next door to the two Universal theme parks and Citywalk in Orlando, where you can walk from one to the other, take the free water taxi or enjoy a cycle rickshaw ride. The staff were great throughout, very helpful with a "can do" attitude.

The rooms are spacious and well equipped, situated off various wacky corridors with displays off rock memorabilia. Whilst music is played all over the hotel, you can't hear it when you enter the corridors, therefore the rooms are very quiet.

The buffet breakfast in The Kitchen is good value for money with a huge choice of different types of food including freshly made omelettes. There is also an a la carte menu, but I really can't see the point of this when the buffet is so good anyway.

My only concern was the standard of housekeeping/laundry. The bed linen had laundry marks on it, mainly black oil marks from the laundry process, not something I'd expect from a hotel of this quality. One of the fresh towels had a large lump of earwax on it. It could be seen as soon as the bathroom door was opened, so the housekeeper should have noticed it. A couple of times, we had to remake the bed before we got in it. The covers had just been pulled up, the under sheet had not been smoothed.

If we go back to Orlando, then we would stay at this hotel again. Loved the atmosphere and the feeling of safety.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Halkidiki44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Pool was AMAZING. Evening movies in the pool were a favorite! Loved the Starbucks/Ice Cream shop! Rooms were very nice, but we could have really used a mini fridge. Concierge was less than friendly or helpful, but other staff was very nice. Loved the close proximity to the parks and City Walk!! I would probably try one of the other Universal hotels next time, but this one was nice for our first time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have just returned from a week in Orlando with my two teenage children. I chose the Hard Rock Hotel because we wanted to visit the Universal Parks and the hotel is close to the parks which was convenient as I didn't want to drive whilst here. The hotel was fantastic. It looks luxurious and the staff were all very friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for you. The room was a good size, but the only disadvantage was there was no fridge in the room, but you could hire one for $15 per day. Booked in The Kitchen one evening for the character meal which was great fun. Emack and Bolios was handy for grabbing a snack, drink or if you want to eat in your room. The pool was beautiful and inviting. The best thing about staying at the Hard Rock Hotel was getting the fastpass to get on the rides first and being able to get into Universal Islands of Adventure before the park opened to get on the Harry Potter ride. The hotel provided a complimentary bus or boat ride to the parks and citywalk, but was close enough to walk. We enjoyed ourselves so much we didn't want to come home and are already thinking about going back. I would highly recommend the Hard Rock Hotel especially if you are planning to visit the Universal Parks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbieR45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I went with my sister and her children. We had a blast. This was the 3rd time I'd stayed here. I love music so this was the perfect hotel to stay at. It is in walking distance to both theme parks (Universal Studios and Islands of Adventures) and many restaurants, shops and events. The hotel was clean, adaquate room, and worth the price. If a Florida resident, they normally have great deals.

Room Tip: Take one day to hang around the wonderful pool area and bar. Great food too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My family and I really loved this hotel! It has so much going for it. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They really made you feel welcome and took care of you in every way. The vibe is a lot of fun...I thought it would be a little cheesy but it wasn't at all. The pool was excellent. Very large, beautiful place. Kids loved it...it was heated, had a waterslide and underwater music. Also had an adult only hot tub and a kids welcome hot tub. Nice touch! I really liked the poolside wait staff. Never felt so relaxed at a hotel pool before. And the food offered was surprisingly very good. Great salads, drinks, wine choices, etc. Usually poolside food is nothing more than french fries and bad burgers. This menu was much better than most. The rooms were fine. Nice decor, nothing special but beds were comfortable and bathrooms were very clean...looked newer (recently renovated?). The Kitchen was a wonderful restaurant. Lots of choices, large place that would be fun for couples, friends, and families alike. Everyone was welcome. And the location can't be bet. It is the closest of all of the Universal Studios hotels. Just a short walk to the park entrances and the City Walk. Boat taxis available...never waited long for a boat. And there are rickshaws available for a quick ride to the CityWalk for a small tip. Only downside for us was the lack of quick breakfast choices. The Emack and Bolio/Starbucks was small with limited seating and limited choices.. Could use more grab and go options. Eating at The Kitchen every morning would easily break the budget...but go at least once. Glad I picked this hotel. I did not regret it. You really do feel special when there...it's easy to feel like a rock star.

Room Tip: Higher rooms give you a view of the parks...thrilled the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kel_6956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Floridays Resort Orlando
#21 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,818 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#25 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Property: Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Address: 5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-7834
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#30 Family Hotel in Orlando
#34 Green Hotel in Orlando
#39 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#40 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a rock star and savor the perks of rock 'n' roll royalty with impeccable accommodations, laid-back luxurious style and show-stopping service. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Hard Rock Hotel is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Orlando
Hotel Hard Rock
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Orlando
Hard Rock Cafe Hotel Orlando
Universal Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing