We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good times”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Ranked #45 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersBronze level
Palm Harbor
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good times”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Great pool, location and food. Be sure to get the universal speed pass card before going to the parks. For the breakfast buffet don't sit near the doors the cigarette smoke from outside it terrible. The pool is great. However they seemed a little understaffed on staff.

Room Tip: Get the pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,910
    2,107
    734
    334
    193
See reviews for
5,408
1,236
63
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the kids suite at the hotel which was very large and accommodated our children fine. The room was very large. On the same floor was a hospitality suite with snacks three times a day. The breakfast was only pastries and coffee. (Marriott would give you a breakfast buffet) the lunch snack was chip and drinks. The evenings had a few appetizer styled dishes with free beer and wine. Overall the breakfast should be much better for the money.

The stay includes a fast pass for your stay. This was great as it allows you to skip long lines of your favorite rides. The stay also allows you to enter the park one hour before regular admission enters. By taking advantage of this we were the first in line at almost every ride.

The location is perfect for going back and forth to the parks. The gym and spa are nice.

The negative side is that almost every guest seemed to really be in "rock and roll" theme and there were not a lot of activities for kids to participate in while at the hotel. If there was a kids center adults could enjoy the lounge and pools while the kids took advantage of those activities.

Overall it was a good choice and the location combined with the fast pass outweighed and negatives.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiamiReporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitesboro, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I stayed with 3 friends 12/2/12 thru 12/7/12. Rooms were beautiful. We loved the soft comfortable beds. My one friend and I were in room 5058. It was near the elevators but not too close that we could hear them. It had a view of the park. We also loved the 2 sinks/mirrors so we could both get ready at the same time. We never waited more than 10 seconds for an elevator as there were 6 of them all together. This was a great week to go. There were loads of chaisse lounge chairs always available at pool and hardly anyone in the adult jacuzzi. No waiting at restaurants or rides. My friends literally got right on rides within 5 minutes. We hardly used our express passes at all except that the Harry Potter area was very busy. The great thing was if you stay at the hotel you get in one hour early. The most popular ride, Forbidden Journey, was very busy but we had no wait from 8:00 am until 9:00 am. The walk from the hotel to park took about 5 minutes and was a winding walk through beautiful lush gardens surrounded by water. You could also take the water taxi which is fun but sometimes you have to wait 10-20 minutes for it to arrive at dock. Food at hotel was delicious. There are several places to eat including a small deli type area we used mostly for breakfast, a fancy restaurant, a large buffet, and a pool side bar/restaurant. Be careful ordering drinks at poolside restaurant. There were no prices on the menu for drinks. I ordered the regular sized piña colada which was $11.00. My one friend ordered the double and it came to $21.00!!! It was larger than mine but by no means twice the size. We also had lunch there and for 2 of us with 20% tip came to $67 and the other bill for 2 came to $97 (approx). Quite an expensive lunch. And don't use the bottled water from the mini bar in your room. The large bottle was $7.50. One other thing we think could be changed is all the cards you need for the park. You have one to get in the park, one for express pass, one for City Walk plus your room card. Good idea to bring one of those plastic lanyard things to go around your neck and carry everything. They sell them there also. But it would be better if everything could be combined in one card. Don't miss the great light show in Universal by lagoon at 7:00 pm. Food in the City Walk restaurants was outstanding. We especially loved the upbeat atmosphere at Margaritaville and Bubba Gump. All in all an awesome time. All employees at hotel and park very friendly and helpful. One other thing we loved was the GREAT rock and roll music playing continuously in certain areas like by elevators, pool area. So if you don't enjoy this type of music this may not be your place to stay. And dont forget to stop by the Velvet bar for drinks. Enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stranded down south
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

everything about this trip was spot-on. Getting there was a cinch on a non-stop flight from San Antonio, Texas. A quick taxi ride and we arrived at the Mission-style mansion called the Hard Rock Orlando. It is phenomenal how we mark our lives with music along the way. Didn't think about it until I saw someone else link so much to song. Loved being surrounded by iconic photos and regalia of the Beatles, Elvis, Cher, not to mention all the new musicians that my daughter loves. The environment was so relaxing and gorgeous: the pool, the lush vegetation, the furnishings, the food, the concierge club on 7th floor is definitely worth it. The staff including Lee, Nan, and Joe for example, made it inviting for even privacy-loving freaks like we. It was better than visiting family, ha-ha. Would do it again in a heartbeat. Walking to the theme parks and City Walk is gorgeous and such a change from having to get in a car.

Room Tip: stay on the club level especially if going to parks, great for breakfast on the run, snacks, and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mae50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for your amazing feedback about the Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando. We are so happy to hear that you had an awesome time at our "Mission-style mansion". We hope to see you again soon! Rock on!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I expected the Hard Rock Orlando to be one of those "trying to be cool" places like Planet Hollywood, but this hotel was actually very cool. The vibe walking into the lobby was low-key cool, with a wide area for kicking back, awesome music and friendly staff. This actually is the place that many music stars stay when they are performing in local venues.

I also expected to see ultra-hip couples and grungy rockers, which I did - but there were also tons of families and kids from toddlers on up; teens and grandparents. If you are an active vacationer who likes action, music, and something to do all the time, this is a great hotel for you. It is also convenient - you can walk to Universal parks and citywalk shops/restaurants/clubs in about 5 -10 minutes from this hotel.

The pool is really big and if you plan to hang out for the day, I'd recommend one of the private cabanas. You can hear the music while swimming underwater and there is a great waterslide.

The rooms are in a relaxing color palette which is in contrast to the loud and colorful public areas of the hotel. They are really spacious and comfortable. If they asked me I would say only one thing was missing - the magnifying mirror in the dressing area!

After four nights there, I really felt like a VIP not just because of the surroundings, but the staff makes you feel special too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ForeverSands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about the Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando. We love that you dig our vibe and felt the rock star treatment that we are all about! Come see us again soon and Rock on!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We chose to stay at the Hard Rock Orlando for two nights in October before moving to an apartment style hotel for 9 nights because it included the early entry to Harry Potter World and the Express Pass. Also, it is a short walk to the the Universal Boardwalk so it is a great location. The walk to the parks through the gardens was very pleasant. We stayed in a Queen Deluxe room which had two queen beds and a pull out sofa bed so comfortably slept the 5 of us. It was a large spacious room with a separate area with a wardrobe and large luggage storage area so we weren't tripping over our cases. The room was nicely decorated, clean and well maintained. The kids loved the pool, it was a great way to end a long day at the theme parks. Ate at the restaurant one night as it was raining so hard we were pretty much trapped at the hotel. The meal was average for the price. It is a great place to stay for a short visit while going to Universal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tripgirl680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed at the Hard Rock for my 5th time in mid October 2012. I have never had a bad stay here. From my early 20's with my friends to my mid thirties with my wife and kids, this place never fails to satisfy. I think the constant theme you will pick out of hundreds of reviews is that the location, park perks, staff and pool are it's best assets. Not to mention the "vibe" that I just didn't feel at the Portofino when I stayed.

We stayed on the club level again, which was worth it for our family of 4 in breakfast, snacks, and water/drinks alone. Every staff member in the "club" really seemed to truly enjoy their job and were very accomodating with special requests and service.

We arrived in Orlando very early,we were at the hotel by 10 AM and fully expected to have to check our bags and return later when the room was ready. We figured we'd change into our suits and relax by the pool. However, we were very pleased to find out that our room was available and we could check in right away--fantastic!

My kids are 4 and 8, and of course they loved the parks.. due to the special access to the rides, we were often done by 1pm with the kids asking to go to the pool (which we did every day and almost every night). They could not get enough of the waterslide, the parties, and swimming around in scuba masks. Mom and Dad got to relax in the shallow waters with some drinks and sunshine. The past few weeks the kids have been asking "When are we going back to the hotel??"

We didn't rent a car so we avoided the parking fees and such, there was really no need as you can walk or take a boat to everything unless you are going off site. We ate at many different restaurants but our favorites were The Kitchen and The Hard Rock Cafe. I'm usually a Margaritaville fan but quite honestly the kids didn't enjoy the food or atmosphere so no hanging out on the "porch of indecision" on this visit for me.. AAA discounts were honored at all the restaurants we visited in Citywalk.

Great stay (again) Hard Rock.. thank you.. see you soon...

Room Tip: In my opinion, the club level is a good value for families. It is not a crazy celebrity suite situat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Floridays Resort Orlando
#19 of 335 in Orlando
7,705 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#28 of 335 in Orlando
4,058 reviews
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Property: Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Address: 5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-7834
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#30 Family Hotel in Orlando
#34 Green Hotel in Orlando
#39 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#40 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a rock star and savor the perks of rock 'n' roll royalty with impeccable accommodations, laid-back luxurious style and show-stopping service. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Hard Rock Hotel is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Orlando
Hotel Hard Rock
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Orlando
Hard Rock Cafe Hotel Orlando
Universal Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing