We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard Rock "Rocks"!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Ranked #39 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Hard Rock "Rocks"!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed twice during a recent vacation to Fl; first time in a ground level garden view room very near the pool entrance and second time in a 6th floor king room. Both rooms were very clean, spacious, quiet and comfortable. Appreciated the coffee/tea maker for morning times, the safe, the robes, and the large bathroom with separate washbasin area off the room. Did not appreciate the lack of free wifi in the room - seemed strange to have to go to the lobby, pool area or bars to use wifi! Found all staff to be uber helpful, friendly and professional but without creating a fuss - excellent. Felt entirely at-home, relaxed and at ease in the hotel and surrounding areas. The beachclub drinks and food were really good, both at breakfast & lunch times; as was Velvet when eating late-night. Universal Studios is about a five min walk from the hotel's pool gate and it's a pleasant walk through gardens, along the waterfront. It's an expensive hotel but it's worth it in my opinion; I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohjustpeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,141
    1,875
    633
    279
    150
See reviews for
4,565
1,028
53
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at the resort with our two teenagers and thoroughly enjoyed the room, the pool, the location and the other facilities. The best thing about staying at this hotel is that you get express passes for the rides at the Universal theme parks and early entrance to the theme parks. The express passes allowed us to bypass the lineups and make it through the park faster. Purchased separately, express passes can cost up to $89 per person (during peak times) and that feature alone made it easy to justify the cost of the hotel. We also enjoyed the pool and the buffet breakfast at the hotel. We only dined at the hotel once though, because it was a short walk to Universal City walk where you can find other great restaurants at far better prices.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderwoman1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

As many know, Orlando is not just a place for young kids. We had a great time at a convention in Orlando. Very tired and then we checked into the Hard Rock Hotel at Universal.

Real nice room. Very comfortable.
Nice room service, valet and close to Universal City Walk.
I recommend the place.

Room Tip: I like the King beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LongHaul52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for just a couple of nights before going to meet the family at a villa but really didn't want to leave! We loved the hotel and everything abt it! The pool was amazing! The pool food & drink menu was amazing also. Our room was lovely! Loved the early access to park too! Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CazB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Visited with my infant and spouse. Pool was amazing, nice and quiet which I loved (off season). Loved the taxi boat to universal, made universal citywalk into my daily routine taking the boat back- the walk through the gardens were beautiful so make sure you do that as well.
Note: Wanted a king size bed and found out there are only six rooms with a king bed I the entire hotel! We got one across from the kids club on the first floor, the doors to the closet were broken and the duvet was really lumpy. The room was a nice size.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjsmith25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed 3 nights this November. The hotel and grounds are beautiful! We spent time at the pool and loved the atmosphere, the water slide was great as well as all the activities for the kids....hula hoop contests, waterballoon toss etc. The servers around the pool were very attentive, great mixed drinks and wonderful snacks...nachos, chili cheese fries, wings etc. They also had a Dive In Movie each night at the pool. The kids loved watching the movie from the pool after a long day at the parks.

The hotel rooms were clean and spacious. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only complaint was that the foam mattress tops they had on the beds were not that comfortable.

The express pass you get for the rides at Universal are worth every penny of the cost of the room. We went to the front of all the ride lines and were able to do much more in the parks because we had shorter wait times at all the rides. The other perk of getting into the Wizarding World of Harry Potter and hour early each day was fantastic. We walked right on to the Harry Potter Ride 2 times before the park opened to the public! It was fantastic! We would definitely stay at the Universal Hard Rock Hotel again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JillVA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfild, Mo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

So the hotel itself was a normal resort hotel. No complaints. The staff was friendly and the room was clean. The pool area was huge, and shallow so if you you have kids they will like it. But the main reason to stay here is the location. It is a four minute walk to the theme parks. You can spend a few hours at the parks, go back to the room and rest or swim, then go back to the park. For us, this made it worth the money ;)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 338 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 stars 1,224 reviews
Florida Center
Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Property: Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Address: 5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#30 Family Hotel in Orlando
#30 Green Hotel in Orlando
#39 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#40 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a rock star and savor the perks of rock 'n' roll royalty with impeccable accommodations, laid-back luxurious style and show-stopping service. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Hard Rock Hotel is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, ETB, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Orlando
Hotel Hard Rock
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Orlando
Hard Rock Cafe Hotel Orlando
Universal Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing