We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed Feelings - Wonderful staff and location. Room mediocre” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Ranked #45 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersBronze level
Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings - Wonderful staff and location. Room mediocre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Have stayed at all three hotels on Universal property multiple times. You can't beat the express pass for each guest in the room and extra hour at the park. The Hard Rock has the best location, the pool area is awesome, music is great, and the staff is wonderful. But the rooms just don't do it for me.The walls are thin and although the room is not dirty, there is just not an ultra clean vibe to it. This did not seem a housekeeping issue. Last renovation was 2006. Garden and pool view rooms are 375 sq. ft and have a coffee maker, iron and Ironing board, hair dryer and make up mirror, daily newspaper if requested. Microwave/fridge are not included. Had two teenagers with me they rank this the best of the three (I think this is due to the coolness factor). Unless you are going to frequently use the pool area definitely suggest Portofino or Royal Pacific over this one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dsapp002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,841
    2,083
    725
    327
    188
See reviews for
5,313
1,224
61
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Awesome place to stay while visiting Orlando. Huge room for our family with 2 teenagers. Free Fast Pass and early admission to Harry Potter a definite advantage. Short walk to the parks or the water taxi was fun, especially at night. Pool area great and the spa was fun to meet others holidaying.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeaganPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Just returned from the Hard Rock and had a great experience. This was our first time at the Hard Work and we really enjoyed it. The staff was wonderful. Everyone went out of their way to be helpful, you never got the sense that the employees were just punching the clock and waiting for their shift to be over. It's definitely worth it to splurge for the club level - you get a free continental breakfast, a snack at lunchtime, plus free beer/wine and hot appetizers at dinner.
The rooms are unremarkable but worked just fine for a family of four. The grounds were lovely and the kids loved the pool. The only negative about the pool was you were not allowed to play with a small ball but had to buy a large inflatable beach ball for $10 if your kids wanted to play catch. Also, there were a lot of ducks pooping in the pool - kind of gross.
It was a very easy walk to all Universal attractions and we had a great time! Worth it just for the express pass alone!

Room Tip: Splurge for the club level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Byron, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

The people who work at the Hard Rock Hotel are obsolutely wonderful. They make you feel so welcome and me and my family being from Iowa we were over whelmed. We made a few mistakes getting all signed in and adjusted but we were told don't worry about it your not the first and you won't be the last and to smile and things will be ok. We bought the vacation package and it was very nice to have, the only thing I have some complaints about is the meal tickets to buy for the use over at Island of Adventure and Universal Studios. They did not tell us that they were only good for three resturants in the parks. Three resturants in each park. If you are going to offer these tickets please let people know there is only a very small selected few to eat at. I was not impressed by the food and one of the resturants were not even open. Also every place I have stayed at you usually get your wifi for free at the Hard Rock this is not the case so be prepared to pay for internet. Everything is very clean and that is very important to me and my family. I manage a campground and I rent out some trailers and a little lodge and I clean them the way I would want them to be if it was me staying in them. All in all not a bad place at all but they do need to stop charging for wifi and if your are going to offer the meal tickets either have more resturants you can eat at or let people know that there only a few and I highly doubt people would buy them I know I wouldn't have.

Room Tip: Ask for one that faces the pool not only is it a beautiful view, but you can see the fireworks from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vdague53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

The Hard Rock isn't cheap, but it is clean, comfortable and very friendly - all of the staff seemed to genuinely want you to have a good stay. I was a bit worried that it would be noisy set right next to the Universal parks, but it's set amongst some lovely gardens and the only time you can hear the park is from the fireworks. Probably the biggest benefit is the inclusive express pass for Universal and priority access to Harry Potter, but being on the doorstep of City Walk is also great for evening entertainment. I'd also recommend the food at the pool bar - not a massive choice, but very nice food.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CSB1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
172 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

The staff are friendly. You can get free fast pass (it is called express pass in Universal Studio). The hotel is very close to the theme park, you can either take a boat or walk. The staff are friendly. The room is clean and modern. We got different design of room key for each family member. The kids had great fun on the water slide in the pool. The location is convenient - it is close to the outlet and restaurants. It is good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lau_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Hard Rock Hotel in Orlando stands alone as a unique destination Hotel. On the one hand, your stay at the Hard Rock will be a memorable and special experience.

The pool area is super cool, on the one hand you can be as active as you want, catch a game of beach volleyball or enjoy the super fast water slide; while on the other hand, you can grab your Kindle, pick a great spot and enjoy a good read while basking in the warm Florida sun.

All this, while enjoying outstanding poolside service from the Hard Rock beach club and feeling like a true Rock Star incognito.

This pool is so cool that it even has underwater speakers, truly a unique experience.

It was almost easy to forget we were right there next to the theme parks. Since we were there over the long weekend, we chose a different mode of complimentary transportation every time we went to Universal Studios or Islands of Adventure. Being so close to Universal Studios we would usually walk there in the morning and then take the water taxi to return to the hotel in the evening. A couple of times we even enjoyed a Rickshaw bicycle ride from the Hotel to the entrance to the park.

The benefits of staying close, in addition to Rock Star convenience, also made our visit extra special. The express pass, allowed us to ride the Hulk rollercoaster as many times as we liked without having to wait in line and this applied for most of the rides in both Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure. What a wonderful experience ! to be able to ride and enjoy all these attractions with little to no wait. Priceless !!!

Also, we took advantage of the Early Park Admission and enjoyed the Wizarding World of Harry Potter before the general public did. It really gives a lot of value to the Hard Rock Hotel, the feeling and the ability to really manage your time while enjoying these parks is simply a great benefit, worth its weight in gold.

Back to the Hotel, we had a really good time at the Velvet bar in the evenings and it is wonderful to know that you can truly enjoy and relax in a wonderful atmosphere without ever having to move your car during your stay.

Our stay helped us create memories that will be with us forever, and were they are starting to get a little faded, we will simply return to make more. If Orlando is in your future plans, a stay at the Hard Rock is simply the only way to go.

Room Tip: Stay in a Club Level room, the extra amenities, access to Club 7 lounge and key access only to your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maverick64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#29 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,993 reviews
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 335 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Property: Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Address: 5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-7834
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#30 Family Hotel in Orlando
#33 Green Hotel in Orlando
#39 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#40 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a rock star and savor the perks of rock 'n' roll royalty with impeccable accommodations, laid-back luxurious style and show-stopping service. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Hard Rock Hotel is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Orlando
Hotel Hard Rock
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Orlando
Hard Rock Cafe Hotel Orlando
Universal Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing