We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early entry to Universal Parks & lot's of luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Ranked #44 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 28, 2012

There is almost nothing to complain about at Hard Rock Hotel Universal. As it’s pointless saying it's expensive, (especially the poolside drinks and food) because you are paying for the convenience, early entry & free express passes for the parks, on top of a luxury themed hotel in wonderful surroundings. As somebody who hates queuing, the free express passes and closeness to the parks are worth every penny. The Hotel itself is top notch; 2 restaurants; we only tried ‘the Kitchen’ on our stay which was great; a Starbucks with small shop, 2 bars, one outside by the pool; 2 Jacuzzi & a pool with underwater sound system, rooms were very spacious and very clean, staff were all courteous and incredibly helpful. It's a quick ferry (water taxi), short walk or rickshaw ride to the parks. If you just miss a ferry the wait can be up to 15 minutes, so either a 5 minute walk or rickshaw ride, the peddlers work on tips only. If you are going to Orlando and just want to do Universal, Wet & Wild, & Sea World as we did (we’ve ‘done’ Disney a few times before) then Hard Rock Hotel would be a good choice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JShuker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,965)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,347 - 6,353 of 8,967 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed in the Hard Rock earlier this week for 3 nights. We were spending 2 days in Universal and booked this hotel as we wanted to be able to walk to the parks. We paid about $700 for the 3 nights, room only basis.

We booked a garden view double queen room as it was the cheapest. It was an average 4 star quality room; clean linen, comfy bed, good room size, basic bathroom (as we always find bathrooms to be in Orlando). Expensive mini bar. The convenience shop downstairs was useful for breakfast on the go, coffee and snacks.

In short, it was nothing special but perfectly adequate. A good choice as a base hotel for the parks but not the kind of hotel we would book for a relaxing break or if we didn’t intend to spend all of our time in the parks.

You get the following “extras” if you book a Universal Hotel;
- Early Park Entrance to Harry Potter (from 8-9am). We didn’t use this as its too early for us.
- “Unlimited Express” Line Pass. You can always buy this if you are not staying in a universal hotel. It was not necessary at this time of year as it only saved a wait time of about 5 -10 mins. On our previous trip in Nov 2012 (when we were staying on universal blvd) we purchased this pass and found it great as the park was busier. However, as we only did the majority of rides once we would purchase the one-time express pass called “Universal Express Pass” for future visits – unlimited was a waste for us. The rides that we did numerous times didn’t take the “express pass”. See my review on Universal for more info.
- Facility to charge everything to your room (in the Parks and City Walk). This was useful but hardly essential…

On our previous trip we stayed in the Crowne Plaza on Universal Blvd (as we booked last minute and paid about $80 per night). In our opinion the hotel room quality was the same in both hotels.

Would we book it again?
We would certainly price up all of the 3 Universal Hotels (so that we could walk to the parks) and compare it to another hotel (adding on the “Universal Express Pass” ). But it would all come down how much we were prepared to pay for the convenience of walking to/from the parks as for us this was the only advantage of the Hard Rock. We wouldn’t pay $700 again for this room, it would have to come in way cheaper…

Room Tip: We wouldn't pay for the pool view - the gardens are just as nice. Windows are very small anyway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mccrudden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Hard Rock at Universal Orlando is a beautiful hotel that is walking distance from Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure and City Walk. The pool area is fabulous. If you dont want to wait in long lines at the park, this is the place to stay because you get free express passes for everyone in your room and you get into the park a full hour earlier than the general public. The biggest disappointment is free wireless is only available in the lobby, they charge $10 a day to access from your room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Sorry guys - will NOT be back - they allow animals in the hotel and do not advise guests of this - When we highlighted this to your reception - all they did was to advise that "there are no dogs on your floor" -- so on top I got called a liar. There WAS a dog on our floor - we saw owner and dog enter the room and heard it barking at 0400am. Pool extremely cold and if you visit at 0900am beware of distinct smell of sewer and not only smelt by us - the poor life guards were retching. So disappointing - we have stayed before and was looking forward to a very special occasion on our holiday - but instead we checked out after just 3 days and went elsewhere despite having paid for a full week. Parking is $15 a night! Staff and grounds are lovely though so if that is what is high on your wish list enjoy. I can honestly not find much to rave about for Hard Rock - have they grown too big and no longer care - perhaps - well they lost us.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask about animal friendly floors - but do not choose this hotel if you have astma as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

We are disappointed to read these comments. While we are pet-friendly, there is a designated wing of rooms for those guests who wish to bring their pet. We would like to investigate further and get more details from you so we can ensure this does not happen again.
Please contact us at: hardrockcustomerservice@loewshotels.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was our first time staying at the hard rock, The grounds were beautiful. nice feel walking into the lobby. While checking in we decided to up grade to the club level, ( These rooms run about six hundred + a night) We had 3 kids so we wanted extra space. The room was nice, the bedding beautiful. What was odd to me the kids room was huge and private.... the king size bed was wedged into a corner of the living room with no privacy. ( SHouldn't the adults get the private room? ) What ever, with 3 kids the bed is only for sleeping anyway LOL. There is one toilet and 2 showers which helped us get out of the room faster in the morning.We had 1 sink that wouldn't drain and they never sent anyone to fix it. What was really great was on the club level (top floor) 3-4 times a day they have some sort of food buffet, breakfast, snacks, hor dourves, sweets at night. I wish we had taken more advantage of this treat! They have a resaurant called the Kitchen, that was very good. It's a quick walk to the parks, the ferry wait is sometimes long so we choose to walk. My only pet peeve was that they charge you to park. ($20 a day) When spending that kind of money I think that parking should be included!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BreezieNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have stayed at the HR at least 6 times over the last several years, we highly recomend this hotel for families with kids. It is a short walk to the Theme Parks (approx 5-10mins). What we love about staying in the Universal Hotels is we always get a 4 day package, this includes tickets. some people when booking see the price and think it is expensive and decide to stay outside the resort. Guess what you are making a huge mistake, one thing people don't relize is besides the short walk, the park opens early to all hotel guest, The first year Harry Potter opened the line had to be at least 2hr wait, well the next day we went at 7am, my kids and I did the ride 5 times in a row in about 35 minutes, they would have stayed and done it again, but we had left my wife to rest, we went back to the HR, to some coffee up stairs, relaxed for a bit, then went down for Breakfast, we slowly made our way back to the theme parks.... AND THIS IS THE BEST THING EVER!!!! we enter the park, see a massive line, show the staff member our room key and miss all the lines, which i can't stand. Now you can stay in any of the Universals Hotels the price varies from $1,200-1,800 for the 4 nights for 4 people (Kids 6/13yrs). so if you break it down per person per day it is on an average of $87.50. which beleive it or not is almost the price for on theme park ticket.
Just my opinion.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Captmatt28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

While not cheap this place is worth the money. Everything about it is five-star from the grounds, to the rooms, to the staff it is all good. From the door man when we arrived, not one staff member failed to go out of their way to be helpful and ensure our needs were being met, a tough thing to accomplish in such a large hotel.
The immediate benefits of being adjacent to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure and City Walk are obvious (e.g. early park access, Express Pass) but the walk (or boat ride) to the parks is not only short but through beautifully landscaped grounds. You are close enought to take a break from the parks during the more hectic periods of midday.
The Kitchen was a surprising change from most high-end hotels. Great food and lots of it for a very reasonable price.
Happily go back anytime to this Hard Rock and will try others as a result of this stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bearwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,470 reviews
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#28 of 340 in Orlando
4,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Address: 5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-7834
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#30 Family Hotel in Orlando
#32 Green Hotel in Orlando
#39 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#40 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $278 - $604 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a rock star and savor the perks of rock 'n' roll royalty with impeccable accommodations, laid-back luxurious style and show-stopping service. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Hard Rock Hotel is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Orlando
Hotel Hard Rock
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Orlando
Hard Rock Cafe Hotel Orlando
Universal Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing