We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time and still as good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
Ranked #45 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Worth staying just for the fast pass and early entry to go on fj.
Staff very friendly and kind to the kids.
I had a badge, a mention on the birthday page in reception, a piece of birthday cake in our room and a voucher for a drink or ice cream because I was celebrating my birthday, which were all nice touches.
It's so easy to get to park, I walked it in about 7 mins, even got to entrance of universal studios before the rest of family who used the boat, as it stops other side of the water.
Rooms were plenty big enough, with 2 very comfy beds and a cot for my 2 year old.
Movie on the big screen by the heated pool (shrek 4) and character dining with Bart add to a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind words about the Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando! We are glad to hear that you liked our convenient, on-site location and excellent service. We look forward to seeing you again, but until then, rock on!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,862)
There are newer reviews for Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,804 - 6,810 of 8,862 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2012

Nice bedding, nice room but no better than Embassy or Hampton. Atleast with them you get 2 rooms microwave 'fridge breakfast and drinks without using a credit card limit to have it. Like many things - too much hype for too little product.
You better pay for the top of the line room if you expect anything special.
The Loews Hotels clearly and distinctlnctly seperate classes by financial status at every inch of their properties.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MinorityWhiteMale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed at HRH for 6 nights just before Christmas. We booked two rooms on Club Level. The club room is small, dirty and has cafeteria tables and uncomfortable plastic chairs. Food is terrible and staff cannot refill quick enough - I assume they had oversold club during this time. You had to queue for a drink during the happy hour then ask for what you want and it is doled out to you. If you wanted to or had to take your drink back to your room (because there is nowhere to sit in the club room), it is poured into a plactic cup for you! Staff is young and inexperienced and I think quite overwhelmed with the number of people to try and serve. Cutlery and crockery were consistently unavailable. Floor was filthy and sticky from spills not cleaned up properly. The hotel is obviously convenient to US and IoA and allows early entry to HPW and use of the express lines at both parks - huge benefits. Don't waste your money paying for club level - this is the worst hotel club I have ever experienced - by far - I would suggest anyone who says otherwise has not stayed in many other hotel club rooms. After the first day, we only ever used it for breakfast and that was a struggle.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Travelwriter63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed four nights here and what a surprise this hotel had for us. The hotel is lovely, the gym and staff were excellent. Dorby in Emack and Balios makes the best smoothies in Orlando! The hotel is in an excellent position for the two theme parks and we recommend the bike rickshaw rides to the theme parks. We had one meal in the kitchen on the saturday night and unfortunately my meal was cold and i had to send it back. The pool is only 4 foot deep, my autistic daughter was not aloud to take her water ball in, the pool manager was way over the top and upsetting. Ashley the manager was lovely and helpful but the damage had already been done. Note to Virgin guests - If you intend to take your luggage to Downtown Disney make sure you tell the maids even though you haven't checked out and you have a late check out time, otherwise you will find your belongings gone and shared out with the maids like we experienced. The Club 7 lounge was way too small for the amount of guests staying, it was like feeding time at the zoo but the staff were brilliant and friendly. Unfortunately my daughter still wants to come back just for the smoothies that Dorby makes! We had an enjoyable stay with some surprices! and will return.
Kind Regards
The Garnett Family x

Room Tip: We were looking over graceland very quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Stayed at this hotel with a teenage daughter and son in December 2011. Everything from checkin to checkout was handled with superior service. The staff was always both willing and able to answer any questions or address our needs. Facility is beautiful, clean, and attractive. can't wait to go back - a respite in the center of theme park madness!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbc2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We loved our one night at the Hard Rock Hotel. Nothing went wrong and many things we wouldn't even have thought of went very right. Check-in was smooth, courteous, and efficient. The person at the desk gave us detailed and accurate information (without our even asking) about hotel amenities, how to get the most out of our early-admission-to-the-park privileges the next morning, and more. Our room was very spacious, clean, and luxuriously appointed. They have a deal where you can check out a classic guitar of your choice and use it in your room for free. This aging-hippie rocker dad was totally blissed out by that option.

The next morning we were able to zip right in to Harry Potter's world at the crack of dawn and see it all before the hordes descended. Our Fast Pass (they call it something else, which I can't remember) that comes as a perk with the hotel room--just show your room key--made the rest of the day go very smoothly.

We were glad we splurged on this experience.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelfoucault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Stayed at the Hard Rock for 5 days in early December with my wife and two daughters and had a really great experience. Nice facilities, generously sized rooms and ample services. Really liked the proximity to water taxi and path to City Walk, Universal & IOA. Highly recommended for families. We'll definitely be staying at the Hard Rock the next time we're in Orlando!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgreene2992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2012

Thank you for your great positive feedback about the Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and the services that we provided to you. We hope to see you back soon! Until next time, rock on!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#27 of 340 in Orlando
4,416 reviews
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Address: 5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-7834
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#30 Family Hotel in Orlando
#32 Green Hotel in Orlando
#39 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#40 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $279 - $596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a rock star and savor the perks of rock 'n' roll royalty with impeccable accommodations, laid-back luxurious style and show-stopping service. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Hard Rock Hotel is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Orlando
Hotel Hard Rock
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Orlando
Hard Rock Cafe Hotel Orlando
Universal Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing