We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel no complaints!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando
Ranked #56 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks at this hotel with my two teenage sons and we had a fantastic holiday. We had a room on the 7th floor in tower 2 which was spacious, spotless and with a fantastic view of the park!
We didn't really use the on site restaurants much, breakfast on first morning only, as we tended to stop off on our way out to the attractions. The boat that took you into Universal was a lovely relaxing start to the day and it runs quite late into the night too. The fast pass, which you get from a kiosk in reception, was brilliant, so much so that we didn't bother using the early park entrance as we didn't have to queue long anyway!
The only thing I missed was a balcony, as I like to sit out in the morning, but maybe on the 7th floor not such a good idea!
The pool area was very well laid out and as it opened till 11pm it was great to relax there after a long day out. Towels and sun cream are all available free of charge from the pool kiosk and the food served here was good and quite reasonably priced too.
Overall a brilliant holiday at a lovely well run hotel, Thank you!

Room Tip: Ask a room high up the view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank S00kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPR, General Manager at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Aloha S00kay!
We can’t thank you enough for the great FIVE star review on Tripadvisor! It is wonderful to hear that you found value in our perks such as the express passes and transportation to the theme parks. We hope that next time you visit us, you will get the chance to experience our fabulous restaurants. On behalf of our entire team, we would like to thank you for choosing our resort as part of your vacation. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9,891)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,662 - 5,668 of 9,891 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

The decision to book at this hotel was a tough one for me as I am NOT one to pay $300+ per night for any type of hotel. I am a platinum member in the Choice Privileges program, so that will tell you what my general philosophy about hotel pricing is. However, as it was spring break, my wife and I decided that the extra park benefits would be worth the money.

The Benefits: Guests get in 1 hour early to Harry Potter in IOA and the Universal Express pass for the day you check in and the day you check out. Translated- we stayed one night and got the benefits for two days. Parking at the resort is more expensive than the parking garage, but its closer, we only paid for the one night, and we were able to use the hotel parking lot all day the next day (even after we checked out). After all that was said and done, we still felt that we still made out ok even if the hotel is way overpriced.

The Good: The hotel is well decorated in the South Seas style. The pool area was very nice. The water taxi was convenient, but it was also very easy to walk to the parks (it is that close). All staff members we came in contact with were very friendly and helpful during our short stay. The room, although on the small side, was clean and comfortable. We didn’t visit any of the restaurants, so I can’t comment on them other than they looked nice. Beds were very comfortable and bathroom was extremely nice.

The Not-So-Good: I have to say that, although priced comparatively to the deluxe Disney hotels, this one just can’t compete with any of them in my opinion in terms of overall experience. Just the look and feel doesn’t seem to transport the guests as, say the Disney Polynesian Resort. Is that a fair comparison? I think so due to the price paid. The hotel is extremely large and confusing to navigate. As already stated, the room was rather small (even compared to a much cheaper Comfort Inn we stayed immediately afterward). Lastly, this is probably my worst pet peeve about so-called fancy hotels: I felt like I was being nickled and dimed to death. When paying so much for a hotel room, I would expect at least the same type of amenities as a cheaper hotel. I realize that a Danish or doughnut in the morning is probably out of the question, but the fact that I couldn’t even get a freakin cup of coffee in the lobby out of a machine without it costing me $5 just ticked me off! Also, for $300+ a night, is it too much to ask to be given a complimentary parking spot for crying out loud? Disney resorts don’t even charge to park (for now).

Ok, my rant is over. Overall, the hotel is nice and the benefits are good if you don’t want to wait in LONG lines during peak times of the year. But if it’s a slow season, don’t waste your money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank jhg155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPR, General Manager at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Aloha jhg155!
As a seasoned traveler and Top Contributor on Tripadvisor, thank you for all of your posting regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad you were able to enjoy all of the benefits of our resort like the express pass and the early park admission. We’re extremely happy that our staff surpassed your expectations and you were pleased with our room accommodations. We’d like to thank you for your candid feedback regarding our amenities and we’ll be making note for further consideration. If you happen to come back to Universal Orlando we hope to welcome you back to the Loews Royal Pacific Resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed here for a couple nights. This hotel is a great option for Universal Studios for those looking for hotel benefits and convenience. Ill review each aspect of the hotel we experience during our short stay.

Checkin: Quick and easy. We actually got to the hotel at 10 a.m. and our room was ready! Which was convenient to spend the rest of the day in the parks. Getting Unlimited Express was easy as well.

Rooms: Very nice room. Everything is beautifully decorated with a very comfortable king sized bed. We honestly didn't spend much time here due to only being here a couple days. But the room is definitely suitable and comfortable for a longer stay.

Pool: Large pool with plenty activities for the whole family. The play movies pool side at night, which is a lot of fun. The pool bar served great drinks for us adults. The pool served as a great rest from the parks during the afternoon.

Transportation: One of the best parts of this hotel is its location. You can walk to both parks, or take a shuttle/boat ride right to City Walk. Being so close to the parks makes in convenient to go back and forth from the parks to the hotel.

Unlimited Express is the best feature of this hotel. We did every single ride in two days because of Unlimited Express. You basically skip the regular lines for every ride but the two Harry Potter rides. Because of the popularity of Gringots Bank, the old Harry Potter ride's (which in my opinion is better than Gringots Bank) wait is not bad at all now.

Another great Universal Studios option. My wife and I stayed both here and the Hard Rock before. We liked the Hard Rock a little better, but it is also more expensive. You really can't go wrong with either option though...

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Trey12Bonge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPR, General Manager at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Aloha Trey12Bonge!
Thank you so much for taking the time to rate the Loews Royal Pacific Resort FIVE out of FIVE stars on Tripadvisor! We found your detailed description of what our resort has to offer to be extremely accurate and we are thankful for your candid feedback to aid future travelers to this area. Your positive mentions of our pool, transportation, and other guest benefits are also appreciated! We are honored you chose our resort as your place of stay while visiting Universal Orlando and we look forward to your next visit to the Islands! Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

First stay at this hotel. Our family of four decided on a Universal package that would include hotel, multi-park passes and of course the much desired Express Pass. We arrived at noon and went through the check in line quickly. Since we were early we checked our luggage and opted to receive a text message when our room was ready. We picked up our tickets and took us all of twenty minutes before we were headed to the park. There was plenty of staff to guide us through the process and even the guys at valet explained where the walking path to the park was located. The text came promptly at four but we didn't return to the hotel until 9 pm. A porter escorted us and our bags to our room and gave us the lay of the land along the way. He explained the location of the restaurants, the features of our room and even vending locations. The room was okay, it overlooked the pool and was clean and adequately outfitted. I knew going in that the room was on the small side at about 430 square feet, but I was mentally prepared for that and had my organization skills ready to handle it. We traveled with two teens so the fact that the vanity area is not located with the tub and toilet helped a lot. Even though this was family time, all four of us traveled with at least two personal devises that required WIFI. The WIFI is a little sketchy at times and you only receive access for four devices at any time. I'm not down grading them for that because truth be told poor connectivity often leads to more family bonding time (funny how that works). The pool area looked lovely, but we didn't use it. We also skipped the resort restaurants instead choosing to have delivery or eat at City Walk. The resort is about an 8 minute walk to City Walk along a lovely and secure path. It's another two minutes to the gate of Island of Adventures. It's quicker to walk than take a boat. The resort is near the International Drive area so its pretty covenient for shopping and dining and other attractions. We stayed at the resorts for 3 days which we found to be more than adequate to do both parks. We found the resort to be easy to navigate and the staff pleasant. We even found the laundry room which we were totally awed by the fact that the machines worked with credit cards. We think this hotel is great for families.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank cadchick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPR, General Manager at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Aloha cadchick1!
As a Senior Contributor on Tripadvisor, we appreciate your review of the Loews Royal Pacific Resort! We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful time staying on site with us and that you’d recommend our resort for families. We hope that our guest service, as noted with our bell staff, surpassed your expectations and that our staff assisted you and your family with any questions and requests during your stay. Thank you again for your great review! We can’t wait to welcome you back on your next trip to Universal Orlando!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed for one night to take advantage of the above mentioned extras. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. You can check in as early as you want to get the Express Pass activated so you can use Express Pass on check in and check out day. Bag check will hold your bags for you and they text you and activate your room keys when the room is ready. Walk or take the boat to Universal. You can leave your car there the entire day of checkout so you actually only pay for 1 day of parking for 2 days at the park. We used EPA to get into Diagon Alley and on the Gringotts ride before the park opened to the general public. The room itself was okay, nothing special but larger than the Disney Hotel rooms I have stayed at. The pool area is nice but just off the main pedestrian walkway. The gym is well equipped although I did enough walking in the 2 days, I didn't feel guilty skipping the gym. We ate at Tchoup Chop and Jakes Bar and had great meals and great service in both. It was really nice to walk back to the hotel for a break, dinner and then head back to the parks refreshed.
I found it quite noisy hearing people in the hallway most of the night.
The hotel is worth it for one night if you can make use of 2 days at the park. It was the cheaper of the premium resorts and for one night it was fine. When you are going for the parks, you only use the room for sleeping. We received a AAA/CAA discount so actually paid less than $300 for the room. Everyone in the room gets an Express pass (there were 3 of us). If you are going at a quieter time of year and won't need the Express Pass, then I recommend the new Cabana Bay. Very reasonable rates and still on site.

Room Tip: At end of a hallway to avoid hall noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MapleRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPR, General Manager at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Aloha MapleRes!
As a Top Contributor on Tripadvisor, we’d like to thank you for your descriptive, and informative, review about our resort and Universal Orlando. We’re happy you were able to take advantage of the amenities and benefits the Loews Royal Pacific offers its guests. We appreciate your positive mentions of our luggage services, aquatics area, gym, and dining options! We’re glad to have had you visit us in the Islands and look forward to your return! Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel was the bomb! We decided to switch to staying on-site at the last minute. And then I had a hard time deciding among the original three on-site hotels. I finally opted for a one-bedroom suite at RP. It was so worth it. Our room was gorgeous and looked out on the pool and parks. You can easily walk to the parks and City Walk from the hotel. The Express Pass and early park admission you get with staying at RP are so worth the money. In fact, I wouldn't go back without them. Our bellman gave us one pointer when we arrived and it was the best tip we got. If early park admission starts at 7 AM, that means they really open the gates at 6:30. Be at the gates by 6 or 6:10 and it will be worth it. If you wait until 7 to go you might as well go at 8. The lines at Grinott's are already quite long by 7. We were able to ride it within 10 minutes by arriving at 6:10. And then we were able to take the train to the Hogsmeade and raid the original ride. WHEN we go back, we will stay at Royal Pacific.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank houston1836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPR, General Manager at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Aloha houston1836!
As a Top Contributor on Tripadvisor, we truly appreciate your FIVE out of FIVE stars rating! We are thrilled to hear you loved the scenery when looking out your guest room window. Our proximity to the theme parks and early park admission are definitely perks not to be overlooked when staying at the Royal Pacific and it sounds like, with the aid of one of our team members, you made the most of your time spent with us! Thank you, again, for your enthusiastic review of the Loews Royal Pacific Resort! We’re looking forward to welcoming you back to the Islands soon! Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

There are only 3 real benefits to staying in this hotel for the price you pay; 1) Location-helps to be on site at Universal as there is so much walking! Water taxis very very good. 2) Fast track Passes Included - highly worth it especially as the parks get so busy and standing in the heat is hard work! 3) Early entry to the Harry Potter parks which was a huge benefit for us.

Otherwise everything at the hotel has an extra charge, rooms are very basic for the price, food was very average and unimpressive and it costs 20 dollars in a taxi to go round the corner onto International drive so you are rather isolated from other attractions in Orlando...so hiring a car may be a good option!

Overall a very average hotel but has benefits if your main focus is Universal studios.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Simi072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPR, General Manager at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Aloha Simi072!
As a Senior Reviewer on Tripadvisor, we would like to thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We’re happy to hear the benefits we offer our guests were of much use to you. Our location, the Express Passes, and early entry to the Universal Orlando parks are just a few of the conveniences we offer our visitors in order to make their stay as care-free and relaxing as possible while on vacation. The water taxi is a nice, scenic way to enjoy the short trip over to Universal Orlando. As we are thankful for your feedback, we will take note for further consideration. Thank you for staying with us at the Loews Royal Pacific Resort! We look forward to your return to the Islands!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,470 reviews
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Florida Center
Hilton Garden Inn Orlando International Drive North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando

Address: 6300 Hollywood Way, Orlando, FL 32819-7614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Orlando
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#20 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#52 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#85 Business Hotel in Orlando
#90 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $249 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be swept away to a South Seas escape filled with tropical wonders, exotic food and carefree fun. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Loews Royal Pacific Resort is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Royal Pacific Resort At Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Loews Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Resort Orlando
Universal Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Hotel Orlando
Universals Royal Pacific Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing