We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Pacific was a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando
Ranked #57 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Royal Pacific was a great hotel”
Reviewed June 2, 2004

I am a very critical and cynical traveler. I do not travel well. I spent alot of time researching our trip to Universal. Read many reviews on the different hotels, and decided to go with the Royal Pacific. I made the correct choice (I'm sure the other hotels are great, too). The Hotels' look is not "out of this world", but it was clean, the people were friendly, and the rooms were great. We had two adults, two teen children. I liked the queen sized beds. The price of the room was high, but to be able to use your room key to get in the "express" lane at Universal and Islands of Adventure made it worth it. The rides that had a normal wait of 50 minutes, we got on in 10 minutes or less. We went over Memorial Day-it was extremely hot. As you wait in line, with the cool air conditioning cooling you down, you realize (to a point) why these parks are so costly. Their electricty bill alone has got to be out of this world! The Hotel's swimming area was really neat. Outside bar & grill. I would really recommend this for families or anyone. Even cynical me walked away a happy camper!

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,900
    2,856
    994
    437
    269
See reviews for
6,103
1,503
58
542
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,754)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 2, 2004

We planned our vacation with friends. Based on the
fact that we were vacationing with children, we booked the hotel based on the water-shooting cannons at the pool and the close-relation to the theme parks. The Royal Pacific claimed a four-star rating, but in my opinion they only deserve to claim a 2 star rating! The water-shooting cannon was only open for about an hour during our 3 day stay. The pool area was closed to hotel guest for most of the afternoon and evening one night. There was no ice in the ice machines one evening. The room had an inch of dust on the grate between the dressing area and the bedroom area! There was a big crack in the sink which looked like a big wad of hair in it, gross! Need I say more!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 25, 2004

Got a discount rate thanks to my annual pass, but probably would have been pleased paying the rack rate as well. The rooms are on the small side, but it's not like we spent much time there. Beautiful decor, friendly staff, and an amazing pool that could hold over a hundred people and still be roomy. Was concerned about dogs being allowed, but rarely saw them and certainly didn't notice any on my floor. The proximity to Universal and express pass on the rides are invaluable -- water taxi is nice but we used the garden path most times because it took less time. Avoid eating at the hotel, though -- believe it or not, the parks and City Walk are less expensive. Had dinner at a City Walk place called the Latin Quarter that was great!

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 25, 2004

We visited in mid May 04' .We divided our time between Disney and Univesal. Stayed at Disney's Port Orleans FQ for 3 nites and then switched to Universal's Royal Pacific. Each hotel had it's own unique feel. In FQ you felt like you were in Louisana. The landscaping, the soft music they pipe over the property. It was very relaxing. There were lots of small kids having fun, and older kids (mine are 16 & 18 ) but not to the point of being loud or rude. Everyone was friendly relaxed. We did Disney parks for 3 days. Then switched. Royal Pacific is the closest you can get to a South Pacific feel and still be on the Mainland. We've been to Hawaii twice to compare. Haven't stayed at Disney Poly. but RP is beautiful. Landscape,atmosphere & staff. Rooms were very south pacific but classy. The RP staff made a mistake at check in and gave us an occupied room. They appologized gave us an upgrade. Two welcome baskets and made sure we were happy many times over. They were great. The express passes (your room key) made going on the rides fabulous. We loved the Men In Black ride and rode it 10 x. We were able to do one and a half parks each day.(Univesal & Islands of Adv.) So we covered alot of ground quickly. Well worth staying at RP. I'd stay at FQ and RP again . Looking forward to Spring 05' !!!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 23, 2004

We just returned from 5 wonderful days at RPR. The landscaping around the resort and along the winding pathways to the parks was a joy to behold. The staff was friendly and helpful especially at the in-house Islands restaurant. The pool atmosphere was fun; live island music was played at times. The room was nicely furnished and was a tad small but who cares? Get out of the room and enjoy Universal, CityWalk and the resort. After a long day at the parks, it's nice to know that a boat ride home is just a few steps away from the park entrances. Enjoy, but expect Disney-like expenses for food and drink.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plain City, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2004

The Royal Pacific Resort was worth the cost. The room/entire resort is beautifully decorated. As we walked into the hotel, using the covered bridge, we felt as if we were entering paradise. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. Each morning we walked down a gorgeous path leading to the water taxi. This complimentary boat takes you right to City Walk (an area between the two park's main entrance). If you chose this resort here are some words of advice: The resort has three towers. I recommend requesting tower #3. We stayed in #2 which was the furthest from the pool and the path to the water taxi. I believe that tower #2 is also where all of the pet owners are placed. Though we stayed in tower #2 we did see some dogs, but never heard a single bark.Transportation: If you fly in and choose not to rent a car, transportation to the resort can be booked ahead of time on-line. Go to mearstransportation to book. We chose a shuttle and for the four of us it was $86 round trip.Food: On Friday and Saturday night's the resort has an on-site luau. It is $49 per person and the worth attending. If you can afford it, eat at the Thoup Chop (on-site restaruant). The food and service deserve five stars! For a quick and inexpensive breakfast choose the Orchid Lounge (adjacent to the lobby). Just get there before 11:00am. Food will get expensive during your stay. I suggest ordering a pizza one or two nights. Try Flippers Pizzeria. They have wings, pizza, pasta and soda. The number is 407-521-0607. They will call your room upon arrival and you go to the lobby to pick up and pay.I hope that this is helpful for you. Have a great time if you decide to go!!!

Helpful?
12 Thank Butwhymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 11, 2004

Splurged on the extra $100 per nite for Club Level -was totally NOT worth it. The Club Level/Concierge at Disney's Yacht Club has this place BEAT big time! Royal Pacific had the SAME food out each morning and night, no change and no hot items for appetizers - totally stunk! Also, the Club Level rooms are no bigger than their regular rooms - bathrooms are rather small and the rooms overall are small. I guess the condom I found in the nightstand was an added bonus???!!! Will probably not stay here again - I will try Hard Rock or Portofino, but my heart is always with Disney and The Yacht Club rocks!!! F.Y.I. - the pool at Royal Pacific is just average at best - the Yacht Club is so much better and larger and has a slide - Royal's has none of that....................good luck!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 339 in Orlando
1,439 reviews
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#25 of 339 in Orlando
4,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando

Property: Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando
Address: 6300 Hollywood Way, Orlando, FL 32819-7614
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Orlando
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#21 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#52 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#85 Business Hotel in Orlando
#90 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be swept away to a South Seas escape filled with tropical wonders, exotic food and carefree fun. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Loews Royal Pacific Resort is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Orbitz, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Royal Pacific Resort At Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Loews Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Resort Orlando
Universal Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Hotel Orlando
Universals Royal Pacific Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing