We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best vacation ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando
Ranked #56 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We arrived from washington state at 6 am and they had a room waiting for us. In passing I to the front desk that we were there for my husbands birthday. That day after we came back from the park there was a card and a gift from the hotel waiting on him. It was awesome being so close to the parks just a short boat ride away. Loved the hotel great customer service worth the 10 hour flight. We will be back.

Room Tip: We had an end of the royal wing room it was super quiet. Relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPR, General Manager at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Aloha Mary J!
Thank you for your 5 star review of the Loews Royal Pacific Resort! 10 hours is definitely a long time to travel by plane and we are thrilled to hear your vacation with us was worth the flight. We love when our guests choose our hotel for their special occasion. We are honored to have a part of your special day. Although you are far away, we hope to welcome you back to the Royal Pacific Resort soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10,110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,197 - 6,203 of 10,110 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014

During our wedding planning my now-husband and I considered many options for a honeymoon that ranged from beach resorts to cruises to international travel. At the end of the day we decided we wanted to do something low-stress and relaxing, but also something where we had a lot of options for fun. Our stay at the Loews Royal Pacific Resort was the perfect way to make this happen.

The hotel itself offered the feel of an island resort, with a Polynesian Island theme that was carried through impeccably in everything from the stunning decor, to the staff uniforms, and the overall feel of all the amenities.

Upon arriving we were promptly greeted by Sean who walked us through the entire check in process including getting everything situated with parking, luggage, and walking us right to the check in counter. The front desk staff was extremely friendly, and upon finding out it was our honeymoon comped an upgrade to a water view King room from the room we originally booked. They also presented us with a congratulatory card and small gift to celebrate as well!

Our room was a good size, exceptionally clean, and again, a great carry through of the island resort feel. Within five minutes of arriving in the room we received a call to ensure everything looked okay, and then a bellman, Paul, was sent up with our luggage. Paul went the extra mile to give us a lot of information about the property, as well as the parks themselves including fastest way to get there from our room, best times to arrive, and information about the current "crowd" levels. He also went out of his way to send us a personal card when he learned it was our honeymoon. One very minor complaint about the room is that while the hotel boasts a Keurig in every room, there were very few K-Cups provided, and in our room in particular the only choices were decaf.

The pool was also beautiful, large enough that it didn't feel crowded even when there were a lot of people there, and lagoon shaped with both ladders as well as a zero-entry point just near the kids water play area. They did have a movie playing one evening while we were there, but there was only one screen which wasn't very large, and in a pretty shallow area of the pool where we couldn't comfortably hang out to watch it. There are also two hot tubs that can get pretty crowded, but are definitely nice, clean, and relaxing. The only downside to the pool we experienced is that the first night we wanted to go for a night swim but the front desk gave us wrong information and said the pool closed at 10 instead of 11, so we missed the opportunity there. Also, access to the hotel if you return to the resort by either boat or walking path from City Walk is most convenient through the pool area, but if the pool is closed, so is that access. This caused a slight inconvenience on a couple of rainy nights when we had to walk a significant extra distance in the rain due to the non-access.

Despite the higher cost of staying here versus an economy property nearby is the perks that you get for the parks. Our package included an unlimited park hopper pass as well as an unlimited express pass and, of course, included the early admission to Wizarding World of Harry Potter. We traveled to Universal during one of the rare, slow crowd times that these parks get each year, but even so many rides had wait times of 30-40 minutes or more by mid day. The unlimited express pass was an absolute life saver in ensuring we got to bypass those lines and experience everything we wanted to at each of the parks. For the rides that the Express pass could not be used on (Harry Potter and the Forbidden Journey, primarily) having the early admission during a slower time took care of that as we never waited more than 5 minutes to ride it during the hour before the park opened, and even let several people pass us in line the second time so we could actually walk slower through the castle and catch all of the details.

The walkway to the parks from the hotel was a short, pleasant walk around the lagoon and was very well maintained. We also took the ferry boats a couple of times, but in general found the walk pleasant enough to not wait for the boats.

Don't forget to pack anything as prices for everyday goods at the hotel are pretty steep, but most everything else is well in line with expectations for a property of that size and caliber. The only disappointment we had in the entire experience was breakfast our very first day using the continental "a la carte" style offerings at the Orchid Court Lounge. The food was bland, comical in size relative to the price, and something we would recommend all patrons skip entirely. My husband paid $5 for 2 pancakes that were paper thin and barely larger than a half dollar coin, I got a tasteless breakfast croissant with ham, eggs, and cheese (none of which you could taste) for just about the same price, and paid $4.00 for a small bottle of Fiji water because it was the only water option available. If you're looking to stay at the hotel for breakfast, The Islands Dining room is only slightly more expensive for a meal that is both hearty and delicious.

There are easy options for check out including the television and e-mail, but due to an incorrect charge on our bill, I did have to go to the check out desk itself for assistance. The staff member who assisted was very friendly, and rectified the issue quickly, removing it from our bill. The only inconvenience is that the payment had already processed and there is a 5 day waiting period for the refund, but at least we will get the money back.

Overall from beginning to end the negatives were minor and far outweighed by the countless good experiences and interactions we had with all of the Universal staff both at the resort and in the parks, and we could not have chosen a more perfect place to experience a "best of both worlds" honeymoon.

Room Tip: Tower 1 is closest to the walking path to Universal and convenient for early park admission. Floor 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashlee1285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPR, General Manager at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Aloha Ashlee1285!
We greatly appreciate your review of your recent stay at the Loews Royal Pacific Resort. We are honored you chose our resort as your honeymoon destination. Your detailed description of your vacation gives us the great opportunity to look through the eyes of our guests. We also greatly appreciate your mention of Sean and Paul as they will be recognized for their exemplary service. Thank you again for your rave review and we can’t wait for our next opportunity to welcome you back to the Islands!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

My hotel stay at the Royal Pacific began badly with a screeching toilet which kept me up all night. I called engineering and a courteous, customer oriented professional engineer showed up to fix all my plumbing problems. He had the problem fixed in about 15 minutes. The customer service continued with a caring young lady from Housekeeping, a Front desk manager with a free breakfast voucher and a follow up call from the concierge. I was ready to write a fairly unfavorable review and find myself instead being very impressed with the quick service resolution and the professional caring hotel staff.

Now about the hotel - located within Universal with easy access to restaurants, a pleasant walkway among palm trees and vegetation and a water taxi ride away from Universal City Walk. Excellent food at Emerils Tchoup Chop. The hotel catering food for our business functions was a delightful surprise. For lunch we were served a variety of delicious salads and a selection of tiny perfectly sized desserts. My very favorite was the dark chocolate banana bread pudding served in a sake glass. That dish alone would make me come back for more. I won't get a chance to visit Harry Potter but several of my colleagues will take advantage of the easy access to the park.

Kudos to Loews hotel staff from turning a possible negative experience into a very positive one.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyonlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPR, General Manager at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Aloha Lyonlady!
Thank you for taking time to write a review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay at the Royal Pacific Resort. We apologize your vacation didn’t seem to get off on the right start however, we are very glad we were able to get your trip back on track! We truly appreciate you compliments on our staff as we pride ourselves on our warm yet professional team members. Thank you again for your review and we can’t wait for our next opportunity to be of service to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, 3 days in April 2014. The hotel and grounds are beautiful, absolutely breathtaking.

We arrived around noon and we took advantage of the valet parking. It was $27/night plus tax so yes, its was a little more than self parking but the $10/night more was worth it for us not to have to worry and try to hunt a close spot etc. Our room in tower 1 was ready at noon (great!). Our room was very clean and yes, they are not large rooms, very average hotel size with 2 queen beds, a small table, 2 chairs and a night stand. The room does have a larger foyer area between the door and closet that when you swing open the closet door it makes for a private change area lol. We had 2 queens for 4 of us (myself, husband and 2 teen boys). We read the reviews before hand so we were ready for the tight quarters but it really wasn't that bad. We have reserved a fridge when I booked in February as my husband has a medical need. I called 2 other times close to our check in date to make sure that the complementary fridge was on our booking and it was. When we arrived in our room the fridge was not there. I called down right away as we needed to unpack a few things in the fridge before we hit the parks. We waited and waited and waited. I called 3 times and I was told "it's literally on the way up". We waited over 2 hours, my husband and boys went down to the pool area to explore and have a beverage while I waited in the room. Eventually the employee who checks the mini-bar's went to hunt down my fridge and he brought it up for me. It wasn't his job and we went over and above which we greatly appreciated! But still - 2 hours was just crazy.

Finally over 2 hours later we hit the parks. The walking path is beautiful and we used the boat many times. I would stay in tower 3 next time as its closer to the boat dock and walking path entrance.

We spent 1 afternoon at the pool, the drinks are expensive ($15 for a frozen drink then $10 re-fills - it works out to get the refill glass if you plan on having 2 or more, it saves you money. If you plan on only having 1 then skip the re-fillable glass). The nachos were amazing and huge! There is an automatic 18% grat added to your bill so know this before you give your server a cash tip.

We ate at Jakes one night, we all had the burgers (beef for the boys and turkey burger for me), they were absolutly delicious! They are gourmet, home-made looking, not frozen patty style. Again our bill was expensive, over $120 for 4 burgers, 2 beers, 1 drink and 2 pop's.

The express passes were worth their weight in gold. My husband said he would never go to Universal without them. Other than Forbidden Journey at Harry potter we waited no longer than 10 minutes to get on a ride. We went to Foridden Journey during the early admission (got to IOA at 8:30) and the line was already long. We waited over an hour for the ride but I think it was delayed as it did break down and once it was up and running the line was fairly quick from then. After that we rode it again the next day but we used the single riders and we went right on. The way the ride is laid out you cant even see the person beside you so unless you have small kids do the single rider line, you will save sooooo much time. My husband went first then the 2 boys then me, that way my husband was waiting for the boys when they got off and I was only 5 minutes behind them all.

Overall the place is beautiful, rooms are not large but clean and functional, express passes are awesome and the pool is really nice too. I gave it a 3 due to the fridge mess and because the price of everything is a bit steep but we would come back if we do Universal again.

Room Tip: stay in tower 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPR, General Manager at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Aloha Angie G!
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback from your recent stay with us. It sounds like you had an overall enjoyable time with us however, we did want to take this opportunity to apologize for the situation you described involving the refrigerator you requested. Providing a refrigerator for our guests is aimed to be a convenience not a stress and we apologize it wasn’t delivered immediately upon check-in. We are thrilled to hear you plan on staying with us again and can’t wait to provide you with the exceptional service and amenities we are known for!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of April. Staying on site at a Universal hotel is great - it provides early entry to see the Harry Potter area in Islands of Adventure and you get an Express Pass which means you don't need to queue on most rides. A real bonus when the parks are busy

We had a room in the 2nd Tower on the 4th floor. Room was lovely - nicely furnished and two good doubles. We had breakfast - cafe style in the lounge area which is great if you are off out to the parks and want something quick. The boat to and from the parks was great too - saves your legs for the rest of the day and when you are tired coming home.

Overall a good hotel - we had no complaints and would return again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SnoopyBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPR, General Manager at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Aloha SnoopyBella!
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your compliments on our rooms and are happy you were able to thoroughly enjoy the early entrance to Harry Potter. We hope for your next visit to Universal Orlando you think of us so we can welcome you back to the Royal Pacific with a big Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

We went for Christmas vacation it was worth spending the money we got the fast pass that allowed us to do all the rides in half the time even though they were sold out
The hotel itself was luxurious the ride to universal studio by itself was worth staying in the hotel
difinantly I will stay there again

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Saleeby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPR, General Manager at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Aloha Saleeby!
Thank you so much for your FIVE out FIVE review of the Loews Royal Pacific Resort! The express passes and proximity to the park are certainly some of the key benefits of staying on property with us. We thank you again for your great review and we hope to welcome you back to the Royal Pacific soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Loews Royal Pacific Resort provides easy access to the Universal Studios theme parks and provides early admission to the Harry Potter attraction and Express Pass to skip the lines for most rides. Your paying $300-$400 per night is for these perks only.

My family has stayed at the resort 3 times in the past 4 years. Each stay has been worse than the last. During our stay in April 2014, we waited nearly 6 hours for a refrigerator and microwave to be delivered to our room. The Fitness Center staff repeatedly threatened a daily fee without first checking to see if we had complementary access. We discovered dirty socks and hair between our bed sheets (pictures attached) and had an employee lie that she was the manager when we brought this problem to their attention. When given a second room, we had to move the refrigerator and microwave up three floors and into a different tower. The second room had a toilet that did not function properly, a bathroom wall outlet with a short that repeatedly blew the fuse, a bed that slopped to one side, and pillows that lost their fluff. Attempts to notify housekeeping of the problems led to blank stares. As we tried to enjoy our day in the theme parks, our room key stopped allowing us to charge items at the park. This left us standing in line for food with no method of payment. Upon bringing it to the attention of the front desk personnel, we were told it was Universal Studios' fault. It was later found we had met the $100 credit limit and the hotel needed to reset the card, though they had told us it wasn't their problem. Complaints to the real management team were heard and they did a good job attempting to resolve the issues while we were on grounds. They also offered to compensate us for 2 of the 4 nights stayed. After we left, we received 1 night reimbursement and as of this posting the second night has yet to be seen. Neither Loews or Universal Studios is willing to address the issue.

Outside of our problems, we observed pool waiters leaving food at guests tables and chairs even though the guests had left to go into the pool The unattended food was then bombarded by ducks and birds at the guests' expense. We also observed a young girl get hurt in the pool. The lifeguards were slow to react to the profusely bleeding child and merely covered the bloody pool deck with towels for guests to walk upon.

I would not recommend the Loews Royal Pacific Resort to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Jacob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPR, General Manager at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Aloha Jacob T!
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando. We are concerned to read these comments, and would like to talk with you to gather more details. Please contact us at: royalpacificcustomerservice@loewshotels.com Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 342 in Orlando
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#29 of 342 in Orlando
4,519 reviews
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando

Address: 6300 Hollywood Way, Orlando, FL 32819-7614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Orlando
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#20 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#52 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#85 Business Hotel in Orlando
#90 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $251 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be swept away to a South Seas escape filled with tropical wonders, exotic food and carefree fun. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Loews Royal Pacific Resort is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Royal Pacific Resort At Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Loews Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Resort Orlando
Universal Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Hotel Orlando
Universals Royal Pacific Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing