We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base for a Universal Vist”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando
Ranked #63 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great base for a Universal Vist”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of April. Staying on site at a Universal hotel is great - it provides early entry to see the Harry Potter area in Islands of Adventure and you get an Express Pass which means you don't need to queue on most rides. A real bonus when the parks are busy

We had a room in the 2nd Tower on the 4th floor. Room was lovely - nicely furnished and two good doubles. We had breakfast - cafe style in the lounge area which is great if you are off out to the parks and want something quick. The boat to and from the parks was great too - saves your legs for the rest of the day and when you are tired coming home.

Overall a good hotel - we had no complaints and would return again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnoopyBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPR, General Manager at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Aloha SnoopyBella!
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your compliments on our rooms and are happy you were able to thoroughly enjoy the early entrance to Harry Potter. We hope for your next visit to Universal Orlando you think of us so we can welcome you back to the Royal Pacific with a big Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,575
    2,748
    949
    421
    257
See reviews for
5,725
1,431
56
516
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,690)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

We went for Christmas vacation it was worth spending the money we got the fast pass that allowed us to do all the rides in half the time even though they were sold out
The hotel itself was luxurious the ride to universal studio by itself was worth staying in the hotel
difinantly I will stay there again

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Saleeby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPR, General Manager at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Aloha Saleeby!
Thank you so much for your FIVE out FIVE review of the Loews Royal Pacific Resort! The express passes and proximity to the park are certainly some of the key benefits of staying on property with us. We thank you again for your great review and we hope to welcome you back to the Royal Pacific soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Loews Royal Pacific Resort provides easy access to the Universal Studios theme parks and provides early admission to the Harry Potter attraction and Express Pass to skip the lines for most rides. Your paying $300-$400 per night is for these perks only.

My family has stayed at the resort 3 times in the past 4 years. Each stay has been worse than the last. During our stay in April 2014, we waited nearly 6 hours for a refrigerator and microwave to be delivered to our room. The Fitness Center staff repeatedly threatened a daily fee without first checking to see if we had complementary access. We discovered dirty socks and hair between our bed sheets (pictures attached) and had an employee lie that she was the manager when we brought this problem to their attention. When given a second room, we had to move the refrigerator and microwave up three floors and into a different tower. The second room had a toilet that did not function properly, a bathroom wall outlet with a short that repeatedly blew the fuse, a bed that slopped to one side, and pillows that lost their fluff. Attempts to notify housekeeping of the problems led to blank stares. As we tried to enjoy our day in the theme parks, our room key stopped allowing us to charge items at the park. This left us standing in line for food with no method of payment. Upon bringing it to the attention of the front desk personnel, we were told it was Universal Studios' fault. It was later found we had met the $100 credit limit and the hotel needed to reset the card, though they had told us it wasn't their problem. Complaints to the real management team were heard and they did a good job attempting to resolve the issues while we were on grounds. They also offered to compensate us for 2 of the 4 nights stayed. After we left, we received 1 night reimbursement and as of this posting the second night has yet to be seen. Neither Loews or Universal Studios is willing to address the issue.

Outside of our problems, we observed pool waiters leaving food at guests tables and chairs even though the guests had left to go into the pool The unattended food was then bombarded by ducks and birds at the guests' expense. We also observed a young girl get hurt in the pool. The lifeguards were slow to react to the profusely bleeding child and merely covered the bloody pool deck with towels for guests to walk upon.

I would not recommend the Loews Royal Pacific Resort to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jacob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPR, General Manager at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Aloha Jacob T!
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando. We are concerned to read these comments, and would like to talk with you to gather more details. Please contact us at: royalpacificcustomerservice@loewshotels.com Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here at the end of our Disney trip to use the fast passes that came with the stay. Totally worth it as didn't really wait too long in queues.
Room was great. 2 doubles suited is and good bathroom. Food was expensive tho. Pool great. Handy walk to the parks or taxi boat if tired. Would return:)

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank susiewonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPR, General Manager at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Aloha susiewonder!
Thank you for your recent review of the Loews Royal Pacific Resort! We appreciate your short and sweet review of our resort. You mentioned that you would return and we are excited for you to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

This used to be out favorite hotel. We come a fee times a year. We have given it more second chances than we should buy this is the las straw. The pool, pool deck, and sand areas are filthy. Bottle caps, cigarettes, napkins, weeds.... It was gross. The rooms really need updated. My pillow smashed flat as soon as I put my head on it. We ate at the breakfast buffet. The good quality was poor and price was $21/person. I left my portable battery pack in the table. I called 10 minutes later and they said they would keep it for me at the front desk. It was not there. We ate In the children's room and were the only people in there the whole time we were there. I not sure who has my charger, but, I'm sure it's not me. Sad to see what this place has turned into.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grepeape1079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPR, General Manager at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Aloha Grepeape1079!
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando. We are concerned to read these comments, and would like to talk with you to gather more details. Please contact us at: royalpacificcustomerservice@loewshotels.com Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

The theming here is top notch. Had a king bed room and felt it was more than spacious enough. The room and bathroom were both spotless. The grounds were wonderfully landscaped and many restaurants to choose from. Enjoyable and very doable walk to Citywalk if you don't want to wait for the boat.

I've stayed at the Hard Rock as well as the Portofino Bay and I prefer the Royal Pacific for all the positives it offers. Highly recommended

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPR, General Manager at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Aloha Derek B!
Wow! We appreciate your 5 out of 5 review of the Loews Royal Pacific Resort! Your compliments on the cleanliness of our rooms, grounds, and restaurants are much appreciated. As a frequent guest of Universal Orlando who has experienced all 3 of our resorts we are honored to hear the Royal Pacific Resort is your favorite! Thank you again for taking the time to post your rave review and we can’t wait to welcome you back to the islands!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Stone, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed at the RP for one night mid-week the week before Easter. This was our first stay at a resort other than the Hard Rock and it was worth not paying the extra money to stay at the Hard Rock. It's a beautiful property. The lobby area was gorgeous as were the grounds in general. We booked though the hotel website and paid the rack rate which was lower than any other rate I could find, including hotels.com (hate it), bookit.com etc. Rate was $433 approx. with self parking.
Check in was very smooth at 830am. Our compliments to the woman at the desk who was very nice and very quick. We got our express passes and were out the door 15 minutes after we arrived. We were told we would receive a text message when our room was ready and received that text at 11am. That was welcome news.
We were given a room in Tower 3 which is closest to the boat to the parks. In as much as this a pretty darn big property, we liked that. Our room, 3466 (I think), overlooked the garden and had a partial park view. The beds were super comfy after a long, long day in the park. We had 2 hotel size queens. The bedding was clean and comfortable and the towels were adequate. The room was a little cramped with two young teens and my wife and i. It could use a little TLC to the furniture, scratch repair etc. Overall, we were satisfied with room given it was the middle of spring break and we made mad use of the express for two solid days.
Ok, the real reason we all stay here is the express pass and early admission to WWHP. Just so you know, the boat for the IOA departs almost exactly a 7am as advertised. We were in the gate by 710am give or take a minute and make the walk back. It was still an hour wait with early admission. My advice is to hoof it to the front gate no later than 630 based on my conversations with people in front of us if you want to ride it more that once without waiting forever.
I would recommend this property and will stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms in Tower 3 are closest to the boats to the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jiffymatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPR, General Manager at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Aloha jiffymatt!
Thank you for taking the time to review the Loews Royal Pacific Resort on Tripadvisor! We strive to provide our guests with an efficient and early check-in when available so we are happy you were able to take advantage! We also appreciate your compliments on the lobby and grounds as we work hard to maintain the warm tropical atmosphere we have become so well known for. Thank you again for your rave review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Pacific with a big Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Orlando-Nearest to Univ Studios
Florida Center
Hilton Garden Inn Orlando International Drive North
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando

Property: Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando
Address: 6300 Hollywood Way, Orlando, FL 32819-7614
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Orlando
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#25 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#52 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#85 Business Hotel in Orlando
#90 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be swept away to a South Seas escape filled with tropical wonders, exotic food and carefree fun. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Loews Royal Pacific Resort is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Royal Pacific Resort At Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Loews Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Resort Orlando
Universal Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Hotel Orlando
Universals Royal Pacific Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing