We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“too pricey and nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando
Ranked #62 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“too pricey and nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

we stayed here after several days at a Disney resort (Port Orleans). what a contrast (Disney better in all regards). appears high end at first but is a thin veneer. service adequate, room ok but some wear and tear. couldn't adjust A/, too cold. grounds not well kept. wi-fi very _slow_ and coverage poor. best part was the express pass for universal theme park, otherwise would be pretty dissatisfied. tried two of their restaurants (Jakes, Islands Room), neither was very good. i would not return here.

Room Tip: upper floors, poolside have nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bertsbait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPR, General Manager at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Aloha bertsbait! Thank you so much for your candid review as it is our guest feedback which allows us to improve. We sincerely apologize if your guest room or any of our services was not to standard. We will take this opportunity to revise our procedures to avoid any further inconsistencies. We regret to hear you will not be returning but please feel free to reach us at royalpacificcustomerservice@loewshotels.com if there is any further assistance we can provide, Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,581
    2,748
    949
    421
    257
See reviews for
5,728
1,433
56
516
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,691)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto, ontario
Level Contributor
133 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

This was our second trip to the Loews Royal Pacific. We weren't overly impressed the first time around but got a great rate (annual pass holder) and couldn't turn it down.

The location is great and the property is beautiful and very well maintained.

We checked in at 9am to get full use of the Express pass. The front desk staff were excellent - helpful and friendly. They gave us our room keys (room wasn't available yet) took our cell phone number and texted us once the room was ready (around 2pm). It was a very easy process and we appreciated that we didn't have to line up again to get our keys.

Our room overlooked the pool - nice room and great views. Beds were comfortable and the room is a nice size. Bathroom was good. Loved the shower - great water pressure. Still not happy about all the snacks in the room and on the counter which are extremely overpriced and take up the counter space. We brought our own Keurig coffee/tea so we cleaned the machine and used it for the 3 days which was nice.

The pool area is beautiful. Loved that they have several life guards on duty as I always feel I'm watching other peoples children while at public pools. On the one night a section of it was closed for a private dinner function. Most of the people attending the dinner were in the only section still open to the hotel guests making it very packed and the dinner area empty.

We had dinner a Jake's one night. It was a nice restaurant and our waiter was very friendly and on top of our needs. Great ambiance and view. Prices are ridiculously high but we were expecting that and just wanted a nice, quiet dinner without driving anywhere.

As it was a peak time, we LOVED the Express Pass. Outside of the Harry Potter area and Despicable Me rides our wait time was never more than 15 minutes. Worth the price of the hotel right there.

Parking was $18/night which I thought was a little crazy but there was lots of space and we could use the lot then entire day after we checked out.

Check out was easy and painless. Being a Loews member, we had originally requested a late check out but they offered us a great deal on the room if we left by 9am.

Loved the gift shop - we forgot to pick something up at the store within the park and the gift shop saved us a trip. Same prices as in the park.

The boat shuttle operates from early morning to 2:30am. It runs every 10-15 minutes depending on the time of day. There can be a line up but the boats holds alot of people. The path between the hotel/park is well maintained, and a nice walk. There is security on the path checking bags and general safety of their guests.

Next time we're back at Universal, we will definitely stay at one of the 4 resorts on site. You cannot beat the location and the Express Pass makes it worth the $$ especially if you travel during peak season and with the new Harry Potter section opening soon, it will be peak season for a long time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelli99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We don't usually stay at hotels as spendy as this one, but it was worth it to receive the early entrance into Universal Islands of Adventure (and the Harry Potter castle/rides) and the express passes. Had we stayed at a less expensive hotel off-site and bought the express passes separately, it would have been about the same price, so I figured, why not stay at a great hotel? Glad we did--beautiful grounds, short walk or boat ride to the parks, great service and wonderful lagoon pool which the whole family enjoyed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPR, General Manager at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Aloha Jwriter! We are so glad you made the choice to stay at the Islands! Thank you for your feedback as it serves as recommendations to others visiting us in the future. We hope you enjoyed your experience overall and certainly hope you are able to return very soon, Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west palm bch florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

we were Disney world people for years but the kids got to be teens and wanted to go to universal so I picked this hotel and so glad I did, the hotel is beautiful with a relaxed feel. the hotel staff is amazing and i thought surpassed Disney in service. the staff seemed happy to be at work. our room was gorgeous and my view was amazing . the valet and bell staff were helpful and speedy. The pool amazing my teens had a blast!!! and on a special note the pool has life guards all day and through the evening until the pool closes as well as movies and pool noodles and goggles are available through the pool attendants at no charge to borrow for the day. I cannot say enough how wonderful the staff is and how clean everything is . we went to Emeril's Tchoup choup because we couldn't find a space to have a cocktail that wasn't busy and what a special treat , it was amazing in every way the drinks were excellent and the food was so great!! the front desk helped us find a great and fast pizza delivery place for our tired teens. getting into Harry Potter early was awesome and express passes that were included with the hotel a treasure . over all the best vacation I have had in a while I cannot wait to go back in summer. do your self a favor and book your trip at this hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms seem to have an excellent view from the way the hotel is set up
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stwgfam6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

this hotel was excellent . We loved our stay the front desk staff was outstanding they helped us with every request. the view out the window of the park for the higher rooms is so wonderful. everyone was great, only one little complaint the food is outrageously priced!!! try to eat outside the hotel !!!

Room Tip: top floor facing the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MCCManagement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPR, General Manager at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Aloha MCCManagement! We are so honored to read such wonderful reviews such as yours! We hope your visit was all you had hoped for and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights in July 13 with wife and boys (7 and 9) each one of us loved it from the hotel room itself to pool area, restaurants on site (fruit salad lunch by the pool was awesome and made a change from the normal park food) to the transport via boat to park and then off course the fast passes which during end of July were a god send making staying at hotel cheaper than purchasing separately for the day. Will definitely return.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Healeysj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPR, General Manager at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Aloha Healeysj! We look forward to seeing you back on your next visit to the Islands! We thank you for your feedback and are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience. Thank you for choosing Loews, Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Our family of 4 with 2 tweens stayed 2 nights. Room had 2 queen beds so it was compact for the 4 of us. Highlight was the unlimited express pass for both theme parks of Universal Studios. As it was off peak the queues were not long even without the express pass (most averaging 15 minutes), nonetheless it was great to skip all queues.
Upon check-in at 11am, our rooms were ready to our pleasant surprise & we were able to get our express passes straight away. So our 2 nights translated to 3 full days of express passes for 4 of us. Of course park entrance tickets had to be purchased separately.
We took the complimentary boat ride from hotel to Citywalk where the theme parks are located. We had lovely weather in the mid-20s celcius so it was a really fabulous holiday overall.
Highly recommended accommodation for Harry Potter fans!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hallelujahtraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Orlando-Nearest to Univ Studios
Florida Center
Hilton Garden Inn Orlando International Drive North
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando

Property: Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando
Address: 6300 Hollywood Way, Orlando, FL 32819-7614
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Orlando
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#24 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#52 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#85 Business Hotel in Orlando
#90 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be swept away to a South Seas escape filled with tropical wonders, exotic food and carefree fun. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Loews Royal Pacific Resort is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Royal Pacific Resort At Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Loews Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Resort Orlando
Universal Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Hotel Orlando
Universals Royal Pacific Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing