We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Value only because of fast pass in theme parks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando
Ranked #79 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Value only because of fast pass in theme parks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel is well themed and very pleasant with a tropical feel and the location is excellent. The pool is fantastic and friendly. I was disappointed with the bedroom bathroom which was barely 3 star. Wi fi only in lobby maybe not a bad thing. Jakes Bar nearly choked on piece of bone in pulled pork sandwich yet after complaint still was charged. Amusingly poor service. Not cheap but worth it with the excellent fast pass included.

Room Tip: My room had a boring view above lobby level far from elevators but I'm easy going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerrandJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,809
    2,423
    861
    384
    232
See reviews for
4,847
1,240
50
433
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,510)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
182 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Honestly our stay in the hotel room itself was pleasant, but there were a few kinks along the way. We paid for a concierge level room that was supposed to include bath robes, turendown service and a concierge level club . We never saw the robes, no big deal. The room also had hours for the universal parks that was incorrect,. Fortunately we planned our days in advance a realized this error but there is no reason a 4 star resort should have this information that Is incorrect if they are an onsite hotel. And lastly there was a brochure that said the island pacific dining on site had a wine and dine on Wednesday nights. We called the dining reservations and the person gave us a description of the event and planned accordingly. When we made it to the restaurant, they had no idea what the "wine and dine" was and spent at least 20 minutes leaving us abandoned at the table trying to figure it out. The food was decent , but the slow service in an empty dining room was lacking.
Our trip coincided with a "home goods" corporate meeting of some sort and it seemed like everyone in the hotel was part of their group and we were part of the minority of guests there for the universal resort so Im not sure if that played a role. We are regular universal guests as we have annual passes but next time ill save the money and stay off site. The rooms are nice , the beds are comfortable, but on other sites you can get 4 star Orlando hotels for well under $100 (and parking is included which is not here).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick9874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPR, General Manager at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Aloha nick9874! We thank you for giving us the specifics in regards to your most recent visit! Details are certainly very important and it is disheartening that we missed the mark. We will be sure to review your comments with our team in regards to published times and events so we may look further into making improvements. Please rest assured we will put your review to good use! We hope you enjoyed your stay overall and that we may have the opportunity to see you again in the future, Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
173 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

As a theme park hotel got to compare to Disney and NO comparison. While rooms okay and staff pleasant just not the same enthusiasm and excitement, not at hotel or parks. Water taxi best experience. Poor communication of day's events and changes. They charge for self parking and when you question it they simply say "it's on the website." Our reply "we didn't book on line" they respond "tell your travel agent". Made us wish I could have dematerialized and re materialized at Disney!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

The relaxing experience starts the minute you drive in, there's valet or self service parking your choice. The lobby puts you in the mood right away with its' beautiful tropical gardens and decor. The staff is super helpful and friendly; your wish is their command. The rooms are decorated in the tropical paradise as we'll, with very comfortable beds and stupendous views (we had the garden view room). We had dinner at the hotel "Island restaurant" the ribeye steak with a slight Polynesian flare and red wine reduction was awesome. The pool is extra large surrounded by tropical plants is another great treat. Another great treat at the pool
is the evening movie, great for the kids, and $5.00 Mai tai's or other drinks for the adults. Another great feature is that this hotel is on- site at Universal Studios Orlando a short (free) boat ride to the parks, as well as, free "express " ticket (front of the line) for all attractions. Overall a must stay

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I went for 3 nights for vacation and stayed in a king suite. The room itself was clean, although there was a small rip in the couch as well as the carpet. Minor issues, but sort of tacky when considering the room averaged $300/night with taxes (for a suite, mind you...other rooms are less.) The furniture seemed dated, but was clean. The bathroom was clean as well, but the shower tile was a bit outdated, and the grout needed some work/cleaning. The bed was comfortable and clean. There was tons of closet space, if you are an over-packer like myself. There was no mini-fridge, which was disappointing. We did take a cooler, so we iced what we needed to drink. Beware of the waters and snacks left in your room...very over-priced. I noticed there were also waters left by my bed each afternoon when we returned, which looked complimentary, but I was afraid to drink at the though of being charged.

The grounds of the hotel were amazingly beautiful. I loved the Polynesian/Asian theme and the bamboo everywhere. The pool area was very nice as well. The staff out there were friendly and helpful, and the towels were clean and soft. The drinks/beer at the bar were tasty, but were very expensive. They do add a tip in for the bar staff (which they tell you,) but expect to pay $15 for a mixed drink or $7.50 for a 16oz. beer. I loved the ducks in and around the pool!

I ate at both Jake's and the Island dining room one night each. Jake's was a burger and salad off a limited (although adequate) menu for the both of us, and we both found the food very good, and the portions more than adequate. Price was comparable to what you would pay in city walk nearby. The Island dining room was also nice. We both had noodle dishes (again, off a limited, but adequate) menu. I was impressed that the chef came out to make sure that he was going to prepare my dish correctly prior to cooking when I ordered dinner sans the shrimp due to an allergy. He even came back out after the food was served to make sure I was ok. Very nice touch. We had a calamari appetizer that was delicious as well, cooked in a sauce that was amazing. Prices in the island dining room were again on par with city walk nearby and not overly priced.

The convenience/location to the parks is unparalleled; and part of what you pay for here. You can walk to either islands or universal in 10-15 minutes, or take the water taxi. (The taxi is a nice feature if you want to get off your feet for a few minutes or like to have a few adult beverages at the parks and not drive.) The express passes that you also pay for are well worth it. You can see most every attraction in the parks multiple times and still have time left to spend the hot afternoons by the pool. Both of these do make some of the higher price tag worth the stay, and there is some value here if you like the concept of parking your car and not driving until you leave. Parking is $18 per night (which is what you would pay at the theme park lots.) But still added another $54 to my stay, which seems high, but as I said, you pay for the convenience.

The staff was pleasant and helpful, from the front desk, concierge, and wait staff.

Overall, the convenience makes up for a good deal when factoring the price tag in. Expect to pay "a la carte" for most everything. If you are on a tight budget, this probably is not the place to stay. If you do not mind shelling out a bit more for the extra convenience, then I would highly recommend the Royal Pacific; and more so if you are seeing Islands/Universal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andyrich74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPR, General Manager at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Aloha andyrich74! We would like to sincerely thank you for the details on your review regarding your recent stay. We are glad you had the opportunity to experience most of the resort and we appreciate your great comments about our team! We sincerely apologize, however, in regards to the condition of your King Suite. We will be sure to review this portion with our team as well so we may make the necessary improvements in all of our areas of opportunity. Overall, we hope you enjoyed your stay and we would be delighted to see you again soon, Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, Florida, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I recently spent the weekend at the Royal Pacific, upon our arrival we had great check in service from David, he clued us in on the must see's on City walk and gave us coupons and other things to make sure enjoyed our visit to the fullest. We loved the water taxi to and from City walk, it was so safe after a night on the town, and loved that we didn't have to worry about getting a taxi We are planning another visit to the Royal Pacific next month and cant wait to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester UK
Level Contributor
119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Great hotel on Universal studio parks. Staying at Universal gives you free fast pass in Universal/ Islands of adventure, which is worth 89 dollars per person alone. Breakfast options are extensive but no are included in the room rate. Pool is great for kids with water jets. There is a gym but again unless your are in a high rate room is a extra daily payment. Great hotel, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julesbayliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios
Florida Center
Hilton Garden Inn Orlando International Drive North
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando

Property: Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando
Address: 6300 Hollywood Way, Orlando, FL 32819-7614
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Orlando
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#28 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#52 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#85 Business Hotel in Orlando
#90 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be swept away to a South Seas escape filled with tropical wonders, exotic food and carefree fun. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Loews Royal Pacific Resort is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Otel, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Royal Pacific Resort At Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Loews Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Resort Orlando
Universal Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Hotel Orlando
Universals Royal Pacific Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing