We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indulgence with thrills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando
Ranked #55 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 18, 2013

If you are looking to do the theme parks in style then stay at the Royal Pacific Resort. It is so close to the Parks that it makes everything worth while. We stayed over the New Year period when it can be very busy in the Parks but because of the special pass and earlier opening times we certainly could make the most of our time there. We could go early and have great fun in the Parks and be back and spend the rest of the day by the pool. We were extremely well looked after by everyone in the hotel. The breakfasts were fabulous and kept us going for most of the day. Equally the thrill of taking the boat into the Parks never lost its appeal! The standard of the room was superb. All in all a fantastic experience and can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arklet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (10,278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,823 - 6,829 of 10,278 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here for two days in August at the start of our two week holiday in Florida. I'd chosen this hotel so that we could have early access to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter and also have the express passes. This worked really well and on both of our days we got to the parks as they opened and we'd done all of the rides in both parks by lunchtime. The hotel is only a ten minute walk from Citywalk but there is the option of a water taxi which made a nice change when we went back out in the evening.
The hotel is very nice and our garden view rooms were fine, we didn't spend much time in our rooms so we didn't feel the need to upgrade.
On our first day we returned to our room at 4pm to find the maid still hadn't been. I mentioned this to reception and was told that the maids clean the check out rooms first and usually clean the rest later in the day. We wanted a nap so didn't have maid service that day, but it wasn't a major issue.
It was a shame that the Wifi isn't free in the rooms, we paid for Wifi as we didn't want to keep walking to reception. And even the bottles of water in the room had to be paid for.
The pool complex was great for kids, with a large ship and plenty of water guns etc but it was very busy and I would have liked a quiet area for adults only as there were always kids running past my sunbed whilst I was trying to relax. There were free towels and lots of chilled water around that we were able to help ourselves to. The pool staff were friendly and helpful.
Overall this hotel was great for our visits to Universal and Islands of Adventure but I don't think I would stay here if I was visiting other areas in Orlando as the rooms were rather pricey for what we got.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PJS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPR, General Manager at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Aloha PJS100! Thank you for giving us an insight about your most recent stay! It is great to see that your family enjoyed the express passes and convenience to and from the parks. Thank you for commending our pool staff as they do their very best to ensure every guest enjoys themselves! We most certainly appreciate your review and we hope to see you in the future, Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Pacific for 2 nights. We knew from reading the reviews that it was very expensive so we stopped at Walmart the night before and bought some snacks, water and drinks. We got there at 10:00am expecting to store our bags but to our surprise our room was ready! We went to the kiosk by the desk and had our express passes within minutes and went to put our bags in room. Room was very nice but again - prices are way over the top - do not eat snacks or drink any water in room!!! Bring your own! Otherwise the hotel is beautiful and huge and pool area is lovely! Free fruit infused water and sunscreen, sandy area, volleyball net and balls for pool. Bar is crazy expensive - $15 for a margarita??? Stuck to a $7 Corona that was over $8 with 18% automatic gratuity! However, glad I knew this in advance and the hotel was like a beautiful resort. (Room has no empty fridge but you could fit a few things in the stocked mini-fridge) Express passes were so worth it! It was not too busy but very hot and we never waited longer than 5 minutes for a ride so I would say it was well worth spending the extra money to stay at a beautiful hotel and get these passes included! The boat ride was lovely but it is a short nice walk up the path. Just know you can't bring drinks back to the hotel (not sure why not) security told me to drink the margarita I had just bought before entering back onto the property ($8 rather than the $15 by the pool!) Wasn't thrilled about that but guess it is just their policy or to make sure you are spending more at their resort! Staff was nice there and it was beautiful inside the hotel and out with lovely interesting decor and beautiful trees and plants everywhere. Restaurants looked lovely but again pricey so we just ate at City walk or in park or ate our own snacks. Universal was a lot of fun and lots of things to see and do. It was hard to wait in line at Disney World after walking on every ride there!! Would definitely recommend but be sure to bring your own alcohol, snacks and anything else unless you just have money to burn!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bergelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here over Labor Day weekend and had a wonderful time. The kids enjoyed the pool while I enjoyed the shade at the pool. Multiple beach umbrellas mean there's plenty of shade for those of us trying to stay out of the sun. It is a 10 minute walk over to the parks and City Walk from the hotel. We took advantage of the early admission to both parks, and the express pass tickets. The cost of the room was worth it just for those two features. We only ate dinner on property once, at the Island DIning Room, and that was an expensive disappointment- mediocre food at high prices. Skip it, trust me. The rooms were quite large for the price we paid, larger than you'll find at Disney. Beds were comfortable, room was very clean. We'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank breeserfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed from Sept 1 to Sept 5, 2013. It was not crowded because most of the schools had started.

Hotel had South Pacific theme. Staffs said “Aloha” and “Mahalo “with Hawaiian shirts.
Front desk and lobby were very spacious. Lovely decoration of South Pacific and Asian gave me impression of upscale resort hotel.

We stayed Garden view room. We didn’t really care of view anyway because we would spent majority of time at park. However, outside of window are all bamboo and green. I actually like that privacy we got. I stayed with my boyfriend and our 2 kids….We were total of 4. The room was decollated lovely and clean. Big enough for 4 of us.

In the order to get room cleaning service, we needed to put tag outside of the door.
They did pretty good job clean and tidy our bed.

There was Keurig Coffee maker in the room. We needed free K-cups for every morning, so we made sure they serviced room.
Hotel sold Keurig Starbucks coffee for $3.50 at lobby. So, we didn’t mind free Emeril’s K-cups at room.
Anyway we could get coffee at park or Citywalk for more reasonable price, though.

There were plenty seating spaces in lobby for free internet access. Internet access at the hotel was around $15 per day. I was sorry not to bring rental Wi-Fi Hot Spot, because we spent some time at poolside and there was no free internet access.

Swimming pool was lovely. My daughter absolutely loved it. My boyfriend and I were on beach chair lounging. Free water with or without citrus were offered at poolside. Towels were provided at station. They were very helpful and nice. The wait service was available. Anyway, we were there for two days at poolside, but only once the waitress approached me for order. I ordered a glass of club soda and I got it pretty quick. But it took forever to close my check. I just needed to charge my room! Where was my waitress? I was holding my check for about 20 min till she came back to take my room key….
We didn’t bother eat at hotel, since there were free water taxi to Citywalk where so many choices of food. Anyway, it seems pretty expensive to dine in restaurant at hotel.
This was in-Park Resort, so the hotel gave us free express passes which cost fortune. We could charge everything in park to the room. Also, if we buy items at store in the park, they sent to the room.
That was very convenient to have that service because we didn't need to carry items around. However, please be aware that items will be delivered to the room by 9 am or during cleaning service. Check with concierge. So, we walked around only with our room key and express pass. (Just in case we carried ID and one credit card, because Burger king didn’t take room key, somehow.)
Last day, we had quick check out. It was easy… everything was great. We will definitely come again in the future if we decided to go to Universal again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masayo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPR, General Manager at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Aloha Masayo K! Thank you for posting such great pictures of your visit to the Islands! We thank you for all the details you mentioned in your review and we are happy to learn you enjoyed your stay overall! We sincerely apologize, however, for any delays by our pool area and we will be sure to pass this on to our team so we may make the necessary improvements. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the resort if your plans bring you back to Orlando. Thank you once again, Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here in May while we visited Universal Studios. This hotel is in an excellent location for visiting the theme parks at Universal. You can walk to either one, and there is also a boat service, although that option seemed a bit slow.

Staff here was very friendly and professional. Disney better watch out because the staff here is top notch! Everything was explained to us and we were led through check-in in a way that made all the various ticket options seem less confusing. When they found out it was my daughter's birthday they even gave her a toy.

Staying here gave us a free Express Pass to use at the parks. This amenity alone makes it worth it to stay at a Universal Resort because these passes are expensive. You get to skip to the front of many of the lines with the pass (but not the Wizarding World of Harry Potter), which you will quickly come to appreciate on a humid Orlando day. You also get early entry to Islands of Adventure to ride select attractions (including the Harry Potter ride).

The room we got was small, but adequate for our needs. Everything was very clean, and the decor was nice. The resort has a South Seas theme, which is quite relaxing, and some of the decor throughout is quite beautiful. Take the time to walk around and enjoy it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kamieberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here for 14 nights at the end of August / September. The whole of the hotel area gives a relaxed and chilled feeling as if you are in a bubble away from the manic hustle and bustle of the parks.
One warning is the prices, some of the meals were expensive but of very good quality.
As most people have pointed out the front of line passes are very welcome and saved standing about in the heat. Check the boards in the reception areas for the times of happy hour this will save a couple of dollars if you like a drink before retiring ( as we do ).
Looking forward to a return trip next year if we can afford it.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the theme park on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stroppyjockGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPR, General Manager at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Aloha stroppyjockGlasgow! Thank you so much for choosing us as your most recent destination! We certainly hope you enjoyed your stay and visit to the parks. We appreciate all your tips and most importantly for allowing us to be your home away from home for two weeks! We hope to see you for your return, Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 342 in Orlando
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#30 of 342 in Orlando
4,551 reviews
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#29 of 342 in Orlando
5,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando

Address: 6300 Hollywood Way, Orlando, FL 32819-7614
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Orlando
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#20 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#52 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#85 Business Hotel in Orlando
#90 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $252 - $559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be swept away to a South Seas escape filled with tropical wonders, exotic food and carefree fun. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Loews Royal Pacific Resort is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Prestigia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Royal Pacific Resort At Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Loews Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Resort Orlando
Universal Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Hotel Orlando
Universals Royal Pacific Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing