We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - TERRIBLE service!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando
Ranked #57 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was a 1 night stay in September.

Arrival

Arrived at the hotel early and kindly provided with a room. The check in agent explained the location of the room and provided us with our room keys, explaining we would need to obtain our express passes from the machines in the lobby area.

Room

Lovely - I cannot fault the lovely room. It was very cool, spacious with nice complimentary toiletries - smelt amazing!

Location

Excellent location, easily accessible to Citywalk and the parks. You have the option for a short 10 minute walk or a boat ride - both very easy.

Negatives

I'm extremely disappointed by the staff and management of this hotel. Our room keys would not allow the express passes to be printed - we waited 30 minutes whilst the staff tried various keys and then advised us to walk to the park - queue up at Guest Services. I explained we wanted to get early access (an advertised perk) - they were extremely unhelpful and didn't apologise at all. We ended up getting to Universal entrance at 8:30 (already 30 minutes of early opening lost) and queued for 15 minutes for an express pass. By the time we got the express pass, it was pointless and the rest of the park was open.

Upon returning to the hotel, I asked for the managers details to make a complaint as I felt the staff had not been helpful and the fact we missed a perk we had paid for left me feeling negative. No one assisted and I was advised no management were available.

The following morning, we had further issues and the keys had to be re-issued twice before the express pass worked - again losing 30 minutes. Rather than get irate, we decided to forget it and follow up on our return.

Since getting back, I have emailed the hotel on 2 occasions requesting the details to make a complaint and no response! Simply unacceptable and such a disappointment.

This hotel is lovely but the service leaves a lot to be desired! I will not stay again as service does make up a bit percentage of the overall stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LukeRichM5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9,667)
There are newer reviews for Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,013 - 7,019 of 9,669 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed here for three nights in October for a business conference. It's a large property, but most of the things you're going to care about are at the center of the complex. I had a standard room with two queen beds and it was actually a pretty decent size. The pool is nice, although not enormous by resort standards. Everything was clean and I appreciate the fact that the cleaning staff does not knock on your door to get access early in the morning. I took quite a few business calls in the room and was never disturbed. I just put the sign on the door and everythign was perfect (and the room was all clean if I left it for a few hours). I went to the Universal City Walk to get dinner via the resourt walkways a few times and it was nice to not have to get a taxi. You can get to the Park Complex the same way. It's about 10 minutes by foot, and you're going to be walking inside the park a lot more than that.

Room Tip: Get a room opposite the pool or you'll be hearing music from early in the morning till late at n...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPR, General Manager at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Aloha from the Loews Royal Pacific Resort! It is great to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations with regards to your stay, here on business. It is wonderful that you were able to get away from the meetings to enjoy the services and amenities we provide, along with the great entertainment at Universal Orlando. Hopefully, we can delight you again in the future! Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I am a Harry Potter fan. Love the books and was excited to see the park. It was worth it to me to stay at the Universal Hotels to get the hour early admission, and the free fast pass. The hotel was good. Clean, friendly staff, and you get everything they advertise. I really enjoyed the flexibility to come and go from the park to the hotel. To come and go without having to worry about parking, fees, or anything. Love it made it worth the extra you pay for this hotel compared to some other around the park.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Highly recommend this hotel. Great location, boat or walk to City walk or both Universal attractions. Very clean very comfortable large hotel with everything you need. Superb beach area for chilling out. Food choices are good too not too many children when we stayed for 5 nights but it is family orientated which was fine. Cant fault this place at all would definatley go back ... Excellent value for money with bonus of free fast pass or earlyy entry for attractions... Excellent great place!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank kevski66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPR, General Manager at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Mahalo Nui Loa (Thank You Very Much) for posting such a great review! We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your resort experience, and we are also glad that you would definitely consider staying with us again. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

After a trip to Disney before transferring to Universal, it was safe to say that we were done with crying toddlers and their pushy moms.

The Pacific hotel is the perfect balm to that. The hotel itself is beautifully appointed, the staff are helpful and the rooms are spacious, airy and serene with great views overlooking the waterway.

It was the perfect place to return to after a hard day at the parks.

Additionally the perks that you receive ie. express pass, free entrance to all clubs and free waterway taxis are not to be sniffed at. This made our trip a lot easier to manage and we could pack more into our days than other couples.

Highly reccomend travelling in Sept - the weather is good and crowds are few and far between.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here numerous times and always love it and can't wait to return. Restaurants on property are good and it is very close to universal and islands. The Hawaiian/Polynesian theme is perfect. Courteous employees and always clean.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank opichardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

this hotel has outstanding staff and amazing facilities, such as child care, a swimming pool, a SPA and an amazing arcade for children and teens. it gives you fast pass to all of the universal theme parks, that means that you don't have to wait in line for a long time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Lu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,457 reviews
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#27 of 340 in Orlando
4,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando

Address: 6300 Hollywood Way, Orlando, FL 32819-7614
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Orlando
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#21 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#52 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#85 Business Hotel in Orlando
#90 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $241 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be swept away to a South Seas escape filled with tropical wonders, exotic food and carefree fun. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Loews Royal Pacific Resort is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Prestigia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Royal Pacific Resort At Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Loews Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Resort Orlando
Universal Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Hotel Orlando
Universals Royal Pacific Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing