We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando
Ranked #73 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Amazing service, clean hotel, fun pool. We had trouble getting our check at the pool one day. Kids tried to buy a beach ball at the towel shack and my husband had to go over and help out then wait in line at the bar to pay for it.
The 2 bdrm room i the west wing was great. I loved having a ground floor because kids just shot out the slider and watched the boats and skateboarded. (there was a paved path they were allowed on). The further to the end of the west wing you go on the ground floor there is no such thing as a patio. It had a small slab of concrete and lots of tall grasses. Even a palm tree branch.
The value is wonderful because you get early park admission and free express passes which you can pick up upon arrival.
My mattress could have used replacing I think but I am used to a memory foam so maybe I was in adjustment mode.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a patio that actually has a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phishstx52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,987
    845
    343
    149
    149
See reviews for
2,196
610
16
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

My friends and I stayed here for the second time and enjoyed it just as much as the first. This time we stayed in a Queen Deluxe room with a pool view. The room was pretty much the same though slightly larger with an added separate shower and tub which we had wrongly assumed would mean the bathroom was separate from the tub/shower to make getting ready easier. The bathroom did have a shutter window that opens from inside by the tub which was interesting. . . .

We were on the bottom floor and had a patio that opened up to overlook the Bocce Ball court and one of the pools. We did get a chance to visit the hot tub which was large, clean, and the perfect temperature. It was a little pulled away from the pool which was nice. There are towel stations that have fruit infused water which was very refreshing though the towel station was a little inconveniently located from where we entered the pool area but not enough to really be inconvenient especially if you think about towels in advance of going into the hot tub, which we did not. The design of the Villa pool area is beautiful and really transports you to another place. Even though we were supposed to feel like we were in Portifino the palm trees surrounding the pool really made me feel like we were in some amazing Hollywood Hotel. It was wonderful.

The rooms at this hotel are really large and great if you're traveling with a group/family. We definitely had room to spread out. As last time the bed was incredibly comfortable, I really love how comfortable their beds are. We requested additional towels and they brought them to us no problem. The hotel also has free Wi-Fi which we did not used but was appreciated especially since so many luxury hotels do not provide it free of cost.

We had plans to go to a restaurant that was off property in the Dr. Philips area and we called the front desk to inquire about taxis and they told us they had cars available to take us anywhere we needed to go. We assumed this was going to be an expensive endeavor but the car was beautiful and only cost us $20 which we were very surprised by.

There is a mini-bar in the room that is on a weight system so don't just pull stuff out to look at and read the labels as it is on a timer and if you pull it out for longer than a certain amount of time they will charge you even if you put it back.

As always a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ghostlightmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPBHManager, General Manager at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback! It is understandable that you felt like you were on a Hollywood set. Fun fact: Steven Spielberg was actually one of the main consultants in the design of the Portofino! As a repeat guest, your continued enjoyment and satisfaction mean a great deal to us. We look forward to having you back for another fantastic visit in the future! After all, third time’s a charm. Until then, ciao for now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

In my opinion, this is the best hotel in Orlando.

Taking location, quality and price into account. I think that the Portofino Bay has it all. During peak times, the price is a bit high. But the rest of the year it is more than reasonable. Large rooms, high quality.

As for location. Perfect! You can walk easily to Universal theme parks and the city walk.

Room key allows you to get to the front of the rides too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

This on site hotel cost a little more than the others. However, it is hands down the best value for that memorable trip. My chasten loved the poolside movie. The pool and water slide is a family favorite. Front desk staff is excellent. Easy access to parks via water taxi and front of the lines. This has been my favorite Orlando hotel since they opened 15 years ago. We will continue staying at the Portofino.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valdostagatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPBHManager, General Manager at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We truly appreciate your feedback about our hotel and team members.
We are thrilled that you choose to return, as it is an honor and a compliment. It is feedback such as yours that helps inspire the team to excellence. To be deemed your favorite hotel in Orlando really pulls on our heart strings, so we thank you and cannot wait for the next opportunity to serve you. Until then, ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

This hotel is no way a five star experience. This is truly for families and young children. Basically clean hotel and caters for tourist to local parks. This is not a hotel you come for a honeymoon or anything romantic.

Can get very busy in central bay portion of hotel. Overall, a good choice for families.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IIMCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
170 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

I will start pout by saying that the hotel itself is amazing and the staff was wonderful during our stay. My ding with the ratings is mainly based on something pertaining to food allergies and billing.

The hotel, rooms and grounds are spotless and perfect. I recommend the main pool area. It's amazing and includes a water slide and movie screen. We went exploring all over the hotel and there's a lot to see. Our room was nice and close to the ferry that takes you to the parks and City Walk. Any problems or requests we had during our stay were handled exceptionally and quickly by the staff i.e. The room safe was locked on our arrival and the phones did not work properly. They came and fixed both quickly. We loved the Italian theme and the singers on the veranda each evening were a neat touch.

I would stay here for the early admission and XpressPass alone. If you want to get on the Harry Potter ride in a decent amount of time, it's a must to get to the park right at the early hotel guest admission time. If you have smaller children, you might want to try the other on-site properties. We were able to see both and I think younger kids would like the Hard Rock or Royal Pacific better.

If you have no food allergies, this will not pertain to you and there really is no for you to avoid this hotel. However, I and 2 of my children have the same allergy to peanuts\nuts. I'm sure it's hard for people without life threatening allergies to understand. But if we go to a hotel, we want that space to be a "safe" extension of our home while we're away. While we're on vacation, our guard has to be up constantly in the parks and other public areas. We need to be able to go to our hotel room, let down our guard and relax. We do not expect everywhere to be free of nuts, but our hotel room is an exception and a private area. Imagine my surprise when my very young son comes walking up with a bag of peanut M&M's. Fortunately, he asked because the item he found looked suspicious to him and he had the self control not to throw that candy in his mouth without asking first. That could have a had a very different ending. One that could have caused the end of our vacation, hospitalization and even death. So my message is to the hotel chain. I'm not saying don't have nuts around for guests to purchase outside their rooms. But you should review your policy of having them in the rooms hidden in a drawer.

However, that all aside. I probably wouldn't have reduced my rating as much had the removal of food not been an issue. After our son found the food, we called down and asked them to remove the nuts while we were out. They were very understanding and removed the items. Not only did they remove the nuts, they removed everything. The problem is that they decided to charge us for everything that was removed. It also took a few emails and days to straighten this out and get a credit back. Even with the minor problems like the locked safe and phones not working, I would have given them a 4 or 5. However, I cannot get over the fact that they tried to charge me for what I didn't think should be in the room in the first place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JerryK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We loved our vacation to Universal Orlando. The Portofino Bay hotel was everything we could have asked for. A beautiful walk to the parks or a short wait for the river taxi. The whole family enjoyed the pool especially our two boys. Everyone who worked there was very friendly and when we go back we will definitely go back there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 28jennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#27 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,062 reviews
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando

Property: Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando
Address: 5601 Universal Blvd., Orlando, FL 32819-7880
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#18 Green Hotel in Orlando
#27 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#45 Business Hotel in Orlando
#54 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#80 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a luxurious escape inspired by the famed seaside village of Portofino, Italy. Perfectly appointed rooms and suites, gorgeous vistas and incredible cuisine welcome you to celebrate la dolce vita-the sweet life. Located on-site at Universal Orlando Resort, Loews Portofino Bay Hotel is in the heart of the excitement of Universal Studios Florida, Universal's Islands of Adventure, and Universal CityWalk. Guests of this hotel enjoy exclusive theme park benefits. Skip the regular lines at most attractions with FREE Universal Express Unlimited ride access - a benefit worth $89 per person, per day**. You can also take advantage of Early Park Admission one hour before the theme park opens, and more! (valid theme park admission required.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Portofino Bay Resort
Portofino Orlando
Portofino Bay Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing