We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Ranked #169 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed June 11, 2007

my wife grandaughter and i stayed here for 13 nights we had to change to this hotel from the awful Quality Inn.great warm cookies when you check in, warm and friendly staff,very clean and tidy room,great view from the 16th floor.its very handy for Universal about a 10/15 min walk or you can catch the city bus[Lynx] number 21 and that will take you to the entrance. close by theres a Dennys,TGI Fridays,Golden Coral and a Walgreens.you must try the subs from the deli $6.95 for a 12"sub so much filling wicked.if you want to get onto international drive catch the I-Ride[green line] on the hotel side[green line stop 4]and get off at stop 7 to change onto the main line and on the way back to hotel you need to be at stop 7 opp the crazy golf ,the green line runs every 25-30 mins,the main line runs every 15mins or so.anyone from the East Midlands[UK]go with First Choice[fly from East Midlands Airport] there are excellent.it took us from landing to getting onto the coach about 25 mins...........very quick at Sanford airport.i hope this review is ok for everyone have a great time in Orlando.

  • Liked — the great staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank UkBilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,059
    1,198
    698
    292
    204
See reviews for
1,282
844
92
533
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hiram, GA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2007

We just came back from a trip in orlando. We were going to Islands of Adventure. This is the most perfect place to stay other then on site (which is way too expensive). I would recommend if you have small children that you drive yourself to universal instead of taking the free trolly. The reason is that if you want to go then come back in the middle of the day and then go later it is almost impossible since the trolly doesn't pick up at the universal until 4:30pm. The best service ever!! Not one complaint. The carpet is a little stained. Not that bad. I would recommend if you go to this hotel to get a floor above the 7th. We stayed on the 7th and it was a descent view. We saw Universal studios. Room service is very very expensive. There is a Golden Coral right next to the hotel that would be less expensive. There is a Starbucks that is really nice. Oh and the cookies when you check in is to die for!! They offer cribs for those who travel with young children and will bring one to you. All in all this hotel is the best we have stayed in. No matter what others have said this is a really great hotel!!!

  • Liked — The bathroom
  • Disliked — stained carpet
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tera_pace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2007

My boyfriend and I decided to book a quick Memorial Day vacation on the website [-]. We found a package out of Chicago with air, this hotel, and car for $900 for four nights. When we arrived, we were beyond surprised:) We had read good reviews on here about this hotel, but none of them expressed how outstanding it was! The room was so huge, it was like living in an appartment! The beds were as soft as clouds and huge for queens. The bathroom was also large and when I needed a shower cap, I called room service and they send one up right away and called to make sure it got there. The gardens/fountain and pool were all very gorgeous! Location was great as well:) I cannot say enough great things about this hotel from the friendly staff to the yummy cookies and huge pool, it was an experience I won't forget and one I hope to have again soon:)

  • Liked — Value and Comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing...it was awesome!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Britta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2007

We just came back after staying at this hotel for 5 nights. It is just an OK hotel. As other reviewers pointed out, we got a room with stains on the carpet .. maybe because we booked it via priceline. Next morning when I asked the receptionist to change the room, she agreed and told me that the new room will be ready when we come back later in the day from Disney and that they will move our luggage to the new room. But, when we came back at 8pm, although they reserved a room for us, luggage was not shifted and it remained in the old room. When we inspected the new room, it was even worse with stainis on the carpet and in the bath tub. So we adjusted and went back to the old room as it was better in the sense that bath tub was clean. We did not had breakfast there and we did not use the pool. Shuttle bus to universal is a joke. Don't depend on it. 8.30 am shuttle did not come even at 8.50 am one morning and we ended up walking to Universal. One good thing about the hotel is that restaurants, starbucks and takeaways are available at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RNA-MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2007

Well my husband and i stayed at the Doubletree for 10 nights in order to "do all the parks". On arrival the check in staff were very friendly and helpful and, yes, as previously mentioned the cookies are fabulous.
Our bedroom was quite basic, no opening windows and limited control on the aircon. We didn't have a guest directory in our room and that put us at a disadvantage on trying to understand how things worked (after asking for one on two separate occasions i gave up asking).

On our first morning we were invited to a talk regarding Holiday Vacation deals for Hilton, basically time share. We went on the promise of $100 as a thank you, but ended up there for 4 hours rather than the 90 minutes we were told.

Other than selling timeshares very well, the staff on concierge were awful. They didn't know anything about the I-trolley bus that stops right outside the hotel and will get you to Seaworld and beyond for just $1. rather we spent the first few days spending a fortune on taxi's two and from the disney parks and seaworld (nearly $30 each way), we were told that the shuttle bus ($32 return per person) had to be booked 2 hours in advance and there was no other offer of alternative travel.

it was obvious we were holiday makers rather than the millions of business users at the hotel, but were not informed of the offers available for Universal studios (which is directly opposite the hotel).

A further gripe was when i tried to order room service one night, and after 3 phone calls to establish what the ingredients on one of the menu choices was (I suffer from allergies) gave up, as the room service person on the end of the phone had no idea of anything.

Good points were the deli bar (although very fattening) with pizza hut and krispy kreme etc. the staff there were very very friendly, the food was good, although basic, and very cheap. the staff at Starbucks were very friendly too.

The gym doesn't have airconditioning, and one day didn't even have any drinking water in it, although the equipment is good quality.

in summary, if you're doing all the parks, i would stay nearer disney because you'll end up spending a fortune on taxi's. If you're only doing Universal, then you can walk there!

i wouldn't stay there again if i ever went back to Orlando because of the location but more importantly the lack of knowledge and helpfullness of most of the staff.

  • Liked — cookie
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank permanenthoneymooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2007

me and my boyfriend just got back from florida (12th may07)we stayed 4 nights here, was clean the pool was good and it was pretty reasonablie priced no complaints at all booked through a great web sie called travel republic .com got good rates etc
would recoomend people to stay here as a base to theme parks shopping etc

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank claire24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2007

Stayed at the Doubletree for our first night of a touring holiday after just getting off the aeroplane. Found it very hard to find as directions were not good at all. The hotel itself is not in the best location, you cant actually walk to International Drive particularly easily. So if its location you are after I recommend the Rosen or something similar which is actually on I Drive. The rate we got through Virgin was really good and the hotel itself is nice. Its big, big rooms, we were nicely welcomed with a basket of fruit (we were on holiday to celebrate our anniversary), bed was comfortable and parking very easily done. There arent a lot of eating options near the hotel but it was sufficient for the one nights stay we were having. If you get a room near the elevators they tend to be quite loud so if you like peace and quiet ask for one away from them!

  • Liked — The room was nice and comfortable
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kez_ireland25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Clarion Inn & Suites
#119 of 338 in Orlando
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando

Property: Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Address: 5780 Major Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819-7904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#136 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando 3.5*
Number of rooms: 742
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton At The Entrance To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Doubletree Orlando
Orlando Doubletree
Doubletree Universal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing