We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Ranked #168 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Business trip”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Unusual for a business trip, but my agency was offered a terrific rate. No free breakfast and a ham-strung Starbucks with a limited menu. My room was clean, but a little tired. Staff was friendly and helpful. I did NOT appreciate Faux News playing in the lobby. Constantly. Is this the impression you want to give your many international visitors? The pool was nice, and would have benefitted from a regular skimming. Lots of dried grass and bugs on a windy day. Not a bad stay, just okay. I would expect more from a Doubletree.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mym2bw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis E, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear mym2bw,

Thank you very much for your comments. I truly appreciate you sharing yout experience with us. I have passed on your comments to our entire staff. The Engineering department is making sure alot more attention is paid to the pool on breezier days to keep it clean and sparkiling.

Best Regards,

Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,059
    1,197
    697
    292
    204
See reviews for
1,280
844
92
533
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The stay was great. Cynthia ourhousekeeper was fabulous & accomodating. The location was perfect for Universal, right within walking distance. Bit dissapointed that the pool bar was closed, especially since it was summer month.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis E, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Theresa B,

Thank you for your comments about your stay and about Cynthia. She was recently won one of the top awards for Hilton, the Spirit of Pride. This is only awarded to 50 out of 80,000 employees yearly. We are glad you could experience her hospitality.

We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Location wise it was perfect if your spending 1-2 days at Universal Studios/Adventure Island – it was a Few minutes walk from the hotel, they even have a star bucks in the hotel and the bedrooms were great size – views of the motor way and in the distance you can see the fireworks at night!

Food wise your on a main road with massive ‘All u can eat’ kind of chains – be warned it was more quantity of food than quality – you will need a car wherever you go

Also there was Wi-fi access only in the lobby!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis E, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Isha A,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am proud to announce that we now have complimentary basic internet in our rooms as well as the lobby. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Orlando.

Best Regards,

Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have visited Orlando many times and stayed at hotels on I-drive,Buena Vista,Maingate etc but have found Doubletree at Universal tops the lot.Hotel is large,spotlessly clean and with very friendly service. Rooms are very well appointed and well cleaned with the added advantage of coffee maker, fridge and safe as standard.Pool and hot tub are excellent with adequate amounts of sun loungers.A short and pleasant 10 to 15 min stroll takes you to City Walk and the theme parks.No need to hire a car as I-Ride stop is right outside hotel.This takes you to I-Drive,Seaworld,Aquatica,Wet & Wild,Premium Outlets etc and with a 14 day jump on /off ticket for a very good price of $15 it is easily the best way to get about.Travelling to Disney is no problem either as connections from I-Ride transfer stops via Lynxx bus costs only a couple of dollars and are every 30min or so.This hotel will almost certainly be our first choice for future visits.

Room Tip: Higher rooms ie 7 to 15 are best in either tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis E, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Alexander C,

Thank you so much for your review of our property! We are so glad you found us such a great location to base your vacation from. We will look forward to seeing you again next year!

Best regards,

Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

You cannot go wrong by choosing this hotel if you plan on going to Universal Studios. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance and a cab ride to the theme is only $5 (beware the cabbies, they do not like picking up and dropping off between the hotel and the park. they do not make any money for doing so).
The front desk staff is excellent and very friendly.
The bellmen (porters) are also very friendly and very helpful.
Be wary of the Universal studios/Hilton concierge desk. They will try and sign you up for a time share sales pitch for Hilton Grand Vacations. DO NOT DO IT!!!

Room Tip: Corner room on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimz12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis E, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear jmrws1,

I would like to thank you for your review of our hotel. I have shared your comments with our Front desk and bellstaff. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Orlando.

Sincerely,

Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

A nice hotel with a huge hot tub. Rooms were nice and clean. Happy hour was 4 to 7 and was always crowded. Bar tenders were nice as well. Only problem was water temperature. It only got warm, but never hot.

Room Tip: The views of Universal are okay, but you overlook the parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avelonokc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis E, Director of Engineering at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear avelonokc,

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry the water temperature was not correct during your stay with us. I have personally looked in to this and have my team checking the temperature 2 times daily going forward to ensure this will not happen again.

Sincerely,

Mike M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Down side, Parking costs $12 a day. Needs updating, Carpet in hallways and rooms needs to be replaced. Elevators are in need of updating and cleaning. The hotel is older and could use a facelift also. Now for the plus side,,,,Hotel is in a good location across from Universal Studios. Starbucks in the lobby is a plus. Plenty of restaurants near by. Also a very short drive to International Drive, where there are numerous choices of places to eat, and shopping too. Overall we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis E, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear A TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay. I have shared your comments with our housekeeping and maintinence staffs. I truly appreciate your comments. please let me know when you are returning so I may personally take care of you.

Best Regards,

Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Clarion Inn & Suites
#118 of 338 in Orlando
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando

Property: Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Address: 5780 Major Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819-7904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#136 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando 3.5*
Number of rooms: 742
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton At The Entrance To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Doubletree Orlando
Orlando Doubletree
Doubletree Universal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing