We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean and comfortable beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Ranked #184 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Lake City, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very clean and comfortable beds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel was very clean and classy. The beds were extremely comfortable allowing for a restful stay. The entire room was quite cozy. Love that there is a Starbucks in the hotel. Staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeUniversal, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Teresa F,
Thank you very much for the five star review of your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando. I also can tell you that we love having a Starbucks in the hotel I don’t know how we survive without it. Please let us know when you are coming back to Orlando we will keep the cookies warm for you.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,310
    1,442
    883
    395
    275
See reviews for
1,668
1,041
116
707
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
derry city
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here from 21 September till 29, for the W.K.A World kickboxing Championships. Mini van taxi from airport was $64 for 7 .
Our room 709 was a great size for 4 of us, although i did see some smaller rooms belonging to our group rm 713 was small for a party of 4 with very little wardrobe space. The beds are very comfortable and the bathroom was a good size with lots of storage. Each floor had a vending machine and ice machines. The air con was great but the noise would drive you mad at night. Our room faced on to the Universal theme park and you can see allot of the attractions. The hotel is very spacious and clean. The pool area was great, plenty of sun loungers and towels. The bbq's during the day and night where a great way of entertaining everybody. There was a great area for laundry and separate room for public telephones and ATM machine.
The food court did great pizzas which was handy for eating in your room at night. The bar area was a bit on the small side and a expensive, Millars ale house down the street { exit hotel and go right} had different offers on different days with both food and drinks i would recommend the ribs, on average $70 a night for dinner and drinks for 4. There is also a Wall greens beside the ale house and much cheaper for snacks and gifts.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tootsDerryCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeUniversal, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear TootsDerryCity,
Thank you very much for your feedback from your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando. WKA was a great group for our hotel and we believe the hotel was great for your group. There were so many different countries here and the championships were so great to watch. I am pleased that you had no issues with your accommodations, I will have engineering look at the air conditioning in your room so that the next guest does not have any issues. I will also make sure that our Food & Beverage team is aware of your comments about the BBQ and the rest of the outlets. TootsDerryCity thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to possibly hosting the WKA again in three years when it comes back to the US.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We rented a car for $110 for the week from Payless and drove. Cab was $60 one way so cheaper for 3 people. Although parking is $12 per day but we were only there 2 nts. There is a convention center attached so there were groups coming and going. Beautiful lobby with gift shop, Starbucks, tour desk and computer room and ATM. There's a courtyard with tables and a fountain. You walk through it to the pool area and store with ice cream and pizza. You can walk through the parking lot at the end of the block is a Burger King, Walgreens and liquer store. TGI Fridays is next door. They have shuttles to Universal that are only roundtrip and you have to stop at the tour desk to make a reservation. You can walk but it takes 15-20 mins. The rooms were average but it was a fun atmosphere with all the people coming and going!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Javatourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeUniversal, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Javatourist,
Thank you for the feedback from your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando. We do very much appreciate the detail that you described about the property and the surrounding area. Besides the scheduled shuttle to Universal there is a taxi which costs just $5.00 one way, or as you mentioned the nice 15 to 20 minute walk. Javatourist thank you again for your feedback and if you travels bring you to Orlando again please let us know.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Bedrooms was good, reception staff was ok. The pool and jacuzzi was a plus.

We chose this hotel because we thought the parking was included in the price. The extra charge for parking was ridiculous, therefore we parked somewhere near by the hotel. Then we walked directly to the universal studio. There is as well a shuttle from the hotel if you do not like to walk

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeUniversal, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Frank R,
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando. We are very conveniently located to Universal, and it is easy to either walk, or simply take the scheduled shuttle to the theme park. I am sorry about the communication about the parking change. If you have a moment could you please call me at 407.206.7041 to discuss this. Thank you again.

Best Regards,
Tom MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Perfect location to Universal Studios and the shopping outlets. We stayed here for a week in February and could not fault the service and accomodation. Make your own Waffles for breakfast was great, free Universal Studios Shuttle, Gym and Free Wifi :)
Would definitley stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ness91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeUniversal, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Ness91,
Thank you for the five star review of your trip in February to the Doubletree by Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando. The waffles are still a big part of our breakfast buffet, however we have added chocolate batter, and several different kinds of toppings for them. We are also moving forward with improving our fitness center. Please let us know when your travels do bring you back to Orlando we would love to see you again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

what a fantastic hotel! recently returned from a 5-night stay here and nothing, but wonderful things to say about the hotel and it's staff.

The location is fantastic for visiting Universal Studios- a 10-15 walk away- our room had a good view of Universal- lovely!

There's some good restaurants nearby and a Walgreens just down the road.

All of the staff were friendly, polite and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them.

The breakfast in Pompanos was lovely and such a fantastic selection to choose from.

Would definitely stay here again if visiting Orlando again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeUniversal, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Emma B,
Thank you for the five star review of your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando. Thank you for very much for the great comments about the location and about the staff, I will personally make sure they know. Once again thank you and when your travels bring you back to Orlando please let us know.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We visit Universal several times a year and this is always our first choice. Good rooms and views and a great location if you want to walk to Universal. About a 15 minute walk at most. The rooms are always clean and the staff always friendly. Parking is convenient. Close to local resturants and fast food chains.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeUniversal, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear JM,
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay to the Doubletree by Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando. I have shared your comments about the clean rooms and the friendly staff, with all of our departments. It is great to get feedback from someone who comes several times a year. Please let us know when you are coming back.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Inn & Suites
#111 of 335 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Florida Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando

Property: Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Address: 5780 Major Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819-7904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#136 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando 3.5*
Number of rooms: 742
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton At The Entrance To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Doubletree Orlando
Orlando Doubletree
Doubletree Universal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing