We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Ranked #162 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed October 13, 2011

I stay at the Doubletree frequently when in town for business . Nice location,easy to get to from I-4 and or Turnpike . It is an older property and could use some updates in certain areas , but does offer amenities that most of the other hotels nearby don't have . Nice lobby,with lot of sitting areas ,nice pool and patio areas outside ,with a very large hot tub . Does have a bar and restaurant on site,as well as a Starbucks ,and several within easy walking distance ,which can be a big convenience in Orlando if you don't want to get out and drive at night . Very friendly and accomodating staff everytime I've visited ,as well as a little better than average service for Hilton Honors members . Full bell service is always available when you enter as well .Not too happy with the lack of free internet in rooms,although it is available in the lobby. In todays hotel world that should be a gimme ,you can get free wi fi in a Sleep Inn room. Another complaint that seems to be an issue for most is the parking fees that they charge , but it does seem to make the parking lots more secure,and they also offer valet service .The rooms do need a little updating,but they are clean and comfortable with nice beds and bedding,and nice TV's as well . Bathrooms are on the small side ,but do have nicer than average toiletries . All in all a good clean hotel ,that I've always felt safe in ,and never had any real troubles at when staying there.

Room Tip: Higher floors in north tower offer nice views of Universal Studios as well as surrounding area . Som...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jj-howard60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeUniversal, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

Thanks for returning to the Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando. A return guest is something we strive for. We’re glad you had a taste of our warm, caring service (along with our delicious cookie at check in). We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,543)
There are newer reviews for Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,435 - 2,441 of 3,544 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2011

You can't really complain about the hotel itself because it's your run of the mill 3-star hotel. Our room was clean and the lobby was spacious and welcoming.

We booked the hotel because of it's vicinity to Universal Studios...BUT! The free shuttle to the parks left in weird increments in the morning and only had three pick-up times for the evening. None of the evening times were convenient unless you wanted to stay until the very end of the day or after the park closed. If you want to leave early, you'll have to cab it because the "quick walk" isn't quick at all and isn't pedestrian friendly.

Please expect to PAY for parking and not a nominal $5 hotel guest rate but $12 PER DAY Average-Joe-Who-Walks-off-the-Street Rate! They have a big lot in the middle of nowhere so it's not like parking there is a privilege. Also, having to swipe your room key to get in and out of the parking lot is a major inconvenience especially in the rain.

One last thing that irked me was the concierge/front desk personnel's "helpfulness". Neither one was able to give us clear instructions on how to get around and when asked, the front desk gave us a sheet with vague directions to local attractions and the concierge didn't have a map. What kind of a hotel doesn't have a map? Yes, they had the large eagle view map of tourist traps and theme parks, but nothing with actual street names on it. Bring a GPS!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Dewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

First, the Doubletree was the only hotel in the immediate area that charged for parking. Next, I was not able to bring my laptop and so planned to use the business center to check email etc. Imagine my surprise when I learned that the cost would be .59 a minute! When our reserved room was not ready at 3 pm we asked where we could get a cup of coffee while we waited. We were told that the Starbucks closed at 3 pm and the snack bar opened at 4 pm so there was NOTHING they could do. Really? Later we asked the concierage about obtaining tickets for Disney's Epcot Center. He casually informed us that he thought we could probably purchase them at the gate, but he only knew about Universal. Really?

Room Tip: Bring a laptop unless you want to pay $.59 a minute to use the business center.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mfb4949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeUniversal, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2011

Thank you for your honest review. While we do charge for parking we also offer packages that include parking and guest room internet in the rate. Because we are a Universal Partner Hotel we cannot sell tickets to the Disney parks. Our check in time is 4pm and while our staff tries very hard to make rooms available early it is sometimes not possible. Again we thank you for your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

This hotel was perfectly nice. It was clean and comfortable and fairly upscale. The only negative is they charge for internet. My husband and I both brought laptops and they wanted to charge to logon in the room. You can logon for free in the lobby but who wants to sit down there all evening when you've paid for a nice room? Most hotels of this caliber (and less) provide complimentary internet these days and I'm surprised they aren't offering this very basic service - in your room. On the plus side, the warm cookie was delicious.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeUniversal, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2011

Thank you for your review! I see you stayed with us in November 2010 and since then we have introduced packages that include guest room internet access in our guest rooms. We hope you will visit us again on your next visit to Orlando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We went out in july to this hotel, it was our first time to florida and didnt know what to expect. The hotel reception area etc was very clean and the information desk for trips was excellent they managed to organise a trip for us leaving the next morning it was best trip of hol. The room was cleaned everday and the beds were really comfortable. Where the hotel is situated it was great for universal, the hotel provided a shuttle service to disney at a cost of $15 each return, the staff at the costa shop were really friendly and helpful would reccomend this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeUniversal, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2011

We are so glad we made your first trip to Florida a memorable one. Please keep us in mind should you visit us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

The location is perfect, but the service is horrible. Nothing I saw on the internet is true and parking is expensive. Not recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Machacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeUniversal, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2011

Thank you for your review. If you could please elaborate on the level of service you received we will gladly address any issues you may have had. Please email stay@doubletreeorlando.com mention TripAdvisor in the subject line

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We were booked at a dump hotel across town and had to get out fast. Our travel agent brought us to Doubletree within an hour. We were greeted by Demetrius, who offered us warm cookies and ensured us that our stay at Doubletree would be wonderful. He was correct!! The people are very friendly and greeted us each time we left and came back. The pool area is nice, clean and spacious. Small tiki bar open when there are enough people to enjoy it. Larger hot tub, nicely kept. Rooms were spacious and clean. Beds were made each day and fresh towels. Very friendly staff, never saw or spoke to a grumpy person. Within walking distance to Universal (20 min or so), also to BK if you dont like Starbucks coffee. Bar offers 2 for 1 most evenings during happy hour - can take out by the pool. Plenty of eating places around, could either walk or drive. Our room did have a refrig in it (located in 1/2 the dresser). Definately not a foo foo hotel with stuffy people.

Room Tip: If you want to see Universal park at night, ask for a room with that view.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snyderfire61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeUniversal, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2011

So glad your travel agent was able to get you here with us! We hope you will visit us again on your next visit to Orlando!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Clarion Inn & Suites
#125 of 340 in Orlando
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando

Address: 5780 major blvd., Orlando, FL 32819-7904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#136 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $89 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 742
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton At The Entrance To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Doubletree Orlando
Orlando Doubletree
Doubletree Universal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing