We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel - expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Ranked #171 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“OK hotel - expensive”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We selected to stay at this hotel as it was the closest one to Universal Orlando. We wanted to go to Hard Rock for a Clay Aiken concert. Not kidding, the hotel is just a 5 min drive. You could probably walk but it's quite a ways to walk.

The hotel is quite dated. The room was OK in my standards. This Doubletree hotel as a washer/dryer in the complex. It's quite far from the room. At least, we can have clean clothes while we are on the road.

It's odd that the Starbucks in the hotel closed early - like 3 p.m.!! Good thing, I managed to get a coffee before it closed.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellerforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeUniversal, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Thanks for your review! Hope you enjoyed your concert! Many of our guests do walk to Universal/CityWalk it takes about 15 minutes. We hope we are your hotel of choice on your next visit to Orlando!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,034
    1,181
    688
    286
    201
See reviews for
1,252
831
91
523
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Staying in Sarasota wanted to go to the Kennedy Space Centre (well well worth a visit), rather than drive the full way there and back in a day, we booked at Double Tree. We only booked DT because we knew where it was. Actually it was not the cheapest and in common with a lot of hotels . Not all! Hilton charge extra for parking as well ($12 per night). It took longer than expected to drive to hotel (about 3 hours) mainly due to a bad storm on the way. Actually, like most drivers I slowed down. Was very surprised by quite a number of Disney Coaches going flat went past us despte the appaling conditions, visability was down to about 100 years and stopping distances would not have been great. So it took me a bit longer but at least me and my family were safe.

Why do I mention this? Well when we arrived at Double Tree I had hoped for at least a friendly welcome but no such luck! The thing was that I did not want valet parking ( extra charge) and I did not want any help with my bags ( no tips ) so I was told in most certain terms that I could not wait outside the hotel for a second and had to move my car and my luggage to the car park and struggle in from there! Thanks! Room was clean and beds were fine but wanted to use the sofa bed for one of our kids and had to ask 3 times to get it done - somebody was always on their way. Not too impressed with hotel and would probably not stay there again,there is plenty of choice in Orlando. But I can suggest going to Celebration the Disney town it is very nice and plenty of restaurants by the lake. Well worth a short trip and a nice meal.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HOTEL-CALIFORNIA-101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeUniversal, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Thank you for your honest feedback. We have shared your review with our parking team and housekeeping staff. We apologize for the inconvience you experienced and this is not our normal service standard. We appreciate your loyalty to the Hilton Brand of hotels and hope you will give us another chance to WOW you with our service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Our family recently stayed at the Doubletree largely because it was close to the entrance of Universal theme park. The hotel was right across the street from the parking for Universal, so we were pleased with the location. The staff are friendly and treated us well. The breakfast selections were good and there was a station where you could get omelets made.

One area that could be improved is the fitness room. There are limited machines and equipment and the fitness room should be expanded to a larger area based on the number of hotel guests.

Overall, we were pleased with the Doubletree and would stay there again if we were going to Universal theme park.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeUniversal, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Thank you for your review! Our fitness center equipment is scheduled to be upgraded by the end of this year. We hope you will visit us again in the future to see the new product!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We went here on our trip to Universal for 2 days. When we arrived the room had a terrible smell of must or mold. They claimed to fix the problem but all they did was spray air freshened. The pool was supposed to be heated. It was the coldest pool I have ever been in in my life. The hot tub was nice. It helped warm us up when we got out of the pool. Most of the games in the game room did not work which was disappointing for my kids. luckily we were only there 2 days.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hammertimehi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeUniversal, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Thank you for your honest feedback. I have shared your review with our Engineering Department and after researching we did find that back in March we had a problem with the pool heater but it has since been fixed. We apologize for the inconvience this caused you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal Suburbia, QC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Our family of five stayed there for a Universal park visit; this was the first part of the trip.

The hotel itself is quite nice; common areas were very clean. The buffet was good and perhaps a bit pricey but for a Doubletree it's OK.

The hotel is located right in front of the Universal theme park entrance, so you can walk up there. If you believe it's too hot for walking, guess what - that's exactly what you'll do all day long at Universal.

The corner room we had was large enough for four, but if you use the sofa bed for a fifth sleeper, you're not left with much. This should however be irrelevant, since you'll spend the whole day at the park and not in your room.

The hotel room itself needed renovations: the toilet paper holder was loose, the curved shower curtain bar was also loose and tilted down, the caulking around the tub was torn... The worst thing was that the walls are indeed paper-thin; the room next to ours was occupied by a group of teenagers who were talking loud and laughing until 3:45am (fortunately I straightened things up with them on the next night).

Hint: Parking at the hotel is 12$ but at Universal it's 15$. Do yourself a favor by booking another hotel that has complimentary parking (even if located further away) and park at Universal. It will be a lot easier anyway at the end of the (long) day of walking, especially with kids.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etching_Raisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeUniversal, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Thank you for your honest feedback. We have shared your review with our Housekeeping and Engineering Departments so that they can check to make sure all the bathroom fixtures are secure. As of August 1st we implented a new package the now includes parking so we hope you will consider us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

This hotel is clean and basic. We had great rest after long days at the parks. The beds were very comfortable. It is well located if you can't afford the Universal park hotels. However, in July/August, you wouldn't dare do the walk......too hot. Shuttle service is okay - only 4 in the morning and 4 at night. If you want to come back to the hotel in the middle of the day or go back to the park at night, it's $5 cab ride each way. The restaurant at the hotel, Carnivale, had a limited menu, but everything on it was outstanding. The pool was disgusting. We only swam once. It was dirty and there was film all along the sides (brown colour). Overall this hotel is exactly what it is, a 3 star hotel, very basic.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacation1147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeUniversal, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Thank you so much for staying with us! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We can certainly understand after a long day at the parks you would want to comeback to take a swim and sincerely apologize for the condition of the pool. We have shared this review with our engineering department to ensure that the pool is in perfect condition everyday. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Orlando!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

hotel was lovely..we didnt have breakfast included and did not use hotel breakfast facility but hotel had in room service like most hotels but this service was not by hotel restuarant it was brought in by millers ale house up the road ..we ate in hotel restuarant called carnivale what a joke there were 4 of us we ordered 4 starters & 4 mains the starters and mains arrived together on a tray wrapped in cling film so this led me to believe that they also were brought from outside caterer anyway only 2 starters and four mains came when challenged the waiter he said i quote thats what the kitchen sent so i kinda waited until the 2 that had starters finished theirs and then we all ate our main by this time the starters had still not arrived so when i asked for the annoyed by the service the waiter then asked are u not waiting for your starters i then said i have eaten my main what do i want a starter for this cost us $142 dollars rip off and not nice service but apart from that the hotel was clean pool great but hote in general was too far out from international drive has to get i ride to international drive and this only came every half hour would not go back to this hotel due to location !!!! on our 2nd week a bunch of brazilian kids arrived well they were in room next door and on our floor good god they made such a noise running in& out rooms running up and down corridor making such a noise until 4am nighmare and because they had friends in next room they telephoned most night to our room by mistake on average about 3 times during the night !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shepherrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeUniversal, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Thank you for your comments. We can certainly understand how the noise from the group can be disruptive, especially during the evening and we apologize for that. We try to make every effort to stop the noise as soon as it is reported. In regards to your service in Carnivale we have shared this review with our Food and Beverage team so this can be used as a training tool. We appreciate your feedback and hope you enjoyed your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Clarion Inn & Suites
#116 of 337 in Orlando
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando

Property: Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Address: 5780 Major Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819-7904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#136 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando 3.5*
Number of rooms: 742
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton At The Entrance To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Doubletree Orlando
Orlando Doubletree
Doubletree Universal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing